Page 1 of 3
The OFFICAL Subaru Legacy thread
Posted: January 2nd, 2017, 11:41 am
by racedriverpro
I thought it was about time that Legacy owners have a reserved space to collaborate on anything Legacy related.
I have learned alot from fellow Subaru owners (most on the forum), alot from research and hands on experience. I wouldnt say that I know most of what there is to know. One thing is for certain is that I am always trying to learn more.
I am always willing to share what I know. It's only fitting that I give freely as I have received.
I own an 04 BL5 GT.
I know what it's like to need information immediately so I can be reached at 7703253 (whatsapp available) or via PM
Feel free to ask any question or offer help and advice.
Re: The OFFICAL Subaru Legacy thread
Posted: January 9th, 2017, 10:48 am
by racedriverpro
Where u guys get parts?
Posted: January 13th, 2017, 9:07 pm
by racedriverpro
Might have some major rear suspension parts available. Offer something and it's yours.
Posted: January 17th, 2017, 10:22 am
by racedriverpro
Suspension parts available.
Used Walbro Fuel Pump $100
Posted: January 24th, 2017, 9:35 pm
by racedriverpro
Anyone interested in a k&n panel filter? Selling cheap.
Posted: May 7th, 2017, 1:17 am
by dboss12
Wanna buy a legacy. What is there to know when i go checkin them out.
What to go for and what to stay away from....help appreciated
Posted: May 7th, 2017, 7:59 pm
by legacyspecb
^^ 1st things 1st...turbo or non turbo?
Posted: May 7th, 2017, 10:09 pm
by dboss12
Give me advice on both...i know nothing about them..other than review on the net
Posted: October 14th, 2017, 11:28 am
by mayinde
Good day i have a reverse gear issue. When the car is now started the reverse gear won't engage till the car is fully warmed up. If i put it in reverse and mash gas before its fully up to operating temp the reverse gear goes in with a hard bang. Can anyone tell me what could be the cause. If anyone else has experienced this and what u did to solve it
Posted: October 14th, 2017, 12:15 pm
by nick639v2
mayinde wrote:Good day i have a reverse gear issue. When the car is now started the reverse gear won't engage till the car is fully warmed up. If i put it in reverse and mash gas before its fully up to operating temp the reverse gear goes in with a hard bang. Can anyone tell me what could be the cause. If anyone else has experienced this and what u did to solve it
When last u changed transmission fluid? Do a flush first then see if it eases
Posted: October 14th, 2017, 12:16 pm
by mayinde
I did that but it still was happening it did slow down but it was still happening
Posted: October 14th, 2017, 2:45 pm
by TheBoostLord
Seals in the transmission are worn. When it heats up it swells and builds pressure like it should. Revving builds high pressure to overcome leaks but its still too much so it slams into gear. You can either rebuild it with new seals or replace the transmission.
Posted: October 19th, 2017, 6:56 pm
by racedriverpro
Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:Seals in the transmission are worn. When it heats up it swells and builds pressure like it should. Revving builds high pressure to overcome leaks but its still too much so it slams into gear. You can either rebuild it with new seals or replace the transmission.
Posted: October 19th, 2017, 6:57 pm
by racedriverpro
Anyone using Honda coolant as a substitute in their legacy or any other Subaru?
Posted: October 19th, 2017, 7:29 pm
by mayinde
That sounds like the solution. Who rebuilds transmissions for Subaru?
Posted: October 19th, 2017, 7:47 pm
by racedriverpro
mayinde wrote:That sounds like the solution. Who rebuilds transmissions for Subaru?
A few guys around but none specifically for Subaru.... Charles Transmissions, Jai, Jenton etc. Where u from? A rebuild can cost 10k+. I would suggest a foreign used especially if ur car is JDM. Am sure guys can give a review on a used transmission.
Posted: October 19th, 2017, 7:57 pm
by mayinde
Tobago. Well if is 10k plus forget it whats the cost of ah used one
Posted: October 19th, 2017, 8:00 pm
by racedriverpro
mayinde wrote:Tobago. Well if is 10k plus forget it whats the cost of ah used one
Around $3000-3500.
Posted: October 19th, 2017, 8:01 pm
by mayinde
Ok well that is ah better plan then
Posted: October 25th, 2017, 8:01 am
by Ted_v2
foreign used is a good option. Gearbox swap is a better lol
Posted: October 25th, 2017, 8:04 am
by mayinde
Wife can't drive stick and she doh wanna learn
Posted: October 25th, 2017, 8:27 am
by dboss12
So mayinde...you know what is time to do...
Get a new wife.....
Posted: October 25th, 2017, 8:28 am
by mayinde
Lololol nah lol
Posted: November 8th, 2017, 12:31 pm
by 25stouring
Hey guys
Does anyone know of any reset proceedures for the auto feature on the legacy power window switch. I had replaced my switch panel (original had broken) with a foreign used one but the auto feature isn’t working. I tried the reset procedures that i saw on YouTube and on legacy gt forums which basically involves lowering the window then bringing it back up again and holding the switch for 10sec but it isn’t working. My car is an 05 LGT JDM.
Not sure if the proceedure is different for jdm or not
Thanks
Posted: November 8th, 2017, 10:23 pm
by black start
Mine reset for itself after a day.....
Posted: November 8th, 2017, 10:25 pm
by racedriverpro
25stouring wrote:Hey guys
Does anyone know of any reset proceedures for the auto feature on the legacy power window switch. I had replaced my switch panel (original had broken) with a foreign used one but the auto feature isn’t working. I tried the reset procedures that i saw on YouTube and on legacy gt forums which basically involves lowering the window then bringing it back up again and holding the switch for 10sec but it isn’t working. My car is an 05 LGT JDM.
Thanks
When I changed mine it worked instantly I didn't know there was a procedure for this.
Posted: November 9th, 2017, 12:29 am
by janfar
Where you guys get the switch to buy?
Posted: November 9th, 2017, 6:02 am
by 25stouring
janfar wrote:Where you guys get the switch to buy?
I bought mine at one of those places in the bamboo alongside grand bazaar...think it was bicks
Posted: November 12th, 2017, 11:51 am
by 25stouring
25stouring wrote:Hey guys
Thanks
Just to update on this, I got it to work following the proceedure that I described above. I think the mistake I was making was holding the switch in the up position for too long. I held it for 5s and it worked.
Thanks
Posted: November 12th, 2017, 11:52 am
by racedriverpro
25stouring wrote:janfar wrote:Where you guys get the switch to buy?
I bought mine at one of those places in the bamboo alongside grand bazaar...think it was bicks
What price u paid if u don't mind