Cost of transmission for ZL-VE.

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Wildcard26

Cost of transmission for ZL-VE.

Postby Wildcard26 » December 8th, 2009, 8:04 pm

Hey now I have not gotten a full diagnosis of the patient yet but as they say "Hope for the best, prepare for the worst. So I wanted to find out the going rate for a transmission for a BJ ZL-VE. Thanks for the info.

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » December 9th, 2009, 8:51 pm

Wildcard26, dont waste your money on a transmission get a gearbox. :!:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 10th, 2009, 7:32 am

Give this guy a call 3952768 (Iboe)
suppose to be in the range 2000-3500,
what problems you getting, there is a guy is in longdenville "glasses transmission repairs" who does great work also. sorry dont have a number for him right now.

But does not the zl-ve comes with tiptronic? ever changed the fluid, it must be changed on a regular basis eg every 3-4 engine oil changes. Speak to Maztune he rebuild his tiptronic using a normal transmission.

Or go gearbox and like urself.

villain

Postby villain » December 10th, 2009, 12:55 pm

naresheep where you went to wire up your zl-ve?

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » December 10th, 2009, 6:53 pm

Thanks I appreciate it fellas. Can't go gear box even if I wanted too cause the wife doesn't mind palancing in my car ever so often. I have no problem with that either as it gives me a chance to watch the thing in action ( the car that is :D ) and she doesn't want to learn gears.

Naresh, yeah it tiptronic man, I spoke to Maztune some time and he told me to go gear box. I going to change the tranny fluid ever so often. The problem I am getting is that the car is really dead to pull off when it is now started like in the morning; even in tip mode; or off for like a while like during the day. Going to do a oil change this weekend to see what the deal is as there is some speculation as to a seal may be the issue in the tranny. I can't afford for the car to be down for too long and be too far from me is I have to get the job done but if I have no choice then

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 10th, 2009, 9:00 pm

Wildcard26 wrote:Thanks I appreciate it fellas. Can't go gear box even if I wanted too cause the wife doesn't mind palancing in my car ever so often. I have no problem with that either as it gives me a chance to watch the thing in action ( the car that is :D ) and she doesn't want to learn gears.

I can relate.. wifey does drive harder than me. When she drop me in the morning and i blink twice she done gone :|

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » December 12th, 2009, 7:26 am

Yeah, boy wifey foot lil heavy. She have the ZM. lol

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 12th, 2009, 11:23 am

zm have better pull of, so if you comparing it to the zl-ve, the zl will seem sluggish, a zm with a gearbox is fun!

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » December 13th, 2009, 4:54 pm

Yeah, the ZM really have a better pull off and imagine I used to find that was lazy. I am glad you confirmed that as I was wondering about it today.

So I did a Tranny Oil change using Castrol as I figure I didn't have the Redline money and would use that next time if the problem persists....and the problems persists so it looks like I have to head by a Tranny Man for the diagnosis.

I was talking to some fast car men and the were telling me about putting a little brake fluid in the tranny for the possible seal, anyone ever hear about that?

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 15th, 2009, 7:55 am

^^ you have to ask yourself what will brake fluid will do to the tranny fluid. Heck...if it could strip paint....who knows

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » December 15th, 2009, 9:08 pm

They said that it would help the seals to stay expanded. That is why I am checking with the gurus here to hear what you have to say.

What about transmission fluid treatment?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 16th, 2009, 12:04 am

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » December 16th, 2009, 7:56 pm

Thanks naresh but the man mentioned that the tranny needs servicing, so best I service mine instead.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 16th, 2009, 9:42 pm

got true with Glasses transmission repairs?

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » December 17th, 2009, 9:07 pm

Nah waiting until after the Xmas it have me busy and spending money I need.

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » January 3rd, 2010, 10:14 pm

Ok so since before I say let me check the tranny cause it bother in meh....Change the tranny oil and use Castrol;...doh worry MAZTUNE I will link yuh for the Redline but you know with trouble shooting how it goes. That didn't work..Apparently I can't say te details of the man who I buy the car from mech or if is him but I decided to take downt the Coil Packs to check it out and the plugs and one coil pack had a dry rot rod with electrical tape mind you and the plugs was messed up like dat...that didn't work..but I hit the car some Wynn's Transgrip and try it this morning and zoom out of the drive way right as it start. Happy like pappy if it is only temporary even. So all in all plugs changed, had an extra coil pack laying around so slap that in; and it was new too plus a a little cleaning love; and new spark plugs......

Now I think my back springs need checking or I need to roll in the back fender from touching with a full load. lol

Thanks all Mazda men for chiming in once again cause I know I can rely on allyuh.

Have a aluminum billet grille and other small "look" mods to do soon. as for the tranny oil cooler I not sure if I will do that yet.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 3rd, 2010, 11:59 pm

^^ change the tranny oil often, tranny seems to be a weak point in these cars. the oil cooler will help prolong the life of the tranny. Happy that you got your car sorted out. What plugs did you get?

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » January 4th, 2010, 11:34 am

I just slap in some NGK for the trouble shooting but will sort it all out once I go forward and do every thing. This will be Redline Tranny fluid, Tranny oil cooler and the plugs. I also suspecting a oil leak from the head.

Return to “MAZDA”