Protege Tuners

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 8th, 2008, 10:21 pm

from what i've read, the older secret weapon intakes had problems, the newer ones have the reduced maf sensor area size...was going to buy one of those, but decided not to take the chance, supposed to get intake wednesday or friday, cant wait, gonna paint it with duplicolor ceramic paint...

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 9th, 2008, 5:24 am

Cool. I interested in getting one too. If you willing to bring in any more let me know.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 9th, 2008, 8:51 am

yeah, thas no probs, you can check it out this week when i get it, now if i can get 6 people who are interested in the full cold air intake from simota, i can get those , minimum order for the full cold air intake is 6, so if anyone interested they can let me know.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 9th, 2008, 3:23 pm

i got the intake today, will post pics this evening before i install, may install tomorrow

villain

Postby villain » September 9th, 2008, 11:40 pm

check mig...he is the zl...zm....b6....b everything man....i can only advise you by my experience wit hsome of these things... :mrgreen:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 20th, 2008, 10:12 am

techspeak wrote:well it depends.. if you have the stuff already it can cost you next to nothing... but i live in canada, trying to move down there soon...

you just need a V6 doner car like a 323F or MX3 and a 2.5L from say a Millenia or Capella or somethin... and its just mix and match parts. How common are those cars there??

are yopu still in canada, can you bring stuff for use down here?

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » July 10th, 2009, 10:16 am

eh, i wanna kno whats the real point of the egr line, i kno i could google it but i think trini ppl will explain it better for me

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » July 10th, 2009, 10:20 am

never mind

Zorak

Postby Zorak » July 10th, 2009, 3:46 pm

any protege chunas goin an solodex anytime soon??

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 14th, 2009, 11:29 am

I think its a decent idea, this Protege thread. The Protege comes standard with 5 basic engines, the B3 (BJ3P), ZL-DE, ZL-VE- ZM-DE(BJ5P/BJ5W) and FS-ZE(BJ-FP/BJFW) but the nice thing about a BJ Protege is also a B6-DE, Z5-DE and BP-ZE, BPT, KF-ZE(2.0 V6) and KL-ZE (2.5 V6) can ALSO bolt in the BJ.

The JDM Familia sub models include the Type RS/ RSS. these models come with the ZL-VE variable valve timing 130HP/ 128lb-ft torque, not bad for a 1500cc. Oh if u are wondering why your ZL-VE is burning so much gas, it has 290cc red injectors instead of the ZL-DE/ZM-DE which has 160cc. This is to accomodate for gas for the higher RPM range. anyhows on with the story. The RS has bigger front brakes, white high revving tach insturment panel in amber lighting. comes 4-speed activematic tranny or 5-speed manual F-type gearbox with a 4.4 final ratio compared to the 3.8 final of the DE. (all for the revv) The backseat is also fully adjustable with a different interior. The RSS has everything an RS has with the addtion of a full flair kit and rear disc brakes.

The japan only Sport20 BJFP/BJFW comes with the FS-ZE with aggessive cams, extremely high compression, VICS intake manifold (variable runners). It puts out 167HP not bad for an NA, mated to a 4-speed active matic tranny or 5 speed H Type Strong gearbox. Front brakes the same size as the RS but with 5 x 114 5 lug all round and rear disc brakes. Comes standard with the full Sport flair white instrument panel and sporty interior.

The Familia/ Protege has become the "civic" of mazda having loads of aftermarket support and is available in almost all countries. i just feeling to type today hahah :D :D

Zorak

Postby Zorak » July 14th, 2009, 1:57 pm

MAZTUNE, u make me want to go an give mine a hug! lol :mrgreen:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 14th, 2009, 4:50 pm

hahaha they handle well, good braking and decent performance. :)

Zorak

Postby Zorak » July 15th, 2009, 12:51 am

yeah mine performs pretty well i think. got the zl-ve tiptronic. only thing is a lil too much body roll
and i guess when it's 5 people in the car it starts to feel a lil underpowered

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 15th, 2009, 9:28 am

MAZTUNE wrote:I think its a decent idea, this Protege thread. The Protege comes standard with 5 basic engines, the B3 (BJ3P), ZL-DE, ZL-VE- ZM-DE(BJ5P/BJ5W) and FS-ZE(BJ-FP/BJFW) but the nice thing about a BJ Protege is also a B6-DE, Z5-DE and BP-ZE, BPT, KF-ZE(2.0 V6) and KL-ZE (2.5 V6) can ALSO bolt in the BJ.

