The Mazda 3 thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Re: The Mazda 3 thread

Postby noshownogo » November 23rd, 2010, 10:43 am

Autorama in El Socorro sells both Denso and NGK iridium plugs for the Mazda3, around $300 for the set of four.

Postby noshownogo » November 23rd, 2010, 10:45 am

noshownogo wrote:i getting a sound under my 3 like the heat shields bouncing going over rough road but i suspect suspension. I can sometimes feel the gas pedal vibrating as well, any ideas before I take a look?

anyone has insight/experience in the above, gonna do some work under the car this weekend?

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » November 23rd, 2010, 11:01 am

rainman wrote:Any one of these denso plugs will work.
K16PR-U11
IK16
VK16

noshownogo wrote:Autorama in El Socorro sells both Denso and NGK iridium plugs for the Mazda3, around $300 for the set of four.

I'll get a set today. Thank you both.

EDIT: Autorama don't have any in stock. Any other place on the East-West corridor you know about?
Car Boutique say they have Bosch for $195, $295 and $395 (Ir Fusion). Good enough?

Postby noshownogo » November 23rd, 2010, 11:28 am

El Socorro Auto Supplies possibly, also Garvins Performance on Long Circular Road may have

trinijanus

Postby trinijanus » November 30th, 2010, 5:44 pm

noshownogo wrote:
noshownogo wrote:i getting a sound under my 3 like the heat shields bouncing going over rough road but i suspect suspension. I can sometimes feel the gas pedal vibrating as well, any ideas before I take a look?

anyone has insight/experience in the above, gonna do some work under the car this weekend?

Your gas pedal vibrating or your brake pedal vibrating? If it is the gas pedal, then please let us know what that problem was caused by...I can't think of any reason for it.

trinijanus

Re:

Postby trinijanus » November 30th, 2010, 6:07 pm

trinijanus wrote:
Also...in order to press out/in the bearings and polish the rotors, we had to disconnect the ABS relays from the hub. Now my ABS light is on in the instrument panel. I've disconnected the battery and left it off for about 5 minutes...but the ABS light is still on when reconnected. Do I need to leave it off for a longer period to reset the ECU? Is there any harm in leaving it as is?

I posted the above several months ago after changing my front wheel bearings on an ABS-equipped local 2007 Mazda 3 with a pair purchased from Southern Sales. Note that I gave them my VIN number and everything and they sold me, what I thought was, the correct bearings. Of course, now I know better. Word to the wise...SS has both ABS and NON-ABS wheel bearings. And if you put non-abs bearings in, then of course your ABS light will go on and I'm assuming that the ABS doesn't function. Apparently the ABS bearings have a sensor strip that connects with the ABS sensor on the spindle.

This ABS light drove me nuts...and of course I was trying all sorts of ways to figure out what was wrong. The cost of replacing the ABS sensor is very prohibitive...and then I heard some mechanics saying there were two types of bearings. So I called SS to find out...and lo and behold...yes there are. Anyway...I got a sweet deal on parts from a wrecked Mazda 3 and changed out the suspension and spindles...et voila...ABS light is now off.

Just putting this out there for all to be aware of this situation.

trinijanus

Postby trinijanus » December 1st, 2010, 1:44 pm

ghostbusters wrote:telling you this cus it might be maf related, pull ur maf and clean it with some CRC MAF sensor cleaner and see it that helps.

Will ordinary throttle body cleaner work for this? Where did you get the CRC MAF Sensor cleaner? I'm experiencing a similar stutter when starting cold. I want to try this soon and see if it resolves the problem.

Will let you know how it turns out. Thanks.

Postby Rainman » December 1st, 2010, 2:46 pm

Don't use throttle body cleaner, this doesn't dry right away and leaves a film on the maf that will throw off the metering. Use a quick dry electrical cleaner.

trinijanus

Postby trinijanus » December 2nd, 2010, 8:48 pm

Thanks for that advice, Rainman. Much appreciated.

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » December 20th, 2010, 8:35 am

How many kilos do you get with your M-3 on a full tank of gas? (Full to fuel light coming on).

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 20th, 2010, 8:50 am

Over 500 easy...never run it to the light...

Postby noshownogo » December 20th, 2010, 10:04 am

hummm I can get almost 400 with 1/4 tank of gas to go but that's with heavy traffic morning and evening, using super to fill costs $100 at that point

Postby Rainman » December 20th, 2010, 10:52 am

ghostbusters wrote:Over 500 easy...never run it to the light...

Ditto!

Got 520 once, but the light didnt come on....i eh taking that chance.

Postby noshownogo » December 20th, 2010, 1:40 pm

Getting a slight hesitation when starting intermittently, sometimes have to tumble two or three times, very random with regards to cold or hot start, battery was replaced less than a yr ago, any ideas?

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » December 21st, 2010, 8:54 am

noshownogo wrote:Getting a slight hesitation when starting intermittently, sometimes have to tumble two or three times, very random with regards to cold or hot start, battery was replaced less than a yr ago, any ideas?

