Tryin a ting wit the BJ

MAZDA People United - it continues here

TurboDrive

Re: Tryin a ting wit the BJ

Postby TurboDrive » September 5th, 2011, 2:04 pm

Yeah I think they said that they were obsolete.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 15th, 2011, 7:19 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Upgraded 4 shocks to Tokico HP thanks to Ghostbusters.

This was a happy coincidence as i had to change all 4 and GB just happened to have 4 HP at a great price.

Review

These are stiff shocks, no other way to say it. Even with the relatively soft Megan springs, they're stiff. For me, this is offset by the contractor load of tools i always carry in my trunk. The added 75 lbs or so in the trunk works wonders to smooth out the ride.

Aligned with -1.25 front camber, no rear adjustment and -ve caster using the shock mounts.

Made a early morning Las Cuevas run on Thursday (sans dead weight in trunk) and cornering is pretty good. Less body roll and a hint of understeer but this will be mainly caused by the tyres (currently some crappy Dunlop)

All in all a worthwhile upgrade and even more so at the price i got them at. I'm not a serious performance handling/dex kinda person so this may be it for me suspension wise until i get a 2nd car or i find some progress or RB sway bars on the cheap and can't pass it up.

About a month on these.

Still friggin stiff. I go 99% on straight roads and the stiff shocks coupled with apparently continuous road work does not make for a good ride.

Don't get me wrong, these are very good for what they do, just maybe not so much for what i do. :|

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » September 15th, 2011, 6:01 pm

Anyone uses the normal Tokico? How they hold out? How's the ride compared to the KYB & the 'Blues'?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 15th, 2011, 9:26 pm

yeah i used them Groove, they ride better than KYBs, substantially better...

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 15th, 2011, 9:29 pm

I had regular OE style Tokicos previously and they were smooth and soft and all the cornering ability that comes with that. Lasted about 2 years with my drop.

Never used OE style KYBs but heard a fey people here complain about a rough ride.

HP Blues are entry level handling enthusiast shocks. See my description above.

You have to be prepared for a harder ride but you will looooove long windy roads like a Las Cuevas or Toco or that really BESS road in Tobago that i don't know the name of.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » September 16th, 2011, 6:59 pm

Thanks for the info, I'll try Tokico next!

ShaqThom

Postby ShaqThom » October 6th, 2012, 10:17 pm

Aye partner i wanna buy 1 of these bj's to do sum mods. but i wondering if d aftermarket parts readily available an if it reasonable. for eg how much u pay 4 dem headlights with d black housing and d set of springs and shocks? and also can u post sum more pics of the car so i cud see hw much d rear drop by after changing the spring but before u put in the new shock. I hoping that i dont hadda spend a heaping setta $ on parts. and if u dont mind post sum picks of d old springs standing upright so i cud see if dey can be cut or if ill need d aftermarket springs.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 7th, 2012, 3:12 pm

Shaq, part are readily available new, you can get aftermarket sway bars used and new, springs :- Teins Stech 2" drop 220US , Eibachs, 2" drop 200US Mazdaspeed spring 0.75 drop. Shocks : Tokico illuminas, tokico hp blues, kyb, coilovers 7000tt.

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... ngs+thread

ShaqThom

Postby ShaqThom » October 11th, 2012, 4:26 pm

nareshseep wrote:Shaq, part are readily available new, you can get aftermarket sway bars used and new, springs :- Teins Stech 2" drop 220US , Eibachs, 2" drop 200US Mazdaspeed spring 0.75 drop. Shocks : Tokico illuminas, tokico hp blues, kyb, coilovers 7000tt.

Thanks dey bredrin!!! dis is good stuff dey boi!!!! dat cuttin springs ting really wont be necessary

ShaqThom

Postby ShaqThom » October 11th, 2012, 4:30 pm

ShaqThom wrote:
nareshseep wrote:Shaq, part are readily available new, you can get aftermarket sway bars used and new, springs :- Teins Stech 2" drop 220US , Eibachs, 2" drop 200US Mazdaspeed spring 0.75 drop. Shocks : Tokico illuminas, tokico hp blues, kyb, coilovers 7000tt.

Thanks dey bredrin!!! dis is good stuff dey boi!!!! dat cuttin springs ting really wont be necessary

Question too!! if you buy d lowering springs will you need to buy shocks also or can you use stock shocks

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 12th, 2012, 9:21 am

stocks work fine

Return to “MAZDA”