The Mazda 3 thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

originalbling

Re: The Mazda 3 thread

Postby originalbling » June 17th, 2011, 11:09 am

Fellas, on mornings only i am getting a "hard start" . its a 2007 roro model.

the dealer said it carries a high pressure fuel pump so I have to turn the ignition on for about 10seconds then start.

I tried this and same thing - it starts but sputtering, then I turn off and turn back on again and it starts fine. I have to take it back to them to check, but anyone have ideas about this?

Postby noshownogo » June 17th, 2011, 4:03 pm

check a couple pages back for my similar issue, might find some help.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 17th, 2011, 5:03 pm

originalbling wrote:Fellas, on mornings only i am getting a "hard start" . its a 2007 roro model.

the dealer said it carries a high pressure fuel pump so I have to turn the ignition on for about 10seconds then start.

I tried this and same thing - it starts but sputtering, then I turn off and turn back on again and it starts fine. I have to take it back to them to check, but anyone have ideas about this?

the dealer talking BS, clean your injectors and MAF sensor. change ur air filter.

marlon333

Postby marlon333 » June 19th, 2011, 1:06 pm

originalbling wrote:Fellas, on mornings only i am getting a "hard start" . its a 2007 roro model.

Dude unless your car is a diesel engine you don't need to hold the ignition 10 seconds before you start (hopefully the dealer knew that). Check pages 16-18 from this thread, it was discussed before.

Postby Rainman » June 19th, 2011, 2:11 pm

Guys, my oil drain plug is showing some signs of wear around the bolt, i want to change this out on next oil change, I was thinking that i would try one of those magnetic oil drain plugs; does anyone here use or have experiences with it and if so which model/type did you go with?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 19th, 2011, 4:53 pm

I have one of the magnetic plugs.
No specific Brand . Been using it for a couple years. Never seen any cuttings on it , But i know the magnet works. Dont realy see the need for it
Obtained my from ebay.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 23rd, 2011, 9:34 pm

http://store.awrracing.com/products/Adj ... -Bars.html

a set of awr rear end links for the mazda 3. new brand , never used, still in the box, $600 non negotiable, hit me a pm.

In 2 Deep

Postby In 2 Deep » June 23rd, 2011, 11:34 pm

ghostbusters wrote:http://store.awrracing.com/products/Adjustable-Sway-Bar-End-Links-%252d-Mazda3-Mazdaspeed3-2004%252d2009-%252d-Rear-%252d-Aftermarket-Sway-Bars.html

a set of awr rear end links for the mazda 3. new brand , never used, still in the box, $600 non negotiable, hit me a pm.

i want it asap send contact plz

Postby Rainman » June 25th, 2011, 5:29 pm

uh-oh it's rear camber time for me. Tyres starting to get triangle shaped :|

Share your experiences people.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 25th, 2011, 7:50 pm

gotta rotate every 7000kms, with a lowered vehicle, gotta rotate sooner...

Postby Rainman » June 25th, 2011, 11:26 pm

Gotta get that negative camber corrected, do we have to get a kit or can it be adjusted as is?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 26th, 2011, 8:50 am

the car has negative camber from the factory, it can be re calibrated to the factory camber. There are aftermarket camber arms but they are more for lowered vehicles to maintain the factory spec negative camber.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 27th, 2011, 3:59 pm

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?format ... -Bars.html

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » June 27th, 2011, 4:48 pm

Question...Are Mazda3's capable of adjusting rear camber without any kind of mod, or do you have to first install a camber kit to make it possible?...And if you do have to install a camber kit, how hard is it?

My reason for asking is because I'm about to lower the car using the Eibach Pro kit and I want to try and maintain the factory camber settings.

Any ideas/advice?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 27th, 2011, 5:05 pm

yeah, you need to buy the aftermarket rear camber arms, either that or rotate every 4000-5000 kms, ther is some camber adjustment i think, but not so much to compensate for lowering springs, i have eibach springs, they are sweet once broken in, stiff at first though, good purchase

Postby noshownogo » June 27th, 2011, 8:28 pm

ghostbusters wrote:a set of awr rear end links for the mazda 3. new brand , never used, still in the box, $600 non negotiable, hit me a pm.

gonna check a noise i have in the rear, if it's related i'll take it once they still available

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » June 28th, 2011, 12:08 am

ghostbusters wrote:yeah, you need to buy the aftermarket rear camber arms, either that or rotate every 4000-5000 kms, ther is some camber adjustment i think, but not so much to compensate for lowering springs, i have eibach springs, they are sweet once broken in, stiff at first though, good purchase

Yeah I took the advice of a friend, but he has the H&R SS springs. About a 2.5 inch drop. Looks very nice, but his camber is ridiculous. I not going through that with tires even though my drop is not as severe.
So a set of Megan Racing or SPC camber arms will be all I need, no machine shop work?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 28th, 2011, 7:20 am

correct, no machine shop work, just the rear adjustable camber arms

xNeXuSx

Postby xNeXuSx » June 28th, 2011, 1:53 pm

Nice. Thanks for the help ghostbusters.

axis

Postby axis » June 29th, 2011, 10:48 pm

Hey guys.....i new to this thread...having a lil problem wit meh M3.....ah getting an annoying noise at the rear of the vehice it sounding like it something knocking..any idea wa it cud be......ah also wa replace the camber arms and some of the bushings with some performance stuff....can an 1 help where to go to get preformance part for the 3????

Postby Rainman » June 30th, 2011, 12:01 am

axis wrote:Hey guys.....i new to this thread...having a lil problem wit meh M3.....ah getting an annoying noise at the rear of the vehice it sounding like it something knocking..any idea wa it cud be......ah also wa replace the camber arms and some of the bushings with some performance stuff....can an 1 help where to go to get preformance part for the 3????

rear end links

axis

Postby axis » June 30th, 2011, 10:14 am

Thanks for the info......what about the other stuff???any idea where i can locate them??????

Postby Rainman » July 1st, 2011, 2:16 pm

Have a proper assessment done on the suspension and brakes first, don't start changing everything until u find the problem. You can get original suspension parts at SS or Federal.

bgh

Postby bgh » July 2nd, 2011, 9:34 pm

2hd wrote:anybody interested in or have ever changed the factory installed deck?

check out my wifey install...

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=224933&hilit=mazda+3

2hd

Postby 2hd » July 4th, 2011, 3:56 pm

bgh wrote:
2hd wrote:anybody interested in or have ever changed the factory installed deck?

check out my wifey install...

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=224933&hilit=mazda+3

i bought the exact dash kit but aint install yet

Postby noshownogo » July 21st, 2011, 7:51 am

For the most part my suspension sorted out with some rear rubbers and front shock mounts being replaced, but I still hear a knock in the front when coming out of a car park with a small drop, so the suspension in the front has a shift in weight. Any ideas?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 21st, 2011, 6:13 pm

either front endlink or swaybar bushing?. The shock mounts repairable, you didnt need to replace them, just get a thick grease and buy some bicycle bearings for the balls and u on...

Postby Rainman » July 22nd, 2011, 2:42 pm

can anyone confirm whether or not rotors from the 2.0 3 can work on the 1.6, cousin of mine has a brand new set that he's willing to give me for free.

Postby noshownogo » July 22nd, 2011, 5:14 pm

I believe it's the same size (10.9"), the 2.3 L MZR I4 has larger rotors tho (11.8")

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 23rd, 2011, 6:58 pm

2.0 i from the US uses the same pads so i guess the rotors are the same as well...

Return to “MAZDA”