Anyone ever balcked out thier headlights?

Posted: June 6th, 2011, 6:12 pm
by Monk BANzai
if so,,,what you used to open up the headlight?

Re: Anyone ever balcked out thier headlights?

Posted: June 6th, 2011, 6:21 pm
by VexXx Dogg
hmmm, great idea - but I dont have the gumption to try this one myself in case I FUBAR it.

Posted: June 6th, 2011, 8:23 pm
by Ragnarok
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:if so,,,what you used to open up the headlight?

If you f@#k it up,i'll get a replacement pair for you..lol

Posted: June 6th, 2011, 11:10 pm
by drinker41
if u heat it it should separate on its own

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 8:39 am
by copper_shot
it opens up with a heat gun, heat it up and pry it apart

heat up back the glue and it will stick back together

i had it done with my previous legacy to install the halos

there are lots of threads on legacygt.com with how to do it and pics, i've seen blackout lights done there too

a good way to do it is with an oven too

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 9:21 am
by ole whore
dwyane at perfect shift from arima does dis............

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 9:38 am
by Monk BANzai
Ragnarok wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:if so,,,what you used to open up the headlight?

If you f@#k it up,i'll get a replacement pair for you..lol

hehehehehe...nah....leh meh get meh "gems" first nah...

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 10:12 am
by wagonrunner

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 11:46 am
by Dude15
put them in the oven for about 5 mins at about 300 degrees, they come apart with the use of a flathead screwdriver pretty easily....unmount yuh shinny plastic housing...sand it....bomb spray (heat resistant biz)...carefully screw back housing....apply some force to the both parts of the headlight in an effort to close it back...then place in oven for same 5mins at 300....

btw dont touch bulbs...and clean inside of headlight while yuh in there.

Posted: June 7th, 2011, 4:53 pm
by Monk BANzai
^^this...i shall try.....

Posted: June 19th, 2011, 10:32 am
by shogun
You can also use a heat gun, if unsure about putting them in the oven.
http://www.i-club.com/forums/vbarticles ... rticleid=8

Posted: June 21st, 2011, 8:38 pm
by GTi Guy
there is a you tube video for everything... but this looks like too much antics plus after u open it u need to seal it back pretty good cuz if theirs condensation in there afterwards its totally not worth it..

Posted: June 24th, 2011, 10:18 pm
by Tile Expression Ltd.
check Shift Performance in Arima..