HOW TO TURBO A MAZDA FAMILIA

MAZDA People United - it continues here

2Turbonetics

HOW TO TURBO A MAZDA FAMILIA

Postby 2Turbonetics » March 7th, 2007, 12:46 pm

I have 1996 Mazda familia 1500 cc.I want to turbo the Engine. So i will like some advice which why is best,should I purchase a turbo engine and install it and if so what type of engine would be a simple swap?

Or turbo my existing engine and if so what type and size of turbo will work?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 7th, 2007, 12:52 pm

buy ah engine preferably ah bp-t

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » March 7th, 2007, 1:29 pm

1996 Mazda Familia + SR20DET = happy, easy, no stress.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 7th, 2007, 3:30 pm

swap engines..cuz if u turbo ya current engine ya transmission wud go thru after awhile as it mitent be able to take the strain..so is best u buy a turbo engine an swap

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 7th, 2007, 3:58 pm

well with my knowledge if u put a gearbox i believe their is a turbo kit that is made for mazda and stuff..i will try and find out more..but i know i have a panda with the 1.6 i believe in the new 323's..the kinda sport looking one with the big fogs infront...and he buy ah turbo kit or someting..i guh try and find out when i see him,

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 7th, 2007, 5:10 pm

^^to my knowledge the sport looking 1 is the sport20 an those come with 2.0liter engine an those can take turbo an they sell turbo kits for those cars..didnt kno the sport20 came 1.6 sum1 care to correct me?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 7th, 2007, 5:13 pm

yea well as i said im not sure..so maybe..wait i tink is some protege or someting so it name...a mazda potege or portege or someitng..

anyone knwo wah it is??
or prolege or someitng

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 7th, 2007, 5:18 pm

What year you talking about, There is the mazdaspeed protege 5 that is turbocharged and the new Mazdaspeed 3 Hatch is turbocharged also

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 7th, 2007, 5:20 pm

The new mazdaspeed 3/ Alexa is one bad ass car had a chance to drive one couple months ago. Its fast

katurbobeast

Postby katurbobeast » March 7th, 2007, 9:48 pm

buy a turbo engine.....BPT

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 7th, 2007, 9:59 pm

arite well yea the protege is the one i talking about..he has one of that and ordered a turbo kit for it.

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2007, 10:28 pm

http://www.hiboost.com/TURBOKIT.htm
boost kits for 1.6 ZM and 2.0 engines

or go ITB's and stay n/a

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 7th, 2007, 10:30 pm

do you know how much boost the factor turbo comes with?

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2007, 10:36 pm

cant remember off hand
i think it was like 6 or 8
its good for 150 hp on stock engine and exhaust fully catalysed

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 7th, 2007, 10:53 pm

what is the compression ratio in that engine

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 8th, 2007, 8:39 am

protege is also another name for familia eh - they using that name for years - dosen't necessarily mean that the car is a protege5.

most likely the car jasonjohn talking about is a sport 20.

anyways, 2Turbonetics, don't turbo that engine.l If you want to stick to mazda, you could get a B6T (1.6 turbo) with gearbox and slap it in, it may even be a direct bolt in.

or, get a B20 (2.0 litre), that can work too - you might end up getting almost the same hp as what you'd get from turboing the 1.5 - approx 140hp.

then there's always the sr20, which fits in your model familia like it was made for it.

moti

Postby moti » March 8th, 2007, 8:47 am

dont turbo your stock engine unless you have the money to spare on a lil experiment.

is better to duy the BP-T or go SR20 DET :mrgreen:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 8th, 2007, 8:48 am

hmm okay then well based on what smokey said..i wud believe if u wanna go boost and u have the extra money go Sr20DET...thaz my opinion..yea i knwo man does say doh cross the car with nissan and mazda or whaever..but u also hadda look at money, prices and availability of factors...in this case its engines and parts

my friend who bought the turbo kit for his mazada i tink he is gonna get like 170HP after he turbo it..and ah stock SR20DET IS ALOTTTT MORE! so i wud say SR20DET if u want speed...nobody eh guh know jus doh pop de hood :lol:

moti

Postby moti » March 8th, 2007, 9:25 am

your car and its up to you if you keepin the car then put the sr20
if not and you sellin the car b4 years end go mazda

but then thinkin about this those people who by the MAZDA FAMILLIA the one like the AD those cars is MAZDA all over and NISSAN engine so whats the big deal if mazda and nissan have a contract who the arse is you to break that :mrgreen: puttin the sr20 det done talk

2Turbonetics

Postby 2Turbonetics » March 8th, 2007, 9:32 am

I will like to thank all u guys for the info.it have been a great help.So in General how much will a project like puting the SR20DET in to the mazda cost?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 8th, 2007, 10:31 am

okay a SR20DET Red Top FWD shud be no more than 12k max for a complete one

moti

Postby moti » March 8th, 2007, 10:46 am

swap should cost around what ?

maybe 2-3k ?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » March 8th, 2007, 8:27 pm

A B6T complete would cost between 6-8 grand.

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » March 8th, 2007, 8:39 pm

SR20DET in a mazda 323 oh lord.Sell the mazda and buy a B14 it cheaper.A b6t and BPT will almost both in one engine to change or turbo the stock engine because the 1.5(ZL) same as the 1.6(ZM)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 8th, 2007, 9:41 pm

try a bpt doh go an turn ya car into a cross breed..if yuh want nissan buy a nissan yuh want mazda go mazda

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 9th, 2007, 4:23 pm

am...more than 10K...10K to do a usual sr20 non turbo swap...(on a nissan!) so for u it might be more..

of course, you could do just a sr20 non-turbo swap and then turbo later as finances permit eh - remember, your current engine probably rated at 100-105 hp, and a stock sr would give you approx 140hp, which is how much you'd probably get if you turbo the current engine.

you could play with that for a little while and then build your beast!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 9th, 2007, 5:35 pm

okay i understand de fact men saying if u wah ah mazda buy ah mazda..buh if u want a car 2 suit u..i doh see nothing wrong with mixing it nah...2 me a man car is his personal item..some ppl like how mazda car look and handle..but they like the feel of a nissan engine...so i doh see nothing wrong with tha..

MagikDragon

Postby MagikDragon » March 10th, 2007, 12:21 am

nice thread 4 me tuh jump in.....i hav a mazda 323f hatchback...love de stylin an handles good but the engine does give me stress so it was swap time. now running sr18de in it..car workin good an everything cost around 6500 yes thats install,wire up and all parts. but i did shop around plenty (only do that if u have the time).....now i hav mazda stylin an handling with nissan performance ,an parts plentyful an cheap...so in my opinion is a nice swap...........

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 10th, 2007, 1:43 am

well done!!!

goin turbo?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 10th, 2007, 1:44 am

and with that sr18de... did u dyno is by chance?? to see wat the HP ratings are ??

jus real curious

Return to “MAZDA”