The Mazda 3 thread

MAZDA People United - it continues here

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 27th, 2009, 1:23 pm

Hey guys, I saw a couple pages back in this thread where ghostbusters said the only brake pads he found locally for the MZ3 were from SS and mintex.

I know I might be kinda late :oops: , but I found MZ3 pads available from Automotive Supplies for $465 - Munroe brand. Not sure if they're any good, but nice to have more alternatives never the less.

Also saw where rainman posted the link below showing part numbers for EBC pads for the 1.6L MZ3.

http://www.ebcbrakesdirect.com/car/part ... 04-2005%29

I checked the part numbers for the US 3i (2.0L) model, and they were the same part numbers for the front and rear. I guess this means that the front pads for the US 2.0L 3i model can work on our 1.6L, so this gives me much more variety to choose from.

Still haven't found any local alternatives for spark plugs or suspension parts (shocks, bushings, bearings, etc) as yet though :(

Just realised that I can maybe try Mc Enearney Motors for parts, as the Focus and 3 are supposed to be the same mechanically. Any thoughts?

Postby Rainman » September 27th, 2009, 2:13 pm

dredman1 wrote:Hey guys, I saw a couple pages back in this thread where ghostbusters said the only brake pads he found locally for the MZ3 were from SS and mintex.

I know I might be kinda late :oops: , but I found MZ3 pads available from Automotive Supplies for $465 - Munroe brand. Not sure if they're any good, but nice to have more alternatives never the less.

Also saw where rainman posted the link below showing part numbers for EBC pads for the 1.6L MZ3.

http://www.ebcbrakesdirect.com/car/part ... 04-2005%29

I checked the part numbers for the US 3i (2.0L) model, and they were the same part numbers for the front and rear. I guess this means that the front pads for the US 2.0L 3i model can work on our 1.6L, so this gives me much more variety to choose from.

Still haven't found any local alternatives for spark plugs or suspension parts (shocks, bushings, bearings, etc) as yet though :(

Just realised that I can maybe try Mc Enearney Motors for parts, as the Focus and 3 are supposed to be the same mechanically. Any thoughts?

plugs i use are ngk BKR5EIX-11 they're iridium plugs, can be found at Sherriff's on cipero street.

for now suspension parts can be found at southern sales. i personally like the ride with the factory shock absorber.

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » September 27th, 2009, 2:21 pm

rainman wrote:the mzr engines use timing chains, chain and tensioner only available at SS as far as i know. Does your timing chain need changing?

i know it uses timing chains
but manual says it needs changing if necessary (it creaking up n making noise)
ah pass through ah lil flood water recently
not so high
but high enough to reach that point
some people says it need changing
some says it doesnt
wahz the final verdict

neways my verdict is to hit em a underwash n engine wash tom
n ah nice coat ah shock oil
that should do the trick

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 27th, 2009, 2:50 pm

rainman wrote:plugs i use are ngk BKR5EIX-11 they're iridium plugs, can be found at Sherriff's on cipero street.

Thanks again rainman - I'll check around for that part #. BTW, is that the NGK equivalent to the factory recommended plugs? I saw in the book it had some really weird plug numbers. I believe they were Denso plug numbers, and were iridium from the factory also.

rainman wrote:for now suspension parts can be found at southern sales. i personally like the ride with the factory shock absorber.

I'd use the OEM shock also, but at $2600 for a shock, there must be slightly cheaper or at least equal quality alternatives for that price, even if shipping in yourself, no?? From this thread: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=254602
Lancer3115 wrote:Yeah fellas, the fromt shocks are now $2,600.00 at SS.

I will really like to know where i can get the OEM brand as most of the shops i checked along the Eastern Mn Road don't carry it.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 27th, 2009, 2:53 pm

GLANIMAL wrote:
rainman wrote:the mzr engines use timing chains, chain and tensioner only available at SS as far as i know. Does your timing chain need changing?

i know it uses timing chains
but manual says it needs changing if necessary (it creaking up n making noise)
ah pass through ah lil flood water recently
not so high
but high enough to reach that point
some people says it need changing
some says it doesnt
wahz the final verdict

neways my verdict is to hit em a underwash n engine wash tom
n ah nice coat ah shock oil
that should do the trick

If you're using the same fluids since, I'd also change out that engine oil and filter and tranny fluid if you drove through any good height of water. Better safe than sorry.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 27th, 2009, 3:07 pm

will be testing sum ceramic pads on the 3 from mid october, will update when i get a chance,

Postby Rainman » September 27th, 2009, 3:15 pm

^^^where the pics of the CAI man?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 27th, 2009, 5:38 pm

