wtk which intake to get ????

MAZDA People United - it continues here

fallout460

wtk which intake to get ????

Postby fallout460 » March 5th, 2008, 1:43 pm

yea fealls want 2 get a cai for my bj which filter you guy's recomend??
i was thinkin about gettin one like this HKS

or this K&N

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » March 5th, 2008, 6:34 pm

Thats a Warm Air intake...
K&N all the way... better filtration and lasts longer.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 5th, 2008, 6:39 pm

if u short on space get the hks, if not k&N

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 5th, 2008, 6:56 pm

Thats just a filter not a CAI. Remember if you're doing the filter, you'd have to get a MAF adaptor as well.

CAI runs down into the fender.
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on March 5th, 2008, 7:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 5th, 2008, 7:04 pm

i mean if not short on space eh...once u ha d space, get d k&n

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » March 5th, 2008, 8:10 pm

yea i gettin the MAF adaptor from cyclops performance, and the origanal plan was to run pipein through the hole on the leftside of the car and place the intkae behind the bumper but was advised not 2 do that person said that i would be restricting performance rather than helping??? he said it would be better 2 leave it in the engine bay he said the longer the pipe less performance i would get....

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 5th, 2008, 10:16 pm

hoss do de maths yuh self look whe de original intake runs from an look whe de cai mountin which one longer ????????????????????

sean364

Postby sean364 » March 5th, 2008, 11:18 pm

boss who tell you that s*#t, i have a custom built cold air intake, the important thing is to keep the distance from the maf to the throttle body the same, and please use some polished aluminum piping(keeps the air at a cooler temperature)

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » March 5th, 2008, 11:47 pm

red bwoy wrote:hoss do de maths yuh self look whe de original intake runs from an look whe de cai mountin which one longer ????????????????????

for real lol.......

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » March 5th, 2008, 11:51 pm

sean364 wrote:boss who tell you that s*#t, i have a custom built cold air intake, the important thing is to keep the distance from the maf to the throttle body the same, and please use some polished aluminum piping(keeps the air at a cooler temperature)

lol.... boy you does hear all kind of crazy sheit from ppl we lol..... thx 4 d info will do.....

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » March 5th, 2008, 11:54 pm

sum like this injen cai i want 2 make up....... pass it throuh the same hole an thing....

sport20

Postby sport20 » March 5th, 2008, 11:58 pm

i have a custom k&n cai with the help of meh boys in south, allyuh know who allyuh is.

in my opinion, k&n is the way to go.
just talking based on my k&n system

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » March 6th, 2008, 10:08 am

i bought a brand called Simota from car boutique, fit perfectly (2003 familia wagon) went through the hole perfect. its a lil loud, but only at full throttle.

Cost was $1295 no vat (paid cash), took about 1 hr to remove stock box, move the resevoir and install the intake. straight bolt on

filter is surprisingly clean after abuot 2 months.

thinking about changing it to a APEXi filter.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 6th, 2008, 10:43 am

^^^ Good to know. How much of a difference did it make performance wise?

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » March 6th, 2008, 10:51 am

below 60: not much
80-120: nice pull, felt alot smoother
above 140, didnt notice an improvement

still top out at 175 flat road (17"s)
if i catch a downhill, will past the 180 and hit the speed cut around 183

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 6th, 2008, 11:30 am

You did any other mods. headers exhaust by any chance?

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » March 6th, 2008, 12:03 pm

Altec55 wrote:i bought a brand called Simota from car boutique, fit perfectly (2003 familia wagon) went through the hole perfect. its a lil loud, but only at full throttle.

Cost was $1295 no vat (paid cash), took about 1 hr to remove stock box, move the resevoir and install the intake. straight bolt on

filter is surprisingly clean after abuot 2 months.

thinking about changing it to a APEXi filter.

you have a number 4 car boutique? or a location?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 6th, 2008, 12:59 pm

Car boutique is located in St. James. Just after the bridge that says Welcome to St. James . It is a few buildings down on the left hand side. It opens at 10:00am. Not sure of the number though.

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » March 6th, 2008, 1:23 pm

arrite thx.....

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » March 6th, 2008, 1:28 pm

not other mods yet, only CAI.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 6th, 2008, 1:52 pm

^^^ Add headers and an exhaust system and then you should expect to see more gains. I am totally stock right now. As soon as I could I am gonna tackle the handling aspect then speed.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 6th, 2008, 2:00 pm

/\/\/\/\/\/\/\ dais wha i doin right now lookin tuh see how best to improve de already impeccable handling i start wid kayaba gas shocks an a strut tower brace did wonders for de steering response

Return to “MAZDA”