nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 28th, 2009, 10:13 pm

looks good man!

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » November 28th, 2009, 10:34 pm

Looks like stock........like you trying to make a sleeper. NICE!!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 30th, 2009, 1:12 pm

how does it perform?, looks good...

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 2nd, 2009, 8:34 am

So far i cant comment on gas consumption. Battery was disconnected several times over the last few days so still in the relearn process.

Dont know if there is any top end improvement as the roads have not been empty enough to go WOT for any significant period of time. Not really concerned about the top speed anyway as i usually dont cross 140 km/hr :oops:

The improvement is in the manner in which the car gets to the 140 mark. Torque *seems* to have improved quite a bit.

Its not a matter of me now "mashing out" harder as i have always floored it to get anywhere.

What is alarming is that i heard the car from the outside today for the first time as my wife drove away. She drives just as hard as i do and the blasted exhaust is QUITE loud on hard acceleration.

At the shop and until this point, i only heard it from inside the car which is quiet and just slightly louder than stock sounding but i was like WTF this morning from outside.

Will be looking at some additional methods of quieting it down while still maintaining my free flow...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 2nd, 2009, 10:41 am

nice, i just came into posession of an autoexe exhaust and will be re-doing the exhaust system soon, Strugglerz, u'd previously commented that that mandrel bends were 150 each, where is that? i want a couple to re-do mine, thanks

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 2nd, 2009, 11:18 am

Strugglerzinc you have got a CAI also?

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 2nd, 2009, 1:07 pm

ghostbusters wrote:nice, i just came into posession of an autoexe exhaust and will be re-doing the exhaust system soon, Strugglerz, u'd previously commented that that mandrel bends were 150 each, where is that? i want a couple to re-do mine, thanks

At Greene's in California

nareshseep wrote:Strugglerzinc you have got a CAI also?

No not yet, just the K&N panel

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 4th, 2009, 1:10 pm

thanks, i will check it out, main road? muffler shop or parts place, thanks

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 4th, 2009, 2:24 pm

ghostbusters wrote:thanks, i will check it out, main road? muffler shop or parts place, thanks

Road before the California Gas Station on the left heading south along the main road. Sign saying R.Greene's. Its a muffler shop.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 4th, 2009, 2:46 pm

great thanks alot, will check it out.

mingrio

Postby mingrio » December 11th, 2009, 12:58 pm

the original exhaust system that came with the ZLVE engines in the BJ hatch is it any way similar in performance to a 2 inch exhaust system?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 12th, 2009, 11:20 am

I running that right now (stock rs) with CAI and pulls good I get my 180 in 4th gear, spoke to a guy by name of Andrew from south who built bigger headers (imraj) and 2.25 exhaust and man tell me he was getting 230 km from that.

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 6th, 2010, 11:36 pm

red bwoy,Strugglerzinc,Protege 2NR, do u guys know if the double light headlight will work on the single light bj 323. the headlight pic in Protege 2NR, is the double healight i talking bout and the headlight that Strugglerzinc, what working on is the single head light on i talking bout.

help a new comer out

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 7th, 2010, 6:16 am

it will work but u have some minor electrical work to do to reconnect the different jacks for the high and low beams when you buy the double headlight make sure and get the both jacks on the light

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 7th, 2010, 9:53 am

what he said ^^ just the internals are different. external dimensions are the same.

you dont even need an electrician if you are a DIYer.

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 7th, 2010, 7:53 pm

i could do it myself thanks for the info any one know where i could get a pair of these headlights to buy of if anyone would like to trade this for the single type?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 8th, 2010, 9:30 pm

um wasnt the double designed for for stock HID application? i think it was...could be wrong tho...dont know if that would affect anything.

FaLLeN AnGeL

Postby FaLLeN AnGeL » January 8th, 2010, 11:34 pm

ghostbusters, what u mean stock HID application? i saw that somewhere before does that mean that this headlight came with a HID system installed? didn't know that they did this to 323's

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 9th, 2010, 9:30 am

yes, the double headlight setup came on the late sport 20 s model and the mazdaspeed familia and the fieldbreak edition of the 323, all were closeout models, special editions basically, yeah they came with HIDs installed

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 21st, 2010, 9:11 pm

So i finally got my exhaust pipes changed out, and also got the autoEXE barrel installed, will post pics tomorrow, gotta say, the sound is great, the tone is so low that the roof of the house vibrates when I'm pulling out of the garage, pretty quiet and the improvement in power is great, I'm hitting 180 too easily with more room to press the X, i did 2.25" throughout, crush bent, but i must say that the bends dont crimp very much, and since both the stock and aftermarket exhaust manifolds outlet is 2 inches, i think my system sould be able to make use of the scavenging effect.

the exhaust gases are exiting the muffler are considerably hotter than before, and i had a straight through muffler before so that says alot i think.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 24th, 2010, 1:34 pm

^^^ **in best Mr. Burns voice** Excellent

On another note. If you need balancing for your tires, i recommend Aranguez Alignment Centre.

They were able to sort out a vibrating tire in their first try after several other big names selling Toyo and Goodyear tires could not.

They use John Bean equipment by Snap-On tools rather than the Hunter that everyone else uses.

I will be going back for alignment after fixing some busted bushings. Hopefully i wont get screwed then... :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 31st, 2010, 5:29 pm

If you've ever wondered what the inside of a stock muffler looks like. This is the one i took out.

I've put arrows showing the flow of your exhaust gas

Closer. As you can see, the gas flows directly into the baffles at every pipe with 4 3/16 holes where they hit.

If you think your engine needs restriction then you gotta get one of these. :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 11th, 2010, 1:32 pm

Got one of these on sale to replace the shiddy resonator i got from the shop at the time

Just for some scale, 31" long 3.5" diameter, 2" in and out.

As tall as a dining table...

Internals, nice uniform perforations throughout. The one from the shop looks like someone punched the holes with a nail and hammer...seriously :|

Don't expect any gains, just the knowledge that its complete with proper parts.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 11th, 2010, 2:28 pm

^^ did to resonator make your exhaust quieter?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 11th, 2010, 3:45 pm

that look like it'll be loud Strugglerz, i used a ovel type resonator in mine too, the quality dont look so tops in the resonator i used, but i figure it'll hafta do for now, the one i used looks like this

but is not a magnaflow...i took pics on my phone, but i dont have a data cable, ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 11th, 2010, 6:56 pm

If by itself it'll be loud.

What i have now is 18" long and not nearly as perforated as this one with bits protruding into the flow.

I'll be using it as a resonator along with the existing Dynomax...physics says it cant be louder than what i have now :mrgreen:

Lets hope i'm right... :| This has been sitting around for awhile...no time to install.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 11th, 2010, 7:25 pm

lol, physics ent fail yet

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » April 11th, 2010, 9:05 pm

stock muffler is real sheit :!:

libra

Postby libra » April 11th, 2010, 10:14 pm

mazdamig wrote:stock muffler is real sheit :!:
yup lol .... i put one of the megan racing muffler what TSC has on tuner that sounds real nice and looks kinda oem

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » April 11th, 2010, 10:28 pm

libra, how much for the megan racing muffler :?:

Return to “MAZDA”