The Mazda 3 thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Re: The Mazda 3 thread

Postby noshownogo » February 26th, 2013, 3:23 pm

Groovemaster wrote:I guess mileage mack told you that u need the kit because of a bent arm

you must be psychic cus they said the very same thing when I took the wifey care to align :lol:

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » February 26th, 2013, 11:49 pm

As ghostbusters said the car came from the factory with negative camber

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » February 27th, 2013, 12:52 am

Connecting CAI to throttle body for the 1.6L MZ3. Came out ok...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/xnexusx/85 ... /lightbox/

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 28th, 2013, 8:28 am

moar pics!

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » February 28th, 2013, 8:51 pm

Soon. The intake itself should be here tomorrow. Have to go and get a K&N high flow filter one time.

Postby Stephon. » March 2nd, 2013, 8:20 pm

I been digging around in my Mazda 3 recently and reading posts on Mazda forums and checking Amazon for after market stuff only to realize that most of the stuff in and around the car is just plug and play and can be easily installed.

Considering getting one of these decks:
http://www.amazon.com/Replacement-Touch ... 10+mazda+3
But the Nav would be a waste seeing that we live in Trinidad. Wish I could put Waze on it somehow :lol:

Also thinking of getting one of these spoilers.
http://www.carid.com/2010-mazda-3-spoil ... 94075.html

Some mud flaps:
http://www.amazon.com/Powerflow-6401-Pr ... +mud+flaps

And some wing mirrors with indicators:
http://www.amazon.com/TYC-6100151-Mazda ... a+3+mirror

Right now I just window shopping tho and probably won't get around to any of this stuff till later this year tho.

Anyone know of any other sites that sell stuff for the Mazda 3 that you won't get from the SSS?

Was also thinking of getting some reverse sensors but I am kind of turned off by the look of them on cars. For some reason, I don't mind how they look on SUVs and vans but it kind of looks ugly on the bumpers of cars imo.

The ones on this one looks really nice tho, maybe because of how he mixed and matched the colours

Postby Rooki3 » March 2nd, 2013, 8:34 pm

gps may wrk, i've seen garmins wid trini maps

Postby Stephon. » March 2nd, 2013, 9:02 pm

Rooki3 wrote:gps may wrk, i've seen garmins wid trini maps

That's a chance I'm taking tho lol, would have to research some more

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » March 2nd, 2013, 9:27 pm

CAI complete. Funny thing is we forgot about the bypass valve and I will need one, so I'll have to cut it again.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/xnexusx/85 ... /lightbox/

konartis

Postby konartis » March 3rd, 2013, 7:22 pm

having a problem with my air bag light, it stays on after the car is running, but not all the time...somtimes it come off and somtimes it doesnt, anyone had that issue and can mabe provide me with a fix?

Postby Stephon. » March 5th, 2013, 1:29 pm

Quick question, anyone know the VIN number of the "Smiley Face" (not the current model without the sunroof) model Mazda 3? I checked but it's in Japanese and I dunno how to read Japanese.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 6th, 2013, 11:15 am

konartis wrote:having a problem with my air bag light, it stays on after the car is running, but not all the time...somtimes it come off and somtimes it doesnt, anyone had that issue and can mabe provide me with a fix?

sounds like a bad srs sensor. How often does it come on?

konartis

Postby konartis » March 6th, 2013, 3:49 pm

ghostbusters wrote:
konartis wrote:having a problem with my air bag light, it stays on after the car is running, but not all the time...somtimes it come off and somtimes it doesnt, anyone had that issue and can mabe provide me with a fix?

it doesnt come on too often, mabe one every week or mabe longer,

Postby Rainman » March 6th, 2013, 5:24 pm

konartis wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:

With car off and in this order:
Remove Harness Under Both front and passenger seats
Remove negative Battery Terminal
Pull up center console (where the handbrake adjuster is) there is a SRS control module, remove the harnesses and re-seat them immediately.
Plug back in the harnesses under the seats.
Replace negative terminal
Start car, take a drive and see if it comes back on.