SRI till the end of the week, this is an old pic, I currently have a K&N open front filter on it, plan on putting either a 3" to 2.5" coupler or a 45degree bend to locate the filter just above the fenderwell...this intake smooths out the torqueband real plenty, plan on removing the vtcs either this week or next week too

Postby Rainman » September 27th, 2009, 7:20 pm

ghostbusters wrote:Image

SRI till the end of the week, this is an old pic, I currently have a K&N open front filter on it, plan on putting either a 3" to 2.5" coupler or a 45degree bend to locate the filter just above the fenderwell...this intake smooths out the torqueband real plenty, plan on removing the vtcs either this week or next week too

WTF??

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 27th, 2009, 8:35 pm

na, thas just dust, am missing the engine dust shield right now, but right now its clean, like i said, old pic,,,wouldnt need simplegreen tho, just the armorall,lol

Postby Rainman » September 27th, 2009, 8:46 pm

boy i start to cringe when i saw that :lol:
SRI looks good, how did you make the adapter for the MAF?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 27th, 2009, 8:58 pm

does clean real often, was busy round that time, real nice and clean these days, that was a 1.6 protege intake, a simota that i had bought online and since i changed the engine on the 323, it was lying around, so i took a chopsaw to it

jaceson

Postby jaceson » September 28th, 2009, 12:10 pm

ghostbusters, i found this on ebay. its a Simota brand but i cant find it on their site. do you think this will work?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Mazda3-M ... 06.c0.m245

jaceson

Postby jaceson » September 28th, 2009, 12:22 pm

http://www.mazdamotorsports.com/pdfs/co ... _04_cg.pdf

part number for mazda but its the us version

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 28th, 2009, 5:18 pm

it will work, but i think all the intakes that simota makes does connect to the stock air system, the piece just before where the air filter is originally, , which i think is very restrctive, but , i guess u could modify it to suit

^xcalibur^

Postby ^xcalibur^ » October 31st, 2009, 6:31 pm

bump

cyborg007

Postby cyborg007 » December 3rd, 2009, 2:16 pm

need mazda 3 parts call 4856103

devin1754

mazda 3 axela rules !!!!!!!!

Postby devin1754 » December 10th, 2009, 12:40 pm

mazda 3 axela rules !!!!!!!!
im tryin to find an original lambo kit and d side flares some help please

devin1754

Postby devin1754 » December 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm

mazda 3axela 1.6 rules once i ran a subaru ts on the highway he was close but couldnt make to take over and all i have extra is platinum plugs

cyborg007

Postby cyborg007 » December 14th, 2009, 9:11 am

cyborg007 wrote:need mazda 3 parts call 4856103

Postby Rainman » December 14th, 2009, 9:18 am

cyborg007 wrote:
cyborg007 wrote:need mazda 3 parts call 4856103

you got brand new or used?

cunuman

Mazda 3 Parts

Postby cunuman » December 18th, 2009, 4:12 pm

any one know where i could get parts for a mazda 3 i need a bumper n a fender.. fire bun southern sales they dont have them and i looking for other ppl in trinidad who supply the parts

devin1754

Postby devin1754 » January 21st, 2010, 12:35 pm

check the bamboo they now start getting parts but the price kinda high

Postby Rainman » January 21st, 2010, 3:36 pm

m&n has been stocking parts for the 3 for a while.

Best plugs

Postby 5111 » January 22nd, 2010, 3:41 pm

Hey fellas. I need to find out, are iridum plugs the best on the market and how do they aid performance? Thanks in advance.

jackfrost

Postby jackfrost » January 23rd, 2010, 10:51 am

mazda 3 here zoom zoom wher is the best place to get mobil 1 oil ah need ah tune up

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 23rd, 2010, 12:11 pm

get royal purple hoss. mobil 1 lasts 15000 miles but oil filters dont, royal purple lasts 12000 miles, but the level of protection is superior.

Postby Rainman » January 24th, 2010, 9:01 am

how does the 20w50 work in your car ghost?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 24th, 2010, 12:53 pm

i usin 10w30, moving to 10w40, basically i just universalizing the oil i using in the cars, losing a little oil in the 323, cus i does rev alot, not losing any in the 3, i decided to step it up to 10w40 in the 323 so gonna do the same in the 3 just as preventative maintenance

webb

Postby webb » January 24th, 2010, 1:51 pm

hey guy mazda 3 handling bess stock got it from D&D AUTO THEY honest peps
this car have spirit alot goddess of light

Return to “MAZDA”