Leaking transmission oil in the Z5 engine
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 7:14 pm
by pablo_tt
My mazda is leaking transmission fluid! From the looks of it it appears to be a seal under the engine, most likely close to the transmission. Called SS and they said they never had that part ([sarcasm]o joy[/sarcasm]). What I wanna know, has anyone else had this trouble before? Right now we are looking at either getting the seal done over, or, depending on the cost, engine swap.
Your thoughts
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 10:28 pm
by mazdamig
you have to take out the seal and carry it to a part store they will have it. Samething happened to my Z5. PS Buy my extractor(header) cheap $600 with give you some more HP
Posted: January 18th, 2008, 5:40 am
by pablo_tt
How expensive is the seal?
Also, what size exhaust you have with your header?
Posted: January 18th, 2008, 6:35 am
by TurboDrive
The seal might cost under $100.00 Make sure and get an original seal or else it might leak again.
Posted: January 18th, 2008, 6:37 am
by pablo_tt
ANy idea how to take it out? My grandfather bennin & screwin that he ent taking it out unless he 100% sure he can get one. I will try and take some pics when I get home or something, but alot of transmission fluid is leaking out.
Posted: January 23rd, 2008, 8:44 pm
by hong kong phooey
i agree with your grandfather
i would advise to jack the car and see exactly where it is leaking from
there is a couple possibilities
is it the seal between the transmission and engine ---- big job as you will have to split the engine and transmission this seal normally leak on many cars but it is only a minor leak but it can fck up your floor
is it the transmission pan cover --- small job
is it the line to the cooler - those clips that mazda uses can sometime loose their tension or the hose could have cracked on the end and the oil draining down and looking like your seal --- small job
talk to the parts place if they dont have it they can get it for you
Posted: January 23rd, 2008, 9:56 pm
by mazdamig
the header is 4-2-1, 1-1\2 inch piping. Take out the seal and go look for one