Had a similar problem and this fixed it.

konartis

Postby konartis » March 7th, 2013, 10:35 pm

Rainman wrote:
konartis wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:

With car off and in this order:
Remove Harness Under Both front and passenger seats
Remove negative Battery Terminal
Pull up center console (where the handbrake adjuster is) there is a SRS control module, remove the harnesses and re-seat them immediately.
Plug back in the harnesses under the seats.
Replace negative terminal
Start car, take a drive and see if it comes back on.

Had a similar problem and this fixed it.

ahh...thanks rainman... thought u abandoned us! :lol: will try it this weekend and post back results...

speedist

Postby speedist » March 11th, 2013, 9:52 am

To the Mazda 3 veterans: I notice there are models from 2004 up to 2009(not sure). Is there any real difference between them besides being local or foreign, or engine size? Also is local better than foreign or.....? Starting to wonder if this car is out of my reach.

Postby Team Loco » March 11th, 2013, 11:01 am

guys, as you all know i am new to the mazda 3. its only a week now i have been driving one. i must say its a joy to drive and handles the road like waw. plus i have run flats on mine so the cornering is superb. just a couple noob questions:

can i use super fuel?
no matter how i position and lock the jack in place, it rattles. is this normal?
what is the recommended spark plugs to use and what type? iridium etc?
what is the correct grade of oil?

btw, its a local pch doing 72000kms

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 11th, 2013, 12:47 pm

speedist wrote:To the Mazda 3 veterans: I notice there are models from 2004 up to 2009(not sure). Is there any real difference between them besides being local or foreign, or engine size? Also is local better than foreign or.....? Starting to wonder if this car is out of my reach.

local 2004 to 2009 model have no differences except:

2004-2005 model have red rear tail-light lenses
2005-2007 model have clear tail-light lenses showing the jewel lights with red stop lights. This model got the auto lights/auto wipers option
2007-2009 model same as 05-07 model except the actual stop lights are all clear (lenses) colours mainly noticeable when brakes are applied etc..This model has a refreshed front with the chrome grille and the instrument cluster has a white background. Lastly, this model got a 16" rim change for the worse.

Same 1.6 engine/transmission in all models. Same overall car as the 2009-present smiley face version except the electro power-assisted steering.

The Singapore versions look just like the USDM with the extended bumpers both front and rear, the inclusion of the side flair kit, 17" star rims and rear disc brakes as well as the leather seats. Very few came with sunroof from Singapore.

The JDM Axela are mostly 1.5 with rear drum brakes. If you are thinking of JDM, that car requires a lot of accessories to elevate it from such a 'dry' state. The MZR 1.5 appears to have more HP than the MZR 1.6 :lol:

Let us help you some more by first clarifying what you meant by saying it might be out of your reach?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 11th, 2013, 1:01 pm

Team Loco wrote:guys, as you all know i am new to the mazda 3. its only a week now i have been driving one. i must say its a joy to drive and handles the road like waw. plus i have run flats on mine so the cornering is superb. just a couple noob questions:

can i use super fuel? yes
no matter how i position and lock the jack in place, it rattles. is this normal?no
what is the recommended spark plugs to use and what type? iridium etc? Denso SK16PR-E11 or IK16 or VK16 or SK16PR-E11
what is the correct grade of oil? 10W-30 is fine...

Postby S_2NR » March 11th, 2013, 1:20 pm

Team Loco wrote:guys, as you all know i am new to the mazda 3. its only a week now i have been driving one. i must say its a joy to drive and handles the road like waw. plus i have run flats on mine so the cornering is superb. just a couple noob questions:

can i use super fuel?
no matter how i position and lock the jack in place, it rattles. is this normal?

