The OFFICAL Subaru Legacy thread

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

racedriverpro

The OFFICAL Subaru Legacy thread

Postby racedriverpro » January 2nd, 2017, 11:41 am

I thought it was about time that Legacy owners have a reserved space to collaborate on anything Legacy related.

I have learned alot from fellow Subaru owners (most on the forum), alot from research and hands on experience. I wouldnt say that I know most of what there is to know. One thing is for certain is that I am always trying to learn more.

I am always willing to share what I know. It's only fitting that I give freely as I have received.

I own an 04 BL5 GT.

I know what it's like to need information immediately so I can be reached at 7703253 (whatsapp available) or via PM

Feel free to ask any question or offer help and advice.

racedriverpro

Re: The OFFICAL Subaru Legacy thread

Postby racedriverpro » January 9th, 2017, 10:48 am

Where u guys get parts?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 13th, 2017, 9:07 pm

Might have some major rear suspension parts available. Offer something and it's yours.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 17th, 2017, 10:22 am

Suspension parts available.
Used Walbro Fuel Pump $100

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 24th, 2017, 9:35 pm

Anyone interested in a k&n panel filter? Selling cheap.

dboss12

Postby dboss12 » May 7th, 2017, 1:17 am

Wanna buy a legacy. What is there to know when i go checkin them out.
What to go for and what to stay away from....help appreciated

legacyspecb

Postby legacyspecb » May 7th, 2017, 7:59 pm

^^ 1st things 1st...turbo or non turbo?

dboss12

Postby dboss12 » May 7th, 2017, 10:09 pm

Give me advice on both...i know nothing about them..other than review on the net

mayinde

Postby mayinde » October 14th, 2017, 11:28 am

Good day i have a reverse gear issue. When the car is now started the reverse gear won't engage till the car is fully warmed up. If i put it in reverse and mash gas before its fully up to operating temp the reverse gear goes in with a hard bang. Can anyone tell me what could be the cause. If anyone else has experienced this and what u did to solve it

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 14th, 2017, 12:15 pm

mayinde wrote:Good day i have a reverse gear issue. When the car is now started the reverse gear won't engage till the car is fully warmed up. If i put it in reverse and mash gas before its fully up to operating temp the reverse gear goes in with a hard bang. Can anyone tell me what could be the cause. If anyone else has experienced this and what u did to solve it

When last u changed transmission fluid? Do a flush first then see if it eases

mayinde

Postby mayinde » October 14th, 2017, 12:16 pm

I did that but it still was happening it did slow down but it was still happening

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 14th, 2017, 2:45 pm

Seals in the transmission are worn. When it heats up it swells and builds pressure like it should. Revving builds high pressure to overcome leaks but its still too much so it slams into gear. You can either rebuild it with new seals or replace the transmission.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 19th, 2017, 6:56 pm

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:Seals in the transmission are worn. When it heats up it swells and builds pressure like it should. Revving builds high pressure to overcome leaks but its still too much so it slams into gear. You can either rebuild it with new seals or replace the transmission.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 19th, 2017, 6:57 pm

Anyone using Honda coolant as a substitute in their legacy or any other Subaru?

mayinde

Postby mayinde » October 19th, 2017, 7:29 pm

That sounds like the solution. Who rebuilds transmissions for Subaru?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 19th, 2017, 7:47 pm

mayinde wrote:That sounds like the solution. Who rebuilds transmissions for Subaru?
A few guys around but none specifically for Subaru.... Charles Transmissions, Jai, Jenton etc. Where u from? A rebuild can cost 10k+. I would suggest a foreign used especially if ur car is JDM. Am sure guys can give a review on a used transmission.

mayinde

Postby mayinde » October 19th, 2017, 7:57 pm

Tobago. Well if is 10k plus forget it whats the cost of ah used one

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 19th, 2017, 8:00 pm

mayinde wrote:Tobago. Well if is 10k plus forget it whats the cost of ah used one
Around $3000-3500.

mayinde

Postby mayinde » October 19th, 2017, 8:01 pm

Ok well that is ah better plan then

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2017, 8:01 am

foreign used is a good option. Gearbox swap is a better lol

mayinde

Postby mayinde » October 25th, 2017, 8:04 am

Wife can't drive stick and she doh wanna learn

dboss12

Postby dboss12 » October 25th, 2017, 8:27 am

So mayinde...you know what is time to do...
Get a new wife.....

mayinde

Postby mayinde » October 25th, 2017, 8:28 am

Lololol nah lol

25stouring

Postby 25stouring » November 8th, 2017, 12:31 pm

Hey guys
Does anyone know of any reset proceedures for the auto feature on the legacy power window switch. I had replaced my switch panel (original had broken) with a foreign used one but the auto feature isn’t working. I tried the reset procedures that i saw on YouTube and on legacy gt forums which basically involves lowering the window then bringing it back up again and holding the switch for 10sec but it isn’t working. My car is an 05 LGT JDM.
Not sure if the proceedure is different for jdm or not

Thanks

Postby black start » November 8th, 2017, 10:23 pm

Mine reset for itself after a day.....

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 8th, 2017, 10:25 pm

25stouring wrote:Hey guys
Does anyone know of any reset proceedures for the auto feature on the legacy power window switch. I had replaced my switch panel (original had broken) with a foreign used one but the auto feature isn’t working. I tried the reset procedures that i saw on YouTube and on legacy gt forums which basically involves lowering the window then bringing it back up again and holding the switch for 10sec but it isn’t working. My car is an 05 LGT JDM.

Thanks
When I changed mine it worked instantly I didn't know there was a procedure for this.

Postby janfar » November 9th, 2017, 12:29 am

Where you guys get the switch to buy?

25stouring

Postby 25stouring » November 9th, 2017, 6:02 am

janfar wrote:Where you guys get the switch to buy?

I bought mine at one of those places in the bamboo alongside grand bazaar...think it was bicks

25stouring

Postby 25stouring » November 12th, 2017, 11:51 am

25stouring wrote:Hey guys

Thanks

Just to update on this, I got it to work following the proceedure that I described above. I think the mistake I was making was holding the switch in the up position for too long. I held it for 5s and it worked.

Thanks

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 12th, 2017, 11:52 am

25stouring wrote:
janfar wrote:Where you guys get the switch to buy?

I bought mine at one of those places in the bamboo alongside grand bazaar...think it was bicks
What price u paid if u don't mind

Return to “SUBARU”