Accelaration Problem with AC on

MAZDA People United - it continues here

villain

Postby villain » August 15th, 2009, 12:57 pm

its more pronounced when the a/c is on....

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » August 15th, 2009, 3:35 pm

Where exactly is the knock sensor?

villain

Postby villain » August 15th, 2009, 8:46 pm

the jack is on the driver's side in the bonnet but the sensor itself is under the throttle body...but you can see it through the runners of the throttle body, so you'll be able to see it the sensor leaking (black tar stuff) or not....

if all else fails check the see if its the engine itself(mechanical problem) as a diagnostic wouldnt pick that up.....i coming to realise that not all scanners pick up problems on mazda cars...some dont see anything and other seeing some... :(

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 16th, 2009, 8:11 am

villain it have problems that will not show up on the scanners because they are either intermittent or don't occur on each drive cycle meaning if i fly down the highway at 180k and stop in POS then drive from POS to Diego at 60k the issues that showed up at 175-180k will not show up again so the ecu will not record it as a fault but i would be in what they call the flight plan of the ecu and u need a good scanner to read the flight plan eg Carman or Launch these worked wonders on my car

villain

Postby villain » August 16th, 2009, 3:08 pm

the man tried launch and he wasnt getting anything....but when i unhooked my knock sensor and oxygen sensor im not getting the problem....(knock sensor confirmed bad...seeing the tar thing leaking out...and i just pull out the oxygen sensor and run the car hard down the road.....it not as spirited as it used to be but it not giving me the gross hesitation and power dying feeling i was getting....i will run it later to see if i get any problems....otherwise is a oxygen sensor to change...i already have the knock sensor...

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » August 18th, 2009, 2:07 pm

Took a look at my knock sensor last weekend and did notice that black tar substance leaking out so i guess i need a new one. Also noticed that ac condenser fan not coming on all the time, if you give it a nudge it will start spinning. Would a combination of those two things cause the acceleration problem and secondly what's the average cost of a knock sensor ? Got a costing of $795 from SS and $775 from Bobby's. Want to know if i may be able to get it a little cheaper somewhere else. Don't mind spending on my ride but cashflow on the low end right now. :cry:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 18th, 2009, 3:54 pm

what ever you get make sure it carries the black wire not the blue one the blue one has been upgraded to the black and that price gone up boi i paid 600 for mine by SS in POS

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » September 7th, 2009, 12:35 pm

Well i think i got the problem sorted out. I don't know if that was really the cause but since changing my ac condenser fan the problem has ceased. Haven't done anything besides that and ain't get to buy knock sensor yet but so far after replacing fan no bogging down when pulling off from a stop. Trying to understand though how a malfunctioning condenser fan can cause driveability issues.

villain

Postby villain » September 7th, 2009, 1:58 pm

true that...was it making any sort of noise prior to you changing it?

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » September 8th, 2009, 8:53 am

No but then again my exhaust is kind loud. It was when i when i changed radiator hose week before last. I refilled radiator and put on ac to make sure everything was running good and realized that ac fan was not coming on. Was wondering if because of that the engine was running hotter than usual inducing knock and causing the knock sensor to retard timing. Because it was more noticeable after pulling off quickly from a stop. The fan would only spin if you gave it a jump start and it looked as if it were only spinning at half speed.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » September 18th, 2009, 10:50 pm

Just had a look at my knock sensor & guess what...............That black tar stuff coming out of it :x :x :x I think i saw Mitsubishi ZL02 written on it and the alternator is also mitsubishi!!! But the knock sensor has the black wire though.
Protegekid U buy the knock sensor yet.........$800.00 in these times :roll:

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » September 23rd, 2009, 10:53 am

Groovemaster boy right now is pressure. That $800 hard to pelt out right now and i'm sure when i finally have it to spare something else will come up to take that money right out meh hand. If your knock has the black wire then that's the updated one. You sure it's not a piece of black insulaton over the blue wire? You getting any driveability issues ???

villain

Postby villain » September 23rd, 2009, 12:37 pm

but eh???? people does just unplug it and roll with it just so....just make sure you use the right gas....if you dont have the $$$ right now just unplug it...

