Protege Aftermarket Parts Reviewed

MAZDA People United - it continues here

libra

Postby libra » April 2nd, 2010, 2:06 am

ok guys i tried a set of the ceramic pads ghostbusters has an they workin great ... holdin like a beyotch !!!! can't get rear disk brakes so its a good alternative .... hmmm ah wonder if they have ceramic brake shoes 2 ????

Groovemaster

Re: Protege Aftermarket Parts Reviewed

Postby Groovemaster » August 8th, 2010, 12:55 pm

What ceramic pads available locally?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 8th, 2010, 1:11 pm

Yes I now understand why the need to upgrade the brakes, stock dont hold. I finally got a stretch of road to run out the 1.6 zmde, hit the 180 and was still climbing but then run out of road and the brakes was non existent.

Ghostbusters you bringing any more?

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 8th, 2010, 2:18 pm

You serious Naresh, I have to try that one.

villain

Postby villain » August 8th, 2010, 11:19 pm

lol.... from 180 i just touch it and it go straight down to 120....love my brakes...

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 9th, 2010, 8:01 am

Need some rotors guys. I have only been able to find chinese rotors locally. Anyone ever bought?

I'd love to skybox in some EBC or Brembo or Power Stop (yes, they're available in our sizes) but that 24 lbs will kill me.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 9th, 2010, 8:09 am

Damn! 24 lbs :O I would like to get them Brembos too. What is the size for the RSS again so I could look into this?

Check out and see what DHL skybox service have to offer there is also websource.com; small skybox service but they have some good rates.

villain

Postby villain » August 9th, 2010, 8:21 am

wouldnt brembo be an very expensive overkill?.....i remember bouncing up a man with brembos on his bj...i ask him about it and the man look sad...he looking for replacement pads and cah find none( i guess he meant locally) lol

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 9th, 2010, 9:30 am

villain i really find tht is over kill in truth de 10.5 inch rotor front an rear with some good quality pads will have you stoppin on a dime an leave nine cents change i running mintex right now is real noise but i find they holdin plus i was looking into an offer ah tuner made the other day for some Satisfied brand ceramic composite pad did some research they lookin like a good buy best thing i've used so far though is the raybestos but i cant get them for the rear pads

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 9th, 2010, 10:14 am

villain wrote:wouldnt brembo be an very expensive overkill?.....i remember bouncing up a man with brembos on his bj...i ask him about it and the man look sad...he looking for replacement pads and cah find none( i guess he meant locally) lol

You misunderstand, there's Brembo rotors available in the stock size 9.24", 4x100 @ around $140 for the pair. How much of a difference, if any, it makes is debatable.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 9th, 2010, 10:46 am

Dey have 10.2 inch I lookin for some for a while de ones I seeing is five hole only

villain

Postby villain » August 9th, 2010, 11:37 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
villain wrote:wouldnt brembo be an very expensive overkill?.....i remember bouncing up a man with brembos on his bj...i ask him about it and the man look sad...he looking for replacement pads and cah find none( i guess he meant locally) lol

You misunderstand, there's Brembo rotors available in the stock size 9.24", 4x100 @ around $140 for the pair. How much of a difference, if any, it makes is debatable.

ohhhh not expensive....but for that price you really have to wonder....it's brembos...it supposed to be pricey...???

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 9th, 2010, 12:51 pm

Red bwoy I using Mintex in my rear discs and it not making any noise. For that matter I have Titanium in front and they make a little noise and not too bad with the braking actually. How come you getting noise bro?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 9th, 2010, 3:20 pm

not the back i talkin bout the front dem sheit rell noisy

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 9th, 2010, 6:14 pm

Oh, I have a padna with a Subaru and he has it on the front and the back and he didn't say anything about it that is why I am asking as well.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 9th, 2010, 7:53 pm

On my rss I am using mintex also, the last time I changed pads was about two years ago. lol.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 10th, 2010, 7:27 am

So nobody ever change rotors ?

Figure i goin an pay the $150 and machine them then...

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 10th, 2010, 7:42 am

That is the better bet.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 11th, 2010, 2:17 pm

i bought ebc rotors Strugglerz, sorry, my net down, i had it imported with some equipment when i was working, so i din hafta pay the shipping, air freighted...the brembos are just blanks, no point in getting them, stoptech is the best bet imo, you can get them drilled and slotted, very highly rated worldwide in racing,,,Naresheep, i may bring in a set of pads soon, will let you know if i do.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 12th, 2010, 10:59 am

Thanks Ghost.

Will still machine as an interim measure. Cant affort the sheitloads of cash those gonna cost at the moment.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 12th, 2010, 3:23 pm

Strugglerz, dont forget to take an orbital sander to it after having it machined, the circular lathe leaves concentric circles on the rotor which offers less resistance and so higher stopping distance results.
taking an orbital sander to the rotor afterward will remove said concentric circles.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 12th, 2010, 6:11 pm

Will do. Remember seeing the video on it. Actually told myself at the time i was never gonna machine rotors :| but based on choices available, i think machined OEM within spec better than generic chinese.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 13th, 2010, 12:12 am

yea, true, i know a guy that put arospeed rotors on his b15 and one of them broke in half...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 13th, 2010, 2:23 am

^^ damn thats playing with your life

libra

Postby libra » August 19th, 2010, 12:05 am

strugglerz i change as well ... bought from SS .. paid bout $400 or less i think fer 1 ... ah kno it kinda late but ah now watch tru this thread ... was only goin on wid wildcard one an lookin for what info i can get on cold air intakes

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 19th, 2010, 7:46 am

$400 ea for OEM not too bad. not so good either :|

libra

Postby libra » August 19th, 2010, 5:44 pm

well is SS ... buss pocket prices !

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » August 19th, 2010, 9:06 pm

Industrico Limited, $300 each for the 323 (4 x 100)

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=319175

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 20th, 2010, 1:12 pm

Dai brand rotors huh? I'm sure they work well but those are not for me. Thanks though.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 20th, 2010, 7:17 pm

Return to “MAZDA”