destructive properties of the rotary?

MAZDA People United - it continues here

dipz

destructive properties of the rotary?

Postby dipz » June 23rd, 2004, 1:26 am

was talking to meh padnah and i also see this in the blowing off steam forum but i want to know why ppl say rotaries are so self destructive. i dont jus want the apex seal deterioration suggestion but other reasons as to why people think this way. are there other explanations? or is this jus a way of thinking? and what material are seals made of? why not use like titanium or something or would this damage the housing? and what exactly is mean by porting in terms or rotary upgrade. i always hear this term and dont really understand why it is like the only major upgrade u hear about (sry bout so much questions in one post)

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 23rd, 2004, 3:07 am

to cut a long story short.......rotaries were not perfected until recently. they are like hyundai vehicles, with every new version or model, its an improvement. take for example the new RENESIS rotary engine.....i'll leave those zorcerers to explain the rest! :mrgreen:

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 23rd, 2004, 6:03 am

Excuse me?

dragzster wrote:...they are like hyundai vehicles, with every new version or model, its an improvement. ...

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » June 23rd, 2004, 8:45 am

ppl who say that rotaries are self destructive are ppl who never owned a well tuned rotary.
i have the privilege of owning many cars, and I have had my rotary since i was 17, 7 years ago, and it works as reliably as any other car at home.
ppl just dont know how to tune them in trini, so obviously the engines will seem as tho they self destructive.
that's just what i think anyways

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » June 23rd, 2004, 11:03 am

they are like hyundai vehicles, with every new version or model its an improvement.

ent!

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » June 23rd, 2004, 11:04 am

ah wonder why they could not get it right by the year they make my car :?: :roll:

Cosmo Business

Postby Cosmo Business » March 18th, 2007, 10:36 pm

Yo MaelstroM,
Long time this thread ain't update eh cuzz?

RX7FAN01

Postby RX7FAN01 » March 20th, 2007, 8:34 am

Rotaries have gotten a bad rap . If you look at any 1.3 litre engine putting out high HP, they will not last forever. I have a 13B putting out 600whp, and it is as reliable as any 4 or 6 putting out the same HP. the biggest problem is tuning and proper setup as someone said earlier , and it is more critical to have proper tuning than on a piston engine. There are a lot of different "apex Seals" available now that holds high HP. The mods that benefit the rotary the most are those that reduce heat since the design of the rotary makes it very susceptable to heat damage. water jacket mods, proper intercooler, large radiator, proper placement of those are critical. I've moved to an electirc water pump controlled by a separate controller, and have a v-mount setup. ok, gonna stop with writing a book now :-)
:D

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 20th, 2007, 9:08 am

zorcerers?? lol i knew guys especially old guys who kept their 12As in Rx-2s for years without an engine rebuilt. even heard of a FC3S second gen that has a 13BT going at 330,000 without a rebuild. it me its all about maintenance, change oil regular, top up oil regularly(because the oil metering pump uses it) just work on good cooling - intercooler and radiator and you should be ok. but new rotary owners do not know about the oil metering pump and change oil every 5000, so straving the seals for oil, plus no oil on the dipstick. oh and just dont lean out.

so lets recap:

1) monitor oil
2) keep the charge temp down(intercooler, radiator)
3) never lean, upgrade fuel

and you should be ok.

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 20th, 2007, 3:25 pm

Mazda should only sell rotaries to intelligent people.
I am tired of seeing these ignorant fools, who has no idea of maintaining a rotary engine, buy a car because it looks cool and blow the engine because they treat it like a reg. piston engine and then blame mazda for shitty product.
The rotary engine is awesome this is my second and I love it to death would not trade a wankel for anything else. The bottom line is you take car it and it will take car of you.

Now if I could just get the money for a turbo!!!!!!! :cry: :cry: :cry:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » March 20th, 2007, 3:54 pm

ZanRx8 wrote:Mazda should only sell rotaries to intelligent people.
We do not discriminate. This means more spare parts for the intelligent people.

