Mazda Cars/Pics Etc--Formerly New Mazda Men

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 12th, 2008, 9:01 pm

oh yeah, when i went to take the pic my padna pull up so i had to go finish up fixin he laptop for him, so the pic take a lil while longer, man pull up wit he gyul in the car and i day bareback wit mih boxers on wit a camera round my neck, lol, the expression on she face was priceless...

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 12th, 2008, 9:47 pm

a note about the ram ducting... look closely at where your bonnet closes and tell me if it make any sense on mazda part.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 12th, 2008, 9:51 pm

well, i thought about that, but then if you think about it, where did the stock airbox get air from?, it came through the front, i heard that comment made before but if you really look into it you would realize that there is an exponential increase in wind resistance as speed increases, even if there is a tiny space there, air is going to get through, and there is a space between the grille and bonnet, the bonnet rubber does not completely block it out, what you think?

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 12th, 2008, 10:35 pm

dude that look like d same engine i have.maybe i shud get a better intake and see if i could get a good performance increase...ent:?:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 12th, 2008, 10:41 pm

the intake doesnt add a large amount of power, just noticeable, the zl-ve manifold was much better, start with small things like using good engine oil and transmission fluid, then get better plugs a good air filter, you need to make sur your car is in tip top condition before you start to modify...

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 12th, 2008, 10:44 pm

wll i does take care ah d 323 yuh know...i change my plugs and put some ngk iridium and meh filter and meh injectors were cleaned and also i changed meh fluids!!!! :fadein:

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 12th, 2008, 11:13 pm

Try resetting your brain and drive the car like how it supposeed to be driven

Check your hanes manual on how to reset it
but i am pretty sure is unplug your negative battery terminal wire and mash your brakes a few times like six times or hold it for 30 secs

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 12th, 2008, 11:31 pm

wat difference is dat supposed to make??? :?:

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 13th, 2008, 3:10 pm

ghostbusters wrote:well, i thought about that, but then if you think about it, where did the stock airbox get air from?, it came through the front, i heard that comment made before but if you really look into it you would realize that there is an exponential increase in wind resistance as speed increases, even if there is a tiny space there, air is going to get through, and there is a space between the grille and bonnet, the bonnet rubber does not completely block it out, what you think?

not sayin that it dont work, but they went thru all that trouble to include the ducting, they could have use a better positioning to take full advantage of the ram effect. Take some mitsus for example.

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 13th, 2008, 3:16 pm

ghostbusters wrote:
well, i thought about that, but then if you think about it, where did the stock airbox get air from?, it came through the front, i heard that comment made before but if you really look into it you would realize that there is an exponential increase in wind resistance as speed increases, even if there is a tiny space there, air is going to get through, and there is a space between the grille and bonnet, the bonnet rubber does not completely block it out, what you think?

not sayin that it dont work, but they went thru all that trouble to include the ducting, they could have use a better positioning to take full advantage of the ram effect. Take some mitsus for example.

YEA
YEA TRUE!!!!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 13th, 2008, 3:37 pm

yup, but i going to fix that, i gonna get a CF grille made, and i going to slope it more upward, so air flowing over the grille heads straight up into the ducting, but yeah, it could definitely be positioned better, i just waiting for the engine bay to cool down there, i going to extend the intake and put the metal pipe a little further away from the engine so the engine heat will have less influence, i still in the two week troubleshooting phase for the mod, like all mods, it will require tweaking...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 13th, 2008, 8:52 pm

i mod the intake again, gonna get a pic..., i have to finish it up tomorrow, , back wit pic

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 14th, 2008, 3:38 pm

Where de pic :twisted:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 14th, 2008, 3:41 pm

those are the pics of the modified intake, ahh, i plan on ceramic-paint coating of the metal piece.
i just took off the exhaust heat shield to clean it so it s not in the pic..., notice how close the air filter is to the ram air ducting in the third pic..., well i not done yet, it may change again

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 14th, 2008, 3:54 pm

but isnt that cai suckin hot air from the engine bay??well at day??

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 14th, 2008, 3:59 pm

its not a cai, its a sri, and it is right in front of the ram air ducting, so as long as the car is moving air is entering the engine bay from the outside and directly on to the filter...and by the way, at night the engine bay does get hot too, as long as your car is on, the engine bay will get hot...

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 14th, 2008, 4:38 pm

i know but the sun not heating it up more at night!!!! idint say dat it dont get hot at night!

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 15th, 2008, 6:51 am

Any gains from the change in position?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 15th, 2008, 9:00 am

yeah, i think the low end has improved slightly, i am thinking about relocating it to the wheel well, but i not sure i want to do that...

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 15th, 2008, 1:34 pm

here's what i tought of doin with the sri mount the filter over the hole at the side thats made for the cai to pass but build either an aluminium or fiberglass shield and channel the ais from the wheel well into this box where the filter will be located

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 15th, 2008, 2:50 pm

yeah, i am thinking about that too, but i want to make use of the ram air effect as well, so i will have to make a port for the ram air duct to go into as well,

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 15th, 2008, 9:18 pm

yeah, i gonna be leaving the intake where it is for now, today i was driving down the highway an i didnt even realize i had hit 140, so i thinkin thats ok for now, car pulling nice, i currently have a Simota filter, i may just change it to a K&N when it gets dirty.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 16th, 2008, 7:07 pm

i lied, when i came home today i had an idea, so i pulled out my handy dandy screwdriver and my handy dandy 10 socket, i pulled out the ever handy hose coupler and the 2 extra hose clamps i had in my back pocket, and voila
what allyuh think, i also gonna buy a 4oz tin of titanium finish ceramic coating to coat the metal pieces with

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » September 16th, 2008, 8:01 pm

i wanna hear how dis method pulling!!!Maybe more fire!!! :|

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 16th, 2008, 8:17 pm

oh yeah, it feels better here, good low end, can feel the difference from the time i put it into gear, idles and revs nice and that corner is cool so i dont forsee any short term problems, runs nice, i didnt get to open it up yet, might do that tomorrow night or somn, take a run down the highway to test it out

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 16th, 2008, 8:34 pm

dude jus do the CAI and done. you know you wanna. yuh jus movin inch by inch toward the fender. i sure you go have some "inspiration" by time weekend. :lol:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 16th, 2008, 8:38 pm

LOL, who knows :lol:

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » September 16th, 2008, 10:22 pm

when the mazda crew getting to see all these fast 323F :shock:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 16th, 2008, 10:25 pm

mazdamig wrote:when the mazda crew getting to see all these fast 323F :shock: