Hold light blinks

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Antonio

Hold light blinks

Postby Antonio » August 27th, 2007, 3:22 pm

aye fellas my brother car which is a mazda 323 lx model 2000 manufacture are having some problems with the hold light on the dash it just keeps blinking went you start the car on mornings. is this a problem or not? your help is appreciated.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 27th, 2007, 4:58 pm

:( :( get de ecu scanned probably a sensor goin or gone

Antonio

tranny problems

Postby Antonio » August 28th, 2007, 9:09 am

he now telling meh that on morning he will leave the car to warm up but after when you put it in drive the car dont move, he will mash the x but it wont move but evenually it will

Help appreciated

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » August 28th, 2007, 12:18 pm

Hmmm... sounds like the ECU gone into safe mode.

Antonio

Postby Antonio » August 28th, 2007, 12:21 pm

what the ecu tho?

xtech

Postby xtech » August 28th, 2007, 12:35 pm

What does the Hold function do?
"Hold" is a switch that changes the shift patterns of the transmission. Not all 626 models have it. Where Hold is offered, the normal shift pattern with Hold off is:

D: 1, 2, 3, 4
S: 1, 2, 3
L: 1, 2

With Hold engaged, the shift pattern becomes:

D: 2 (briefly), 3
S: 2
L: 1

The typical shift pattern for a 626 without Hold is:

D: 1, 2, 3, 4
2: 2
1: 1

These cars will generally have an O/D Off switch on the shifter, which changes D to 1, 2, 3.

What does it mean when the Hold (or O/D Off) light is blinking?
According to Mazda, it is an indication of an electrical problem in the transmission. Actually, it could also be an indication of bad sensor data reaching the transmission. This light and the Malfunction Indicator ("Check Engine") light are rather closely connected; since this transmission is computer-controlled, you could be getting signals from either. If this is happening to you and you're not up to reading codes, as I'm not, you should probably go to the dealership or to a garage that speaks fluent Mazda and get the codes pulled. The pertinent ones you're most likely to encounter, on a pre-OBD II vehicle, are:

06 No signal from vehicle speed sensor
12 Throttle position sensor signal open or shorted
55 No signal from drum speed pulse generator on trans
60 "1-2" or "A" shift solenoid circuit open or shorted
61 "2-3" or "B" shift solenoid circuit open or shorted
62 "3-4" or overrun clutch solenoid circuit open or shorted
63 Lock-up solenoid circuit open or shorted
Mazda switched the automatic 626 to OBD II around the 1996 model year, so if you have a '96 or later, you'll need a full-fledged OBD II-compatible scan tool. The '94 and '95 models reportedly come with Ford's EEC-IV diagnostics.

A Technical Service Bulletin exists for some 1999-2001 models. TSB 05-005/02 deals with one specific circumstance: after extended highway driving, the O/D off light is blinking and code P1783 is set (excessive ATF temperature). Occasionally there will be overflow through the dipstick tube and harsh shifting. Mazda's recommended fix is to replace the radiator and to install an auxiliary cooler for the transmission. Note that this is not an extension to the standard factory warranty.

So it doesn't mean the transmission is about to melt down?
Not necessarily. It is a legitimate cause for concern, but real transmission breakdowns tend to manifest themselves in a manner far more dramatic than mere flashing dash lights.

When problems do occur, the transmission has a perhaps-misnamed "fail-safe" mode, in which it seems to act like a worn-out three-speed with jerky shifting action. Mostly, it's cutting the computer out of the circuit and relying solely upon the hydraulics to do the dirty work.

joelmurray

Postby joelmurray » May 17th, 2008, 12:05 pm

i have the same problem with my madz, the light dose not blink, but when u try to move, it dose not want to move, i have mash the x rell hard for it to move, its feels like its pulling off in ah 3rd gear or somthing, i got this problem after i carrry my car be an electrian, any ideas on how to fix it

villain

Postby villain » May 17th, 2008, 4:07 pm

i wonder if the wrong oil was used...mazda trannies always giving problems...lol..

markymark

Postby markymark » May 17th, 2008, 5:06 pm

had that same problem and it was the overdrive sensor was bad changed it and no problems since.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 18th, 2008, 12:16 am

joelmurray wrote:i have the same problem with my madz, the light dose not blink, but when u try to move, it dose not want to move, i have mash the x rell hard for it to move, its feels like its pulling off in ah 3rd gear or somthing, i got this problem after i carrry my car be an electrian, any ideas on how to fix it

Mine started doing this a couple days now... but as you mentioned an electrician, I now linking that the car was serviced over two session in d shop, and in both cases the battery was disconnected. Could it be that if the battery was disconnected or reconnected improperly, causing this problem?