Replace the spark plugs first, make sure they properly gapped (Spark pug number: LFG1 18 110C, Spark plug gap 0.050―0.053 in). Check air/fuel filter, replace if required. When last did you use a good injector cleaner? I use redline.

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » December 21st, 2010, 8:57 am

rainman wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:Over 500 easy...never run it to the light...

Ditto!

Got 520 once, but the light didnt come on....i eh taking that chance.

Well I took the chance, didn't have a choice. From full to fuel light, I got 550kM. Then drove another 8kM to the nearest gas station. I guess you can use this as a guide.

Postby noshownogo » December 21st, 2010, 9:11 am

marlon333 wrote:
noshownogo wrote:Getting a slight hesitation when starting intermittently, sometimes have to tumble two or three times, very random with regards to cold or hot start, battery was replaced less than a yr ago, any ideas?

Replace the spark plugs first, make sure they properly gapped (Spark pug number: LFG1 18 110C, Spark plug gap 0.050―0.053 in). Check air/fuel filter, replace if required. When last did you use a good injector cleaner? I use redline.

Thanks for the response, spark plugs are new NGK iridium, new K&N airfilter and I use Redline injector treatment every few thousand km's. Not too sure of the gap on the plugs tho, will have to look into it.

rizaa

Postby rizaa » December 22nd, 2010, 10:10 pm

Similar problems anyone:
_ 2-3 secs lag before engine starts accelerating properly.
_ knocking noise at the right front wheel when hitting pot holes.
_ steering shimmering when mashing breaks at 120km/h
_ vibration from the dash when rpm reaches 2-3.

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » December 23rd, 2010, 1:05 am

noshownogo wrote:
marlon333 wrote:

Thanks for the response, spark plugs are new NGK iridium, new K&N airfilter and I use Redline injector treatment every few thousand km's. Not too sure of the gap on the plugs tho, will have to look into it.

Hmmm... when the car eventually starts does it run ok. If you turn on the AC does the car idle up without any stuttering? If so I would suggest you try another battery even though it was replace recently. Even though the battery measures 12V it may not be delivering the correct cranking amps. If this don't work, you might have to service the starter. Not sure what else there is to check.

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » December 23rd, 2010, 1:17 am

rizaa wrote:Similar problems anyone:
_ 2-3 secs lag before engine starts accelerating properly.
_ knocking noise at the right front wheel when hitting pot holes.
_ steering shimmering when mashing breaks at 120km/h
_ vibration from the dash when rpm reaches 2-3.

Dude you have some major stuff going on with your ride. For sure you have some steering problem. Would suggest that you rotate tires and check camber and alignment. This should get rid of some of the issues. With regards to that knocking noise, you need to jack up the front of that car and take a look. It could be burst rubber or joint damage.
The acceleration problem could be a number of things: dirty injectors, burnt plugs, dirty filters, transmission related (ATF flush required), MAF sensor.

Postby Rainman » December 23rd, 2010, 6:46 am

I was having a flat spot between 1st and 2nd, i sprayed down the maf with some quick dry electrical cleaner, fixed right away.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 23rd, 2010, 9:13 am

rizaa wrote:Similar problems anyone:
_1.) 2-3 secs lag before engine starts accelerating properly.
_2.) knocking noise at the right front wheel when hitting pot holes.
_3.) steering shimmering when mashing breaks at 120km/h
_ 4.)vibration from the dash when rpm reaches 2-3.

1- clean MAF sensor, clean injectors(redline concentrated injector cleaner is highly recommended here, i like to run a nos after the redline though)

2-bad shock? or bad bushings?

3-could be same bad shock or bushing, maybe need speed balancing, maybe unevenly worn brake pads, bent wheel maybe?

4-check you engine mounts, especially the right side, check under it, its a liquid filled mount so u checking to see if it leaking or if it leaked out.

rizaa

Postby rizaa » December 23rd, 2010, 8:00 pm

yea fellas, all of those are problems i gotta rule out soon, but never de less, yesterday a civic all pretty up with sport rims etc try to run meh on de south bound..hahahah, lets just say, i had em dreaming bout mazda 3 that night.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » December 24th, 2010, 10:24 pm

Mazda 3 tuners, can your MAF work in the BJ 323? I have never seen a M3 MAF so I was just wondering!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 24th, 2010, 11:18 pm

same maf Groove...it will work

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » December 25th, 2010, 11:07 am

Nice thanks^

rizaa

Postby rizaa » December 27th, 2010, 12:49 pm

Ay Marlon and Ghostbusters, just updating you guys, i spray the MAF sensor with sensor cleaner, and i got an improvement, no biggy though. So what else can i spray with this cleaner, i have ah whole tin and wana put it to use. Advice.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 27th, 2010, 2:52 pm

believe it or not, the biggest gain in performance i felt in the 3 was when i switched to lightweight wheels. the car is very responsive now, feels great.

Postby Rainman » December 27th, 2010, 8:46 pm

stock 16 rim is pretty heavy close to 19lbs, what you running now GB?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 27th, 2010, 9:17 pm

mazdaspeed ms01-f by RAYS, 16's, great rims.

Return to “MAZDA”