Looking for best engine for Mazda RX 7

MAZDA People United - it continues here

de_godfather

Looking for best engine for Mazda RX 7

Postby de_godfather » September 25th, 2007, 9:36 am

Just bought a 1984 Mazda RX 7 to race whats the best Mazda engine to ues in it and can i find it in TT?

Safeq

Postby Safeq » September 25th, 2007, 12:26 pm

Stay rotary, run either a 13bt from a second gen or 13btt from a 3rd or go with a 20b and be really out there
Check maztune

Postby Razkal » September 25th, 2007, 4:32 pm

^actually from what i read around, the 20B swap is much easier than a series 6 or 7 safeq :shock: and from the install pics etc, it certainly looks that way, but that'll run u a pretty penny :|

i say keep the series5 (or get one depending on your status)
street port, get a nice responsive turbo like a GT28RS or something slightly bigger (not too familiar with turbo name specifications..sorry...), along with your management, ignition, exhaust upgrades etc etc
a nice tight suspension, maybe some HKS hipermax coilovers (i heard they're the sheit on 2nd gens!) and have some fun man...

whatever u do, please stay rotary...or else i'll find u and beat u with my own blasphemously piston powered rx7 :|

Safeq

Postby Safeq » September 25th, 2007, 5:16 pm

Serious Razkal? Interesting
but yeah that's a pretty penny depending on the budget

And yes stay rotary homeboy

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » September 25th, 2007, 7:38 pm

13B is pretty easy to put in ASAIK...I am running a 13B-RE in a series 1 Rx7...
wasnt so bad..
20B is plenty money from the get-go, I thought about it many times :(
13B is enuff for such a light car, u wont be slow :wink:
if u goin turbo, try any compressor from a T60 to maybe a t72, turbine housings from 1.06 to 1.15 P trim, or like a .81 to 1.0 Q trim (T4 bizniss, T3 too small for rotors)
FOr ignition you dont need anything more than the stockS5 ignition for d while, it is good until at least 350whp
coilovers are pretty expensive, i use racing beat springs up front, stock springs in back, tokico 5 way adjustables front and rear
Brakes are a good idea, 2nd gen front brakes work well
good luck with the build

Postby Razkal » September 28th, 2007, 9:54 am

^2nd gen brakes are deff great!
i have 3rd gen rotors and 2nd gen calipers on my 1st gen now...stops on a dime! and thats with a heavy arse RB in front...
MaelstroM, T72 isnt a bit big jed? well for a street car nah...would prob involve scrapping the engine and doing a safety rebuild to make sure u dont destroy anything with the kind of boost a T72 is capable off..
i know the HKS T04R is great as well, good for abt ~430WHP with supporting mods and a good tune...more than enoughg in a 2nd gen imo! :mrgreen:

Racing beat springs are god sent tho...great spring rate, not too stiff but rigid enough to keep u feeling planted on the ground...who deals them down here? or did u order the set?

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » September 29th, 2007, 4:37 pm

hehehe
Razkal,
i kinda included that range since he said he was interested in racing...
t72....it is pretty big but actually streetable tho....I run a t72 with a 1.15 Qtrim backend..yes I know wha u thinkin....lag central ent....but actually it not that bad....I run about 16psi on pumpgas daily....and I have seen full boost by 5500 rpm.
I would agree that a T04R/Z would work rel nice tho...far less lag with capability for some good power...

In the end I guess it is what you looking for, I was young and dumb then :oops: ...I wanted about 500whp on C-16 so I wanted a turbo that could support such figures easily....and I also wanted a backend that could move the power band further up, to say where a BP or even a HBP would be making its power, so everything would be "matched up".
However I realised hp levels as such are not so easily attained.....needed as you said a decent port and good build with good parts, maybe new housings, definitely ignition and good fuel delivery and that is $$ so I just saving at this point.
The downside of such high aspirations is a setup that is laggy and less fun on the streets.
Like I said, it depends on you....if the feel of some serious g's beats the fun of a responsive setup....by all means....go for it :mrgreen:

I bought everything off ebay....shocks and springs...I would prolly advise that route to anyone else interested in getting some....ppl down here charge a pretty penny for those items new. :x \
godfather, any updates?

Postby Razkal » October 23rd, 2007, 10:58 am

bump for a man lookin for an engine...