Also, does anyone know where to get the car scanned for cheap money? The one place I know of charges $250 per scan

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » May 18th, 2008, 5:20 am

fyzal in el socorro 638-5180 charges about $150so does fareed in chaguanas fareed is beehind kfc on de lay by to get onto de highway fyzal in de street opposite automotive art on el socorro rd.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 18th, 2008, 11:55 am

Thanks red bwoy, I'll check Fyzal this week.

markymark, where did you get the sensor and how much was it? I hear Southern Sales charges about $1000 give or take a couple hundred for any type of sensor :shock:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » May 18th, 2008, 1:54 pm

dais ole talk big man i paid $550 for de crank sensor by southern sales in pos and $600 for de cam sensor by fyzal he sells parts also i still have my cam an crank sensors nothing was wrong when i changed them but not sure i will sell dem yet dey does be hard to get elswhere

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 19th, 2008, 12:08 am

joelmurray wrote:i have the same problem with my madz, the light dose not blink, but when u try to move, it dose not want to move, i have mash the x rell hard for it to move, its feels like its pulling off in ah 3rd gear or somthing, i got this problem after i carrry my car be an electrian, any ideas on how to fix it

What model is your 323
Did you recently change your distributer ?
i know someone having the same problem with a z5 enging bh model(98)

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 19th, 2008, 5:52 pm

Went by Fyzal today and had the ECU scanned. The only fault found was an error with the TPS... he said it wasn't one indicating that it needed to be replaced, so he cleared it.

I'm happy to report that I didn't experience the problem at all for the rest of the day, when normally it would have happened at least 2 or 3 times. So I hoping that the problem was fixed.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 19th, 2008, 8:29 pm

forgive my ignorance what is tps and where is fyzal

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » May 19th, 2008, 10:40 pm

throttle position sensor and fyzal is in el socorro rd opposit automotive art

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 20th, 2008, 7:18 pm

Thanks red bwoy will take the man car up there these jokers in south like they aint know fack all. what was the estimated cost.
last step before i change out his transmission

judas

Postby judas » May 28th, 2008, 1:44 pm

theres a lil jack on the tranny i forgot how they call it . if that slack it gives that problem i had a 323 and that happened. i just pull out the jack spray a lil wd40 2 remove any corrosion and it was working goog as ever.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 28th, 2008, 8:24 pm

where is this jack located

judas

Postby judas » May 30th, 2008, 9:39 pm

its close 2 the firewall i think

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 26th, 2008, 10:15 pm

joel mutrry any luck with your car
planning to check my trottle bodythis weekend and take it up by fiaz

stephenjr2000

Postby stephenjr2000 » July 29th, 2008, 7:45 am

Having some problems with my 2002 BJ. The car stalls when i'm in traffic. just as i press the accelerator the car stars to jerk and cuts off. The Mech told me that it could be the cam shaft or crank shaft sensor

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » August 17th, 2008, 1:24 am

whey....
i knew this thread would come in handy
i just got home. been having the same hold light blinking problem all night.
here's what happend to me:

i swa the light blinking and observed the tranny was "slipping" so pulled aside switch the car off and started after five mins.
no hold light but same slipping problem

the hold light came back ah few times.
so i repeat the process till i got home

ideas tuners???

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » August 17th, 2008, 8:42 am

time for gearbox

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » August 17th, 2008, 10:18 am

mazdamig..........

fuh real brother!!!!!!
have one to sell???
know where i could get one???
i would need a manual brain also!!

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » August 17th, 2008, 3:54 pm

stephenjr2000 wrote:Having some problems with my 2002 BJ. The car stalls when i'm in traffic. just as i press the accelerator the car stars to jerk and cuts off. The Mech told me that it could be the cam shaft or crank shaft sensor

Does the car give trouble to start back??.... if not ... it may not be a sensor problem!...if the car not starting at all.. then its the crank shaft sensor thats bad.
I had the similar symptoms.....the car would cut off and not start back till after 10 mins or so......changed the cam sensor and now the car working real good!

Apparently those cam sensors fail after 5 yrs ...if u get more from it ..u lucky!

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » August 18th, 2008, 3:25 am

i've heard many complaints like this one also^^^ :? :? :?

ShaqThom

Re: Hold light blinks

Postby ShaqThom » November 2nd, 2012, 10:46 am

yh fellas i just buy a 323 bj 2002 and getting d same problems with the hold light and the transmission like it goin into 3rd gear when the car comes to a stop. tell me what steps i should take please

Return to “MAZDA”