Protege Tuners

MAZDA People United - it continues here

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 19th, 2009, 9:44 pm

For a 1998 to 2003 model vehicle the Protege/323/Familia/Astina proved to be quite a succesful compact for Mazda. It is the prelude to the 3/Axela which elevated the brand further. Some Mazda gurus still feel up to this day that the 3 is not as hard-core as the Protege of yore. I sway towards the latter though as a result of the more advanced chassis, safety structure, suspension and drivetrain.

Comparing the Protege/323 to the Toyota Corolla E110/111 and E120, Honda Civic EK and ES, Nissan Sentra/Sunny/Almera/Pulsar B14 and B15, N15 and N16, Mitsubishi Lancer CK and CS, Hyundai Elantra J2 and XD and Kia Spectra/Cerato further explains why it continues to be a top performer in braking, handling, steering response, build quality, safety and interior space to name a few.

IMHO the 3 top engines for this car continues to be the 1.5 SVT, 2.0 SVT and 2.0 Turbo. The other 1.3, 1.5, 1.6, 1.8 and 2.0 DOHC 16V units are unimpressive in power/torque and fuel economy hence straight-line acceleration is not on par wrt a N/A basis with VVTL-i, VTEC and MIVEC variants of its fellow compact competitors.

looking forward to more great info.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » July 20th, 2009, 1:18 am

i really like how d Astina looks. the one similar to the 323f but with the pop up lights. actually i think it's just the older model of the 323f we're all accustomed to (the ones that most often came red) with the smaller narrow headlights

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 20th, 2009, 10:15 am

x2floor, there is a 2.0 svt?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 20th, 2009, 4:31 pm

probably the m3 he get mixed up with dey de 2.0 svt is only in de mazda 3

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 20th, 2009, 4:50 pm

^^^^nope the Familia/Astina (BJ) Sport 20 hatchback got a FS-ZE engine which is a 2.0 SVT more powerful than the 2.0 SVT in the mazda 3.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 20th, 2009, 5:19 pm

hmmm... muhaha haha ha :twisted:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 21st, 2009, 12:07 am

check your info again dey x2 floor according to my info these are the engines that came in the 3rd generation 323/bj/protege
1.3 liter engine (B3-ME)
1.5 liter engine (ZL-DE)
1.5 liter S-VT engine (ZL-VE)
1.6 liter engine (ZM-DE)
1.8 liter engine (FP-DE)
2.0 liter engine (FS-DE)
2.0 liter engine, high power (FS-ZE)
2.0 liter Turbo engine (FS-DET)
2.0 liter diesel engine (RF, RF-MDT)

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 21st, 2009, 12:10 am

see this page for additional engine info
http://www.protegefaq.net/

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 21st, 2009, 11:27 am

red bwoy wrote:check your info again dey x2 floor according to my info these are the engines that came in the 3rd generation 323/bj/protege
1.3 liter engine (B3-ME)
1.5 liter engine (ZL-DE)
1.5 liter S-VT engine (ZL-VE)
1.6 liter engine (ZM-DE)
1.8 liter engine (FP-DE)
2.0 liter engine (FS-DE)
2.0 liter engine, high power (FS-ZE)
2.0 liter Turbo engine (FS-DET)
2.0 liter diesel engine (RF, RF-MDT)

this is what i said......see its in ur list! :lol:

The 2.0 FS-ZE in the Familia Sport 20 is more powerful than the 2.0 MZR in the mazda 3.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 21st, 2009, 11:45 am

Yeah but is not an SVT engine it just has higher compression and some other parts but not SVT

Return to “MAZDA”