MaelstroM, understand what u were doing man...dsi, i would ahve awanted serious power too if i had a 13B in my car :lol:

what management r u using with the T-72? decent choice in back end tho!
i figure on that turbo if u get a nice agressive street-port, some 3mm seals, something strong, like some Ianetti ceramics, or Atkins steels...(the ceramics are the shizznit, any seal failure and they disintegrate into shrapnel that wont damage your housing etc...not nitrous friendly AT ALL tho), a 3.5" downpipe and 3" catless exhaust...nice ignition + fuel system upgrade and a good tune, should hit ur 500 mark easy, on pump gas :D

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » October 24th, 2007, 9:35 pm

Razkal, I running an E6K...hehehhe....thaiz how long I running thie engine..
yeah i thinkin ceramics for sure but tending to the NRS and not Ianetti...i pretty afraid to get 3mm since I dont really know anyone who can mill the rotors to 3mm down here....ppl tryin it down here but the engine becomes unbalanced...tends to spin bearings etc...cya pull no rpm and ting...
so I thinkin of one piece 2mm NRS seals with series6 stat gears..
what u guys think of a bridge or even HBP instead of the street port?

Postby Razkal » October 25th, 2007, 12:16 am

^true true about the milling etc...try asking guys like dale, shaun, beharry or anil....most of them run 3mm in their cars, just to get a feedback on if it was done locally...
NRS is good tho...
the bridge would be madness! :twisted: but i wud think u'd compromise some reliability or longevity rather, going that way, just my opinion...but i guess once the build is done properly and u sound like u know ur maintenance to a tee, then u should have no issues...not like u gonna damage valvetrain swinging 9K+rpms under boost :lol: but jesus christ!, with that rev range with a bridge, and ur turbo; full boost at 5500rpms and redline close to 11000 rpms....that a sweet arse powerband man!! as long as ur drivetrain and axles etc could keep up, launch high and pray to the traction gods u leave straight :lol: and run that mo' fo' :twisted:

E6K is excellent management man, Haltech to rotaries like dhal and rice to an indian :lol:

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » October 26th, 2007, 7:00 pm

^^^ hahahaha damn straight...haltech like it made for rotazz.
I know those guys eg Dale running a BP with great success eh...i really interested in doing that...still would want more info first tho b4 i commit.
yeah that high rpm is what rotors are all about....rpm does swing in a rotary like wow...a piston hatta change they whole valvetrain to pull rpm....suckers!!! 0X

what is the highest hp or boost u eveer here a rotary down here doin?
i know superman run about 28psi already but thaiz a long time ago.

Postby Razkal » October 26th, 2007, 8:02 pm

^dunno locally...cant be certain and i dont wanna call random figures...
but Bat and his 20B doing in that 28psi range for sure...and he puts down 600+whp MINUS porting! :shock:
imagine bridging that sob! :twisted:

read about a street driven 3rd gen in NZ running a cryo treated series7, mild street port, some impressive supporting upgrades, fuel, ignition etc etc and a T04Z hitting it 32psi :o , couldnt find any vids tho...would have loved to hear that mo' fo' :lol:

who tunes or tuned ur E6 man?

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » October 27th, 2007, 7:37 pm

32psi....hehehe....thaiz madness..
i see crispeed and them fellas rel gettin orn in d states dey...dey runnin some serious boost too..
my tuner was the hitman

www.hitman.hm

he eh comin down for a while again tho....so i hatta jus stick with what i have until get him or an equivalent to come back and gimme a retune.

Postby Razkal » October 27th, 2007, 7:55 pm

hitman!?!?! :shock:
yeah well ur business fixed :lol:

crispeed gettin on real bad in serious...impressive! 8)
good luck on gettin an equivalent to hitman tho...u know how difficult that is?
like tryin to catch a rotary in a honda :lol:

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » October 29th, 2007, 4:25 pm

heheheh
damn straight!!
honda could KMA!!heheh

yeah i know exactly how hard it is to get someone to tune like him :(

i was thinkin to try the apexi guy ...wha u tink bout him?

Postby Razkal » October 29th, 2007, 10:07 pm

^if the hitman is like god, the apexi guy is like jesus jed..
:lol: thas all i hadda say

RX7FAN01

Postby RX7FAN01 » November 15th, 2007, 12:19 pm

You guys ever dealt with Gabby from PR? Heard he's pretty good as well.

Postby Razkal » November 15th, 2007, 5:43 pm

^those Ricans' are sick with Rotaries, very impressive builds and times etc.
they're probably the closest one to the Aussies and Kiwis 8) dunno of anyone locally who has had a complete build or tuning done in Puerto Rico tho...

RX7FAN01

Postby RX7FAN01 » November 15th, 2007, 8:30 pm

I actually own a 3rd gen in trini and was thinking of having Gabby come down to do the tune since it is using methanol injection as well.

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » April 3rd, 2008, 7:56 pm

ah no it ain't a mzda engine but if yuh have d money to spend order a chevy ls1 and drop it in.its a 5.7 ltr v8 that puts out about 320-350hp about 300-340lb ft.torque,and it much lighter than all the rotary engines mentioned.just a suggestion so all yuh doh vex scene

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » April 3rd, 2008, 7:57 pm

but ah rather a rotary doh jdm all the way :)

Return to “MAZDA”