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » September 23rd, 2009, 12:58 pm

But if the computer not getting a signal from the knock sensor wouldn't it put the car into a safe mode (retard timing).

villain

Postby villain » September 23rd, 2009, 3:34 pm

not really...i've tried it and it works....mazdamig has his own unhooked and he runs just as good as i do....

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » September 23rd, 2009, 10:57 pm

Nah it's the black wire and it's leaking from the entry point of the wire & to the bottom.
BTW if that go real bad ..what does happen?

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » September 25th, 2009, 9:54 am

question: But if the computer not getting a signal from the knock sensor wouldn't it put the car into a safe mode (retard timing)

yes it does ...whereby your car will run ...but try accelerating quickly on an overtake or speed up . what happens then is that the usual kick you would get from the gear change isn't there and the car just gradually accelerates ...noticeably slower. i tried this already. i even a\had the accelerator to the floor and all the car did was accelerate gradually ...very boring by mazda standards

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » September 25th, 2009, 6:05 pm

rebel sounds wrote:question: But if the computer not getting a signal from the knock sensor wouldn't it put the car into a safe mode (retard timing)

yes it does ...whereby your car will run ...but try accelerating quickly on an overtake or speed up . what happens then is that the usual kick you would get from the gear change isn't there and the car just gradually accelerates ...noticeably slower. i tried this already. i even a\had the accelerator to the floor and all the car did was accelerate gradually ...very boring by mazda standards

^^^ From this explanation that's exactly how it feels, but more noticeable with AC on.

villain

Postby villain » September 25th, 2009, 8:55 pm

ohhhhhhh i see you all are still running trannys ...i guess thats why "we" :mrgreen: dont have that problem....no sensors to retard gear changes....nothing to send any sort of communication from the ecu to the gearbox cause i dont think anything sensor wise is attached except for the the reverse sensor....

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » September 25th, 2009, 9:32 pm

:roll: I want ah gearbox...... :drinking:

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » September 27th, 2009, 6:56 am

thx villain for the clarification ........now i'm clear as to why you are able to run without the knock sensor

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » January 30th, 2010, 10:48 pm

My protege seeing real stress to climb hills now....doh talk about trying to pass someone on the highway!!! I guess i have to spend $860. SS south have 16 in stock :lol:
Fellas, how this haven't thrown a CEL yet & i not getting my 'kickdown'

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 30th, 2010, 11:48 pm

is this knock sensor problem mainly on zmde or zlve engines?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » January 31st, 2010, 12:41 am

I got a ZM-DE

villain

Postby villain » January 31st, 2010, 8:32 am

boy it does have so much damn thing to check...that is why many of us does have extra....either for himself or a partner when problems occur...so it would be a quick trial and error to see which one is the offending sensor....
if you feel is your knock sensor pull it out and see if the car work different(better?)
or look to see if it leaking the black goo of death.... :mrgreen: which would mean it done...time to get a new one....if its coils boy i dont know what to tell you...the fella i do my diagnostic with, has a tool to measure voltage or current (?) on the coil wires...so when one reading low or lower than the next, it would indicate that that particular coil going....i dunno where to buy it....it's some sort of clamp something...

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » February 16th, 2010, 7:08 pm

That's my knock sensor

What that ZL doing there????? I thought I had a ZM.

ZM?

villain

Postby villain » February 17th, 2010, 9:57 am

same parts....zl and zm......
like for eg a zl head can work on a zm block...thats what im doing right now...zl-ve head on zm block....but both engines are basically the same...exception the piston size...(1.5 vs 1.6) but all the zl's have more power than the zm... :cry:

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » February 17th, 2010, 6:43 pm

Better take off on the ZM so all not lost. :P :mrgreen:

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » February 17th, 2010, 6:56 pm

so wa'happen no one ain't see the condition of my knock sensor or the big ZL on my ZM engine (BTW my engine serial no is ZM665***). What that means I have a 1.5L?

villain

Postby villain » February 17th, 2010, 7:15 pm

the parts from the zm and zl are the same....the part numbers are the same...only updated or revised parts may carry a different number (i think)but its the same part...

Return to “MAZDA”