Tryin a ting wit the BJ

MAZDA People United - it continues here

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 28th, 2008, 4:53 pm

^^^ Cool - will try it next time I buy oil filters.

Automotive Supplies are on Charles Street. It's the street behind Sterling Motors (Mercedes Benz building) on Sackville Street, just off Wrightson Road.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 28th, 2008, 6:18 pm

Hawk and EBC is around $75 online. Gavin's said he usually stocks Raybestos. Didn't get on to Minicity to check what they have.

I know bout the Silver. Used them on the old 323 and it used to make noise like an ole cortina in traffic from POS. Strangely enuf, my pops uses this on the B15 and he has no issues...yet.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 28th, 2008, 6:23 pm

red bwoy wrote:never seen them for my car but my technician in el socorro has raybestos sells at about 500.00 ah set for de front for my car not sure if de stock bj caliper is cheaper

Out of curiosity..what brake setup you using for the front?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » March 28th, 2008, 6:36 pm

Used the Bosch and was not impressed at all. Cant remember exactly... but there was lotsa brake fade.
Used GIC and was very happy with those.
Used Daishin after that. Sold the car shortly after, so cant say how well those were.

And doh forget.. K&N Oil filters for $85 if all yuh want.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 28th, 2008, 10:13 pm

Thinking Mintex. Saw good things bout them on a mazda forum and is the only thing goodish i can find locally apart from the raybestos.
Will price at T'dad Brake and Clutch.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 29th, 2008, 6:01 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
red bwoy wrote:never seen them for my car but my technician in el socorro has raybestos sells at about 500.00 ah set for de front for my car not sure if de stock bj caliper is cheaper

Out of curiosity..what brake setup you using for the front?

have de same set up as de us spec bj 10.2" rotors front and rear de caliper in front is actually de same as de local mx-6 not sure about de rear calipers de only other car ive seen dem on is de sport 20

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 29th, 2008, 8:35 pm

ah, i see *takes notes*

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 30th, 2008, 11:42 am

oh yeah de lantis caliper and rotors works on de bj front as well not sure how much if any mods need to be done

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 30th, 2008, 6:32 pm

Fellas i havin some issues.

Got springs from TSC. No issues with those.
Front gives a great drop but the back remains up in the air.
The forkin SDM 323 so dam high inna the bak that with the drop, it still 2" higher than the front.

Can anyone tell me if the shock longer than the JDM version or is the spring perch higher or some other nonesense?

I have seen these springs on JDM and seen pics of USDM BJs and its fine.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 31st, 2008, 1:40 pm

look at my car in tuner rides the side on picture thats with de original springs want tuh get some siffer ones but i think they're taller i n the back than my original

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 31st, 2008, 2:28 pm

saw it. Thats where mine (the back) end up with the Megan springs :|

My front is where it should be with lowering springs.
Any ideas on the back shocks?

On another note...that engine.... :twisted:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 31st, 2008, 4:27 pm

red bwoy, i sure u does fool real men with that car boy, , a lil civic creep up on d side here, a lil b14 on the side there, ,,wicked, u ha dat stock look , an jus eatin up d road ent?,,i currently lookin in to getin that mazda 3 engine tuned, the thing is the svt in d 3 tuned for efficiency, while in d zl-ve is for power, so i believe it plenty to be unlocked yet, and when i do, :twisted:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 31st, 2008, 5:12 pm

:twisted: :twisted: lol from wnht i read de 3 has som bigger engines de best bein de 2.3l turbo in mazdaspeed 3 had ah sport compact car mag wid a full review on it that sheit is supposed tuh be quickmy car still has far to go to be ah killer still need de following parts for my full potential..................................

greddy v-manage
dc sports headers
rising rate fpr
fuel pump
exhaust cam (adjustable)
gear box
an last but not least ah lighter driver ah too damn heavy :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 31st, 2008, 5:50 pm

ermmm...fellas focus focus...the springs...

if i cant get a fix i goin an pull out the grinder and allyuh go blaze me fuh dat.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » March 31st, 2008, 8:34 pm

check suspex they have some system they use to lower vehicles using shorter shocks not sure waht dey do but ah friend oh mine has ah fielder on 20's that they dropped de ride is "nice" for 20's just like when you use 17's on stock shocks and springs

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » April 1st, 2008, 6:05 am

^^^ You sure they don't drop the spring perch?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 1st, 2008, 11:53 am

boi i not sure waht dey does do but it does ride aight not sure about de performance aspect either

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » April 1st, 2008, 2:12 pm

Somehow I feel that is what they does do.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 1st, 2008, 8:45 pm

I was thinkin bout that but how can the oil NOT boil when rewelding?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 1st, 2008, 10:29 pm

asked my bro he confirmed thats waht dry do drop the spring perch

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » April 2nd, 2008, 5:44 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:I was thinkin bout that but how can the oil NOT boil when rewelding?

Was thinking the same thing myself.

villain

Postby villain » April 3rd, 2008, 7:06 pm

One pad I've used on my BJ and am VERY satisfied with are Bosch. They are available from Automotive Supplies Ltd, and last time I bought (last year) it was about $115. Very decent pad for that price - can't go wrong. :wink:[/quote]

the bosch ...ordinary one or the semi metalic one...if its the ordinary one ...that is shiet...i using that now and if you see brake dust and it dont hold as well as wagner...i now buy back meh wagner to put back on

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » April 3rd, 2008, 7:23 pm

i not gettin wagner for my calipers at all wanted tuh try them but de raybestops works fuh me my rear pads almos gone lookin fuh ah reall good bran de las one ah get noisy when it gettin low

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 3rd, 2008, 7:33 pm

yeah, i lookin for rear pads for d bj as well..never changed b4, anybody come across anything lemme know.

villain

Postby villain » April 4th, 2008, 12:43 pm

red bwoy wrote:asked my bro he confirmed thats waht dry do drop the spring perch

redos....either use the japanese shocks fro the back..they shorter than sinapore... or use the sport 20 shocks for the back.... direct fitting...

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 4th, 2008, 6:58 pm

Confirmed that the JDM back shock shorter.

Goin to get me 2 FU ones tomorrow.

Wanted the Tociko HPs but that will have to wait a few months and it make no sense gettin new shocks @ $570 each for just a few months use.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » April 6th, 2008, 11:16 am

How you does know the difference between the JDM and the SDM shocks?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 6th, 2008, 12:55 pm

In my case, JDM shock body 1 1/2 inch shorter hence spring perch is lower and extended length is shorter. Same bolt up otherwise.

When i tell the man is for the SDM he say dont bother the back will drop :D

^xcalibur^

Postby ^xcalibur^ » April 6th, 2008, 2:44 pm

Strugglerzinc, where u located bro? wanna see some of the upgrades u did.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 6th, 2008, 8:01 pm

No upgrades yet except what you see here...and even then some aren't what i would call upgrades :lol: its a long road but i'll get there in time.

Return to “MAZDA”