Tryin a ting wit the BJ

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 12th, 2010, 6:44 am

mazdamig wrote:stock muffler is real sheit :!:

You see dem stock pics above...i dont know how that thing flows. i used to think my car ran well with the stock exhaust...imagine the gains to be had from a larger displacement engine by just changing out the exhaust.

Ghost..you ever ran the FS-ZE with a stock exhaust? (cant remember if you changed it before or after the swap)

Megan M-OE was around $850 from TSC

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 12th, 2010, 7:07 pm

na, never ran it on a stock exhaust, i ran it with no exhaust for a little while, that was real sweet...loud, but sweet.

libra

Postby libra » April 12th, 2010, 9:30 pm

libra

Postby libra » April 13th, 2010, 2:51 pm

yea is the MO-E i have self ...... silent wid the silencer on but nice tone normal

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 13th, 2010, 4:48 pm

Fellas, I installed the polyurethane bushings today...just hafta say , DO NOT ATTEMPT DOING THIS INSTALL ALONE...I went to the garage where i worked a bit and the mechanic told me to go ahead and do what i need, so,

1.)cradle removal is a breeze,, remove balljoint bolt and nut, remove horizontal bolt on cradle, remove vertical bold on cradle, NOTE; there is a bracket where the vertical bolt is, u dont need to remove it to remove the cradle, but you do to reinstall it

2.) go to machine shop with a good press

3.)argue with machinist who insistes that that Superpro Bushing will not work because machinist thinks that a square bolt is needed(WTF is a square bolt???)

4.) insist the machinist do what you tell him;pay machinist 80 dollars and take oics with phone of cradle(realize u dont have cable, cuss self for not walkin with camera)

5.)line up for re-installation of cradle, connect horizontal bolt, bolt up balljoint, and then get hydraulic jack ; place jack under cradle and jack up cradle till cradle is horizontal enough for vertical bolt to lineup...

6.) bolt up everything, offer payment to mechanic for space and tools used(conceal joy when mechanic says no charge and race home before he changes his mind)

so I installed the bushings today, the mechanic and machinist insisted that these would ride very rough, but they were wrong, ride quality has not diminished, steering feels more precise and firm,,,i was getting vibrations before the install wen i mashed brakes hard, thats all gone now, my bushings were very bad...

Super pro polyurethane bushings can be purchase from vyshall on tuner, its an expensive kit, but its worth it for that extra crispness and supposedly it lasts longer too. if i ever get a data cable for my phone, pics will follow

EDIT
drove the car alot today, i changed my mind about ride quality, it is indeed harsher, but i think these bushings really compliment the suspension setup i have, it just feels natural with the illuminas and the mazdaspeed springs.
I think with stock shocks and softer springs, ride quality will not be a prblem at all.
Last edited by FullStop on April 15th, 2010, 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 14th, 2010, 9:32 am

Best write up i see in a while... :lol: :lol:

My bushings good yet (thank you stock rims) so not going to shell out that much cheddar just yet. Once you guys have no issues with the superpro than i will get them when the time comes.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 15th, 2010, 10:30 pm

BTW Strugglerz, i now getting that noise with the wagner thermoquiets you were talking about, very annoying, but the shoes holding real good so i'll stick with them.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 16th, 2010, 10:53 am

I'll try Raybestos shoes next. Love the thermoquiets but that noise in POS traffic annoys me too much.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 18th, 2010, 1:35 pm

M-OE exhaust looks nice man...always like that look (as opposed to the fart cannon look :lol: ).

Question to the OP: exhaust setup looks nifty, but after the $$ spent, how much gains have you had if any? Butt dyno "d cyar feel fastah" is good, once it makes you happy....BUT....I'm not sure if there are any actual gains, with this "free flow" exhaust.

Maybe it's more of an aesthetic/personalizing mod, rather than a performance mod?

Modern day F/I cars respond somewhat better to exhaust mods...as in CB systems (providing the stock was restrictive) rather than N/A cars IMHO. With N/A cars.....headers might prove to have significantly more benefits, EVEN when mated to a close to stock system (A swift sport guy did this already).

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 18th, 2010, 4:39 pm

interesting Knight1

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 18th, 2010, 6:12 pm

Knight1 wrote:Question to the OP: exhaust setup looks nifty, but after the $$ spent, how much gains have you had if any? Butt dyno "d cyar feel fastah" is good, once it makes you happy....BUT....I'm not sure if there are any actual gains, with this "free flow" exhaust.

Maybe it's more of an aesthetic/personalizing mod, rather than a performance mod?

Modern day F/I cars respond somewhat better to exhaust mods...as in CB systems (providing the stock was restrictive) rather than N/A cars IMHO. With N/A cars.....headers might prove to have significantly more benefits, EVEN when mated to a close to stock system (A swift sport guy did this already).

I agree that a NA will respond better to headers than to a bigger exhaust, but then it really depends on the engine and its revband too.

i thinking that a small low rev range engine not gonna benefit much if any from exhaust upgrades, but higher revving versions may, in that since the exhaust pulses gonna be extremely close (fraction of a second) at high revs then narrow tubing may becone insufficient to maximise the scavenging effect...maybe?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 18th, 2010, 7:23 pm

Knight1 wrote:M-OE exhaust looks nice man...always like that look (as opposed to the fart cannon look :lol: ).

Question to the OP: exhaust setup looks nifty, but after the $$ spent, how much gains have you had if any? Butt dyno "d cyar feel fastah" is good, once it makes you happy....BUT....I'm not sure if there are any actual gains, with this "free flow" exhaust.