ZanRx8 wrote:The bottom line is you take car it and it will take car of you.
Top & bottom line!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 20th, 2007, 4:26 pm

i like how u talk ZanRX8 i am the same way. I will never put an RB or SR in an RX, NEVER!! then it would not be an RX would it now??

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 20th, 2007, 5:21 pm

Its just ashame that people who have no idea about this engine and what it can do, make comments about its reliability, its those that don't maintain it and take care of it that see the trouble just like any other engine.

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 20th, 2007, 5:26 pm

Its the only engine I know that's like a punching bag the more you dog it the more it ask for. sheit my take on it is, drive it like you stole it. Just give her some love when you get done. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Safeq

Postby Safeq » March 20th, 2007, 6:23 pm

Agreed. Take care of her and she'll love you.
The engines are mad and the more you spool the more the car asks for more. It's crazy :D
I love dem rotors. What mazda need is a rotary 4x4 for men who like lil off road too lol
De Wankel mosquito has bitten me and I've got rotalaria lol
Rotary engines should be one of the greatest inventions ever

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 20th, 2007, 10:44 pm

dont worry mr. safeq, you will be getting your very own 13BT to play with just now lol

to me it is one of the greatest inventions of all time.

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 20th, 2007, 11:07 pm

Ok since I have all the Rotor Heads together may be you can help with this one

Whats the most compression you guys seen run on these engine that can maintain reliability

and when cooling the engine for turbo which would you prefer a Air to Air intercooler or a Liquid to Air Intercooler.

Cosmo Business

Postby Cosmo Business » March 23rd, 2007, 11:30 pm

Dude, I'm not too sure what you're asking on your 1st question. You need a special rotary engine compression tester to get a proper indication off each compression chamber, then you'd know if its even or uneven. The most compression I've seen off a motor from both front & rear was around 110psi.
As for the intercooling, I'd say it all depends if its a street driven car or race car setup. Liquid to air would be best for a 1/4 mile run, but for street application might be demanding.
Jus my two cents...

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2007, 11:12 am

^^ nice av there guy
liquid to air allows you to run cooler liquid because you can trow ice in the water but when you on the street the gains wont be there because the water will get hot with the ambient air temperature.
i wud say air to air for a street driver

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 24th, 2007, 2:28 pm

Ok thanks for the help guys, the Air to Air intercooler kit is $3000.00 cheaper than the liquid to Air and since I am going to do mostly street I guess that would be the choice, the reason I bought up the question was that, I know how much heat these engine generates and how bad it had been in the past, was just wondering if there was an advantage over using liquid to air vs air to air, thanks for clearing it up for me.

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2007, 8:02 pm

the major advantage of liquid to air is you can get the air MUCH cooler using water cooling

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 24th, 2007, 8:28 pm

Since the rotary tend to create so much heat with FI thats why I was wondering if Liquid to Air would be a better solution than Air to Air, then again it depends on application and how much stress the engine is under I just want something thats not going to give headache.

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2007, 8:57 pm

the air to air is fine man doh worry
especially since i assume its FMIC you goin wid

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 24th, 2007, 9:37 pm

you right, plus it will save me some money, I want to build a sleeper.

lancerfreakz

Postby lancerfreakz » November 27th, 2008, 8:33 pm

ROTARY made world record in d 1950s an it still goes better everyday dat person who say rotary didnt perfect yet he dont no wat d hell he talkin it hav 4rotors which is d 26B it more than a monster NOPISTON

Glitch

Postby Glitch » November 28th, 2008, 8:08 am

I have used my series 8 rx7 as a daily driver and I don't have any problems at all. Once the car is serviced on time you would have no problems and top up your oil weekly.

The best mods u can do to have a reliable car is

1. Change the down pipe to 3 inch this will reduce heat plus give power
2. Upgrade radiator
3. Change your AST to metal

With those above mode you will enjoy your car for a really long time.

Return to “MAZDA”