I won't recommend u use super.

speedist

Postby speedist » March 11th, 2013, 1:30 pm

It seems very much like a luxury car imo. I always wanted one with a sunroof, just wondering if it hard/costly to maintain. I eh have no wife and chile to mind but I want to make sure i could maintain it like my last car. Had a 2.0 lantis but priorities and parts scarcity cut my project short. :(

Postby Stephon. » March 11th, 2013, 7:11 pm

My 2010/11 had a knocking sound coming from the back maybe left side of the vehicle, I called my boy in SS and he said that it's a common problem and it's actually always been there but it was so faint before that I couldn't hear it and now it's louder so I can hear it now :/

So anyhow, fast-forward, I carried my car to them so they can fix it. They said they fix it and I "good tuh go man". I get on the highway and I hear the same noise. Jeez. The music plays OVER the noise but the fact that it's there is so annoying.

Allyuh never had this problem? Seeing that they told me that it's common

EDIT: Now got off the phone with my same "boy" and he say the vehicle might just need a 4 wheel alignment and to camber .. wtf dread :?

speedist

Postby speedist » March 11th, 2013, 7:57 pm

Love the 2010 Mazda 3, looks kind of like an RX but its own style. Are there any sky activ models in trini?

Postby noshownogo » March 11th, 2013, 8:13 pm

stephon, I thinking a possible shock mount or bushing (stabilizer/sway bar) in the rear causing the noise, but that's a guess based on past experience.

speedist, no skyactiv mazda3's from the dealer atm.

konartis

Postby konartis » March 11th, 2013, 8:40 pm

S_2NR wrote:

can i use super fuel?

I won't recommend u use super.
i have the 2005 mazda3 local, easy to maintain, and yes...super works fine...no problems at all and the gas economy is really good...amsoil 10W30 same for the transmission...amsoil tranny fluid

konartis

Postby konartis » March 11th, 2013, 8:44 pm

Stephon. wrote:My 2010/11 had a knocking sound coming from the back maybe left side of the vehicle, I called my boy in SS and he said that it's a common problem and it's actually always been there but it was so faint before that I couldn't hear it and now it's louder so I can hear it now :/

So anyhow, fast-forward, I carried my car to them so they can fix it. They said they fix it and I "good tuh go man". I get on the highway and I hear the same noise. Jeez. The music plays OVER the noise but the fact that it's there is so annoying.

Allyuh never had this problem? Seeing that they told me that it's common

EDIT: Now got off the phone with my same "boy" and he say the vehicle might just need a 4 wheel alignment and to camber .. wtf dread :?

i have that same issue...years now...lol, post back if u ever fix it

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 13th, 2013, 11:18 am

acesinghit wrote:

can i use super fuel? yes
no matter how i position and lock the jack in place, it rattles. is this normal?no
what is the recommended spark plugs to use and what type? iridium etc? Denso SK16PR-E11 or IK16 or VK16 or SK16PR-E11
what is the correct grade of oil? 10W-30 is fine...

Its been discussed here, that folks running super encounter knocking. Its not recommended. Chances are that our gas is overrated.

Postby noshownogo » March 13th, 2013, 12:45 pm

I running Super for the past two years, no problems. No knocking, no apparent performance degradation etc. I clean my injectors and TB once a year and use no fuel additives.

Also had a fleet running the same Super for 3yrs where my brother works and never an issue.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 13th, 2013, 1:31 pm

^^^exactly...

The local INZ-FE corolla requires premium as well as the HR16DE Tiida. Thousands of people I am sure put super gas and to-date no obvious problems. Many of which I am sure you know personally like family/friends/co-workers etc... Those cars are so popular including the Mazda 3 and you see what people filling their tanks with when you go to the gas station yourself. It amazes me when users of this forum say no with such conviction without understanding what is actually being done.

Postby Team Loco » March 13th, 2013, 3:21 pm

decided i am gonna run a 50/50 mix. will try my best to run premium .

Return to “MAZDA”