While i can't quantify the gains as no before and after dyno was done, butt dyno indicates that there is an improvement.

Granted, it's all hot air without the numbers to back it up that so many people here love, driving a car everyday before and after makes any improvement apparent.

Weather its worth the $$ ??? Honestly i could have done this on the cheap and achieved the same result *sigh*, i prefer to get good stuff the first time round (as good as i could afford).

End result? To me its worth it and it can support additional mods when the time comes.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 18th, 2010, 8:23 pm

^^As for the cost, I don't condone custom/no-name brands ( :lol: ), so I wasn't looking from that standpoint.....instead ....I guess I was looking at a "hp-gained" per $ POV.

But then again, I shouldn't talk: I swapped exhausts on the WRX (moved to a flat black PERRIN catback from an Apexi unit) for the sole purpose of looks / aesthetics. Both exhausts were of similar design, and functioned as such. Excessive $$ for 0 gain/difference :shock: :lol:

At the end of day the however, as I stated above, once you''re happy with it and it serves it's purpose, that's one of the most important things 8)

libra

Postby libra » April 18th, 2010, 9:29 pm

tanks bro...... yea i like that look as well ... lol @ fart cannon look ... but personally it made a slight difference nuttin much to talk about

libra

Postby libra » April 23rd, 2010, 8:17 pm

check out this fellars .... went and saw them got sum nice ones

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... c&&start=0

nareshseep

Re: Tryin a ting wit the BJ - Exhaust Done

Postby nareshseep » June 27th, 2010, 10:17 pm

ok guys read the entire thread, looking to upgrade to the 4-2-1 extractors on my gf zmde.
have to collect manifold, have the downpipe

1. do I need any gasket or would the existing one work ?
2. I read about the egr change of location,but someone said that the egr controls idle speed, so should it be welded shut ?
3. Is it a worthwhile mod? hp gains?

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 28th, 2010, 8:24 am

1. Manifold/head gasket should be changed if you can get it. There would also be one where the downpipe attaches to the manifold. This is different to the original on the ZM.

2.EGR does not control idle speed but it can affect it if the valve needs servicing etc etc. It is not required except for emissions purposes so be guided accordingly. I removed the entire line and made a small cover for the valve inlet. You'd never know something was missing.

3.Worthwhile is subjective. For me, yes, but there's the 2NR school of thought that says "No Dyno, No Gain". All i can say is don't expect miracles. It's still a NA ZM so the small HP gain ain't much compared to a say a VE.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 30th, 2010, 11:49 am

For me, it was Probly the best mod I did on the zm, with it, I think the engine behaves a bit differently, maybe it's Just that placebo effect but I liked it.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 1st, 2010, 10:09 am

ok cool, now with the downpipe/manifold gasket, where did you all get that gasket ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 1st, 2010, 6:50 pm

Got mine with the setup i bought from ghostbusters so i can't help you there.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 7th, 2010, 12:04 am

Strugglerzinc thanks for the info, busy with exams so august is the month for mods, will keep you posted!

Re:

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 24th, 2010, 4:34 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:I'll try Raybestos shoes next. Love the thermoquiets but that noise in POS traffic annoys me too much.

Got the Raybestos shoes, $28 US + Free shipping to Miami and $70 TT landed via skybox.

Hopefully these will hold well without the noise of the Wagner Thermoquiets

The look of new shoes :D

Old shoes were on their last legs after 1.5 years, which seems a bit short to be honest...

Groovemaster

Re: Tryin a ting wit the BJ

Postby Groovemaster » September 18th, 2010, 6:38 pm

Who can put their hands on some of these to sell to the "BJ Mafia" :D

dervynayr

Postby dervynayr » September 20th, 2010, 3:26 pm

Groovemaster wrote:Image

Who can put their hands on some of these to sell to the "BJ Mafia" :D

For real!!!!!!

I looking for dat ah while now... :shock: :shock: :shock: :twisted:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 20th, 2010, 5:39 pm

front lower tie bar.. good stuff

dervynayr

Postby dervynayr » September 26th, 2010, 11:18 am

where we getting de lower bars?? anyone?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » September 29th, 2010, 1:37 pm

WHITELINE Polyurethane Suspension Bushings (Got to get these for my trailing arms & lateral arms) If the price is right!!!

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=335425

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 8th, 2010, 4:54 pm

NGK Power Cables. 0.9k Ohm/metre

Was getting some leakage with the OE so i upgraded one time.

Standard NGKs are $265 at Reputable in Couva if anyone needs.

These cost 60US.

Lucky for me, customs did not charge any duty or vat so just ended up paying 1lb freight to get it in the country :mrgreen:

Realistically I expect little to no improvement but hey...they look cool and i can say i have fancy JDM wires.

Cleaned up the boots on the coil packs one time. Had a setta white gunk in there like what you see when battery terminals corrode.

Here's the resistance of the stock wire, 5.46k Ohm

This is the Power Cable 0.26k Ohm

libra

Postby libra » October 8th, 2010, 6:44 pm

looks cool .... 5.46k is pretty high .... conductors build resistance with age and use ... i replaced mine wid the standard ngk .. if i get the chance i'll check the resistance of it

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 8th, 2010, 7:45 pm

i was looking for power cables for the FS for more than a year now, i was only finding it for the zm, you have a link to the site u got it? u know if they have the FS version?

Return to “MAZDA”