Page 1 of 2
WTK: Subaru Forester 1999 can work with super?
Posted: November 10th, 2012, 7:26 pm
by NightShift
Hey guys have a quick question here..
Bought a Subaru Forester 1999 model and the former own used premium gas..
is it okay for me to switch to super without causing any damage to the engine?
Quick responses would be gladly appreciated.
Regards NightShift.
Re: WTK: Subaru Forester 1999 can work with super?
Posted: November 10th, 2012, 7:32 pm
by NightShift
SF5 Model to be exact..
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 3:46 pm
by marcus8860
well if its stock you can try =] ..... just top up with super a lil $40.00 or so bit by bit and see how it runs.
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 6:28 pm
by NightShift
yes completely stock ej20 turbo
well yesterday i put 60$ super and its working normal
exhaust burning white-ish so i guess she handling the super pretty well...
thanks for your response marcus
Regards Night Shift.
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 6:41 pm
by marcus8860
yes man =] ...... ah runnin super more than 2 years now on the leggy and no problems =] .... imagine it took $80.00 to go pos and back and with super its $30.00 !! ... the thing takes longer to burn out .... super is the best thing ever made =]
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 6:44 pm
by NightShift
nice nicee, well i have a safe mind about my scooby now

i will keep mixing it until i ready to hit she the full blow! lol...
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 6:49 pm
by marcus8860
lol nice =] ..... within a week or 2 you'll know for sure, also resetting the ecu after the new full tank would confirm it ... hope it works out

Posted: November 11th, 2012, 6:53 pm
by NightShift
yup i hope so to!

thanks bro!
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 6:54 pm
by marcus8860
ok later =]
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 7:07 pm
by VexXx Dogg
You can possibly get away with super and conservative driving.
Marcus' experience may not be the same as yours, especially if your driving habits are different.
If you have a heavy foot, super + high engine load + high temps (like midday sun) = bad. very bad.
If you've been running super for a while, take a gander at your plugs. That's a good tell of conditions inside the chamber.
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 7:10 pm
by marcus8860
thats true ...... i want those hoes to see me when i pass by =] ... why rush

Posted: November 11th, 2012, 8:30 pm
by jadakiss
don't use super....even if u don't boost much and not creating some extreme intake charge temps, there's still a hell of a lot of pre-ignition goin on with super that wud put u in the same position as if u were
marcus maybe an exception...but his car may be dying on the inside lol...i've known guys who hammer their subaru with no ecu tune, nada and still the car goin strong
but jus pull a log with the super and u'd be amazed to see WTF is goin on...
jus my advice bro
Posted: November 11th, 2012, 8:41 pm
by marcus8860
lol, after ah get to love the super like a young colombiana, ah just dont want to know what goin on inside lmao !!! ... maybe when im about to sell it, i'll check lol ..... but yuh know seriously we over here really get shafted from all sides cause to begin with the taxes and duties on a new car amounts to half the price of the car, and you thought organized crime was limited to drugs and prostitution =] .... stock subarus with boost, vipers and m5's in the US run on 91 octane !! , ah mean it real depressing to think about that ... and there's also the fact that parts in the US are much much cheaper than JDM.
Posted: November 12th, 2012, 2:02 pm
by jadakiss
^^ lol for real dawg...when u ready to sell check it lol
but i saw ur car the other day...still looking bess meng. How much u'd be calling for that tho/
But on the real..the 91 octane u talking about in the states is 91 AKI..thats about 95 RON i tink..so our super is plenty sh*t ...trust me lol
Posted: November 12th, 2012, 2:29 pm
by marcus8860
... the other day someone asked me if i was selling and i said that i couldnt afford to lol =] ..... the value drop like a clico savings !! , cause last year sept it was valued at 119k and this year sept was a whopping 104k !!! hahahahah !!! ... so if i sell i loosing out big time ... is best i just repair and replace as my life goes by =] .... but im going back to the black wheels, the hyper silver thing too decent =] .... is only when i changed to super then i felt like i had a more valuable car.
Posted: November 12th, 2012, 6:29 pm
by NightShift
lol my foot kinda heavy-ish but i considered mixing the gases for a lil 2 weeks again until i phase it with the direct super..
made a few runs up and down the highway and the exhaust burning white so i guess the super in the guts already cause premium does burn jet black, really cant tell if its sputtering cause of its sound lol
btw i use number 7 spark plugs and i was told if i use a lower number it will even more safer for the engine
Posted: November 12th, 2012, 10:11 pm
by marcus8860
^^^ yes agree, like a colder plug =] ..... lets face it, more performance is more gas more speeding, less likely to see easy prey while driving ...... i say slow it down and take time see and capture your prey

Posted: November 13th, 2012, 7:28 am
by Lance
Its Easy to know how your car is behaving on super.
Just buy a logging cable and download RR and LV.
Do some logging and pull some Learning Views (before super and after super)
Posted: November 13th, 2012, 7:30 am
by VexXx Dogg
Nightshift
if you're an agressive driver, I wont suggest running super.
That beyotch will be pulling timing like wow on WOT, at some point it simply wont be enough
Put it this way, would you rather save a couple hundred on gas, or 20+ k on an engine?
As said, the best way is to log before and after.
Posted: November 13th, 2012, 12:11 pm
by NightShift
thanks for the advice guys! gonna try the logging...
Posted: November 13th, 2012, 4:39 pm
by Ragnarok
Its no problem if your car pulls timing,its when it cant pull anymore and you still knocking...
Posted: November 13th, 2012, 5:28 pm
by Marct
Surprised at some of the responses... if the car is boosted it needs the 95 Ron to operate properly, it is going to cost you more in the long run.
It cost me a bundle when the gas station attendant ran super instead of premium some years ago
Posted: November 14th, 2012, 2:10 am
by Ragnarok
^^^You can tune a boosted car to run super without probs.
Posted: November 30th, 2012, 9:16 pm
by Frydog
Ok guys I have a SF 5 myself and started to run super and it costed me a new engine. As usual foot heavy and number 3 cylinder done.
I am presently installing a sti engine and honestly firetruck that super.
Posted: December 1st, 2012, 12:31 am
by marcus8860
wayys frydog ....... how long did you use it for ? .... was the forry stock or tuned ? .... next year march will be 3yrs since the leggy on super =] .... ah not going back =]
Posted: December 1st, 2012, 12:40 am
by Frydog
Stock. But it was pressing it a bit. Just saw a mass of white smoke and engine went dead. Everything good except number 3 cyl.
Fitting a STI out of a front cut should be in tomorrow will run stock for the time until I could do a lil upgrade.
Posted: December 1st, 2012, 12:47 am
by marcus8860
wayys, sorry to hear that man ..... seriously if i couldnt use the premium i woulda sell it a long time ago , and now since premium gone up it not nice having to put out so much more .... maybe if i had a high paying job things would be different =]
Posted: December 1st, 2012, 1:07 am
by Frydog
All is good still hopefully by next year I would sell and buy a van for work.
Posted: December 1st, 2012, 7:46 am
by marcus8860
cant beat a van =] ..... gliding over pot holes and dead animals like they not there, the best thing for trini roads.
Posted: December 1st, 2012, 7:51 am
by Frydog
I want to drop in an oil catch. Does that make sense or helps with anything.