The JDM Familia sub models include the Type RS/ RSS. these models come with the ZL-VE variable valve timing 130HP/ 128lb-ft torque, not bad for a 1500cc. Oh if u are wondering why your ZL-VE is burning so much gas, it has 290cc red injectors instead of the ZL-DE/ZM-DE which has 160cc. This is to accomodate for gas for the higher RPM range. anyhows on with the story. The RS has bigger front brakes, white high revving tach insturment panel in amber lighting. comes 4-speed activematic tranny or 5-speed manual F-type gearbox with a 4.4 final ratio compared to the 3.8 final of the DE. (all for the revv) The backseat is also fully adjustable with a different interior. The RSS has everything an RS has with the addtion of a full flair kit and rear disc brakes.

The japan only Sport20 BJFP/BJFW comes with the FS-ZE with aggessive cams, extremely high compression, VICS intake manifold (variable runners). It puts out 167HP not bad for an NA, mated to a 4-speed active matic tranny or 5 speed H Type Strong gearbox. Front brakes the same size as the RS but with 5 x 114 5 lug all round and rear disc brakes. Comes standard with the full Sport flair white instrument panel and sporty interior.

The Familia/ Protege has become the "civic" of mazda having loads of aftermarket support and is available in almost all countries. i just feeling to type today hahah :D :D

now reading this, that rss description fits my car well. will take some pictures. so that adjustable back seat did not come with all the hatchbacks? You sure that the torque is 128 I think I saw somewhere it was 100, also the rss has automatic ac temp control and variable speed intermitent wipers. About that simota intake what was the outcome. I have a cai and what hesitation are you referring too?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 15th, 2009, 9:33 am

hmmm yea i think its 128 well dats whats www.protege323.com says yea d RS has the automatic temp control and the wipers. yea only our models have d backseats its kinda uncomfortable though... oh a CAI will cause a lean condition, so look for a pump upgrade. maybe a stock 3rd gen or 2nd gen RX-7 fuel pump to increase LPH.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 15th, 2009, 9:40 am

^^ but wouldnt the ecu correct that fuel/air ratio? how much will that pump upgrade cost?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 15th, 2009, 9:58 am

hmm the ECU will only correct up to a point but a CAI and lets say the ZM-DE intake manifold sends way too much air into the engine. hmm well i usually sell these stock pumps for around $300.00. the nice thing about them its a direct bolt in both being Denso pumps. i dont have any at this time though, should be getting back next month.

hey u checking me for d oil??

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 15th, 2009, 10:20 am

^^ will check you weekend

Here is a list of mazda how to's

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... =123715657

waxy_rider

Postby waxy_rider » July 15th, 2009, 12:57 pm

maztune, do you have larger/stiffer front and back sway bars for the BJ protege(ZM-DE). i want to reduce the body roll but keep the stock shocks and springs for now. also want a front upper strut bar.

waxy_rider

Postby waxy_rider » July 15th, 2009, 1:04 pm

dunno if it's been posted before but here is a link to the complete workshop manual in pdf format for the 2002 Protege :D

http://pdftown.com/PDF-Mazda-Protege-20 ... anual.html

click the download link under the pic

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » July 15th, 2009, 1:53 pm

eh fellas, how to take off the grill in front d 2003 protege boy, i cyah get that out, i take out d 2 screws and i see soe clips, but it still not comin out

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 15th, 2009, 7:15 pm

well it does take a lil fingering to get it out doh be rough eh pull the top out until the two plastic pins come out the body then lift upwards

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 15th, 2009, 7:22 pm

waxy_rider wrote:maztune, do you have larger/stiffer front and back sway bars for the BJ protege(ZM-DE). i want to reduce the body roll but keep the stock shocks and springs for now. also want a front upper strut bar.

i think ghostbusters has a nice package on some racing beat lower sway bars and front strut tower brace PM him nah

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » July 15th, 2009, 8:07 pm

red bwoy, aite thanks dey ah go see if i cud do that tomorrow so. btw fellas, allyuh think that air fuel ratio guages and oil press. guages and so forth are rice??

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 15th, 2009, 8:09 pm

every serious tuner wants to keep tabs on what his car is doing to know what he or she has to work on so it cant be rice if yuh tuning

if yuh just put it on fuh style with no upgrades yes is R.I.C.E.

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » July 15th, 2009, 8:12 pm

well is kinda d both ways eh, cuz i wanna do some tuning IE CAI and so forth and i got the gauges at a descent price so i took them, but i wanna make some fibre glass molds onto the pillar instaed of puttin the cups or the housing thingie

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 15th, 2009, 8:14 pm

boi i feel it easier to buy de guage pods oui

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » July 15th, 2009, 8:14 pm

yea, well i feel i go do that cuz i cyah get a good line up with d whole housin thing for the pillar, and i want a neat finish

villain

Postby villain » July 16th, 2009, 4:23 pm

i feel you have plenty money and doh know what to do with it....i will to help you spend it

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » July 16th, 2009, 10:08 pm

who me? :|

Return to “MAZDA”