Tryin a ting wit the BJ

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

Re: Tryin a ting wit the BJ

Postby FullStop » March 10th, 2011, 6:05 pm

fellas, invest in a pair of jack stands and a board, taking out that front swaybar bracket is less painful from underneath, a good set of ratchet spanners are a great asist too

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 10th, 2011, 11:33 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Also, if you've ever changed the rear engine mount, the 3 bolts are a major PITA as they are almost below the firewall. Actually had to visit a mechanic padnah to open the bolts, they were so tough.

Saw my mechanic used a sort of contraption ie an extension for an extension and a rotating joint to get it out.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » March 11th, 2011, 8:24 pm

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=346486

Discounts for bulk purchase (Plug wires)
Mazda - 323 (ZM) - $245 per set of 2 leads (5mm silicone inductive core)

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 12th, 2011, 2:35 pm

I in if you all buying

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 12th, 2011, 8:16 pm

i checked the site, doesnt quote any specs, i need specs dammit...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 12th, 2011, 9:08 pm

^^ and the seller is retarded, how hard is it to measure resistance?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 12th, 2011, 11:54 pm

he says he dont have the special tools...geez, i think he dont know what resistance is...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 12th, 2011, 11:57 pm

Unfortunately, that's something I am not able to do ... specialist expertise would be needed to do that...

i told him naresheep would measure it for him, lol, u think he'll let u naresheep?

libra

Postby libra » March 13th, 2011, 7:42 am

jus say nareshseep is a expert .... let him put on a lab coat an stuff lol

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 13th, 2011, 10:00 am

Not trusting anything made in a former communist state if i have a choice. :)

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 13th, 2011, 12:33 pm

czech republic generally make good stuff. I not going to trust anything that have no specs and no online reviews etc...especially since the wires are so thin, remember thinner wire=greater electrical resistance.
if he's selling somn and dont know anything about it, seems to me he's just in it for a quick buck...

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 13th, 2011, 8:08 pm

well i guess i'm the guinea pig in the bunch but i've installed a set of the tesla wires with some new ngk platinum plugs and i can report a marked difference in idle stability and a definite difference in response in my car specifically at high rpm no i didnt gain any HP but the delivery of what i have is greatly improved could be the plugs could be the wires or a combination of both will measure the resistance and give a further update

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 13th, 2011, 9:39 pm

libra wrote:jus say nareshseep is a expert .... let him put on a lab coat an stuff lol

I even told him that and he responded with

silversub wrote:Hi Narshsheep, I'm in St Augustine and my preferred meeting point is Grand Bazaar, however, the 323/Protege leads are out of stock and new stock will be available in April...let me know your interest..

@redbwoy the gains may be noticeable now but if it keeps within spec for say a year, then it would have been a great buy.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 13th, 2011, 9:43 pm

well we have red bwoy, when he measure the resistance then we'll know the fate of the czechs, lol

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 13th, 2011, 11:05 pm

^^ lol

MSP axles have larger/beefier cv joints,

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... ead/page46

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 25th, 2011, 6:26 pm

Diagnosis and recommendations anyone? I'll go out on a limb and say this is not normal on a rotor?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 25th, 2011, 6:36 pm

Stress cracks are small cracks that can be found on the surface of warped rotors. Stress cracks occur when there is excessive heat and the usual wear and tear. The more visible the stress cracks are the thinner the brake rotors are. Brake rotors with multiple stress cracks will not be able to dissipate the heat generated by the brake fluid under pressure and will compromise the integrity of your vehicle’s braking system.

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/stry/3-sign ... z1KZqYv7lE

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 25th, 2011, 9:07 pm

Thanks man, knew i saw an explanation somewhere before.

Want to upgrade to 10.2" fronts so i need to source some calipers soon. Don't want to buy 9" then have to buy 10" after

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 25th, 2011, 9:30 pm

i have a used pair of rotors if u wanna use em till u get a new set, btw Strugglerz, i looking for the NGK powercables, not finding the one i need, i think its 29z, where you got yours?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 26th, 2011, 12:49 am

well i think your best bet is to upgrade/switch to the 5 - hole setup cause its much easier to get parts for and also upgrades eg drilled and slotted rotors calipers and so on which can be had in the US the 4 hole is pain to get upgrades for i have four hole 10.2 and as soon as i can organise rims money i'm switchin to 5

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 26th, 2011, 9:05 am

red bwoy wrote:well i think your best bet is to upgrade/switch to the 5 - hole setup cause its much easier to get parts for and also upgrades eg drilled and slotted rotors calipers and so on which can be had in the US the 4 hole is pain to get upgrades for i have four hole 10.2 and as soon as i can organise rims money i'm switchin to 5

I hear ya. Money's already tight as it is so i'm trying to avoid switching rims while still upgrading to the bigger brakes.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 26th, 2011, 9:09 am

ghostbusters wrote:i have a used pair of rotors if u wanna use em till u get a new set, btw Strugglerz, i looking for the NGK powercables, not finding the one i need, i think its 29z, where you got yours?

BarMac Auto through Amazon.

I think PowerCables have gone out of production so they may be difficult to source.

The US protege folks seem to love Magnecor wires.

libra

Postby libra » April 26th, 2011, 4:52 pm

maz have sum slotted an drilled 9.2's sellin right now 2 .....jus sayin incase lol

aundreinniss

Postby aundreinniss » June 8th, 2011, 10:54 pm

looking to buy a manual tranny compatible with zl-ve engine. my auto tranny giving trouble and i wann get rid of of it. if there is anyone that answers please find out if it is possible to ship to Barbados. Thanks

Zoom Zoom for life peeps!!!!!!!!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 8th, 2011, 10:59 pm

aundreinniss wrote:looking to buy a manual tranny compatible with zl-ve engine. my auto tranny giving trouble and i wann get rid of of it. if there is anyone that answers please find out if it is possible to ship to Barbados. Thanks

Zoom Zoom for life peeps!!!!!!!!

Boy that rarer than a 18 yr old virgin.... but will keep an eye out for you.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 23rd, 2011, 12:41 pm

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 3rd, 2011, 6:30 pm

Upgraded 4 shocks to Tokico HP thanks to Ghostbusters.

This was a happy coincidence as i had to change all 4 and GB just happened to have 4 HP at a great price.

Review

These are stiff shocks, no other way to say it. Even with the relatively soft Megan springs, they're stiff. For me, this is offset by the contractor load of tools i always carry in my trunk. The added 75 lbs or so in the trunk works wonders to smooth out the ride.

Aligned with -1.25 front camber, no rear adjustment and -ve caster using the shock mounts.

Made a early morning Las Cuevas run on Thursday (sans dead weight in trunk) and cornering is pretty good. Less body roll and a hint of understeer but this will be mainly caused by the tyres (currently some crappy Dunlop)

All in all a worthwhile upgrade and even more so at the price i got them at. I'm not a serious performance handling/dex kinda person so this may be it for me suspension wise until i get a 2nd car or i find some progress or RB sway bars on the cheap and can't pass it up.

wing

Postby wing » September 3rd, 2011, 7:48 pm

I concur Struggler , I have the HPs bout 6 mths now , definitely stiffer but handling has improved a lot even though I'm running stock springs on the RSS (and Sumitomo HTR tyres) .All in all , I like the ride ....... great investment!

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 5th, 2011, 12:52 am

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 5th, 2011, 1:54 pm

NGK replacement wires?

They've dropped the Power Wires line for some reason.

Return to “MAZDA”