Legacy FMIC (finished pic uploaded)

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Legacy FMIC (finished pic uploaded)

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 21st, 2010, 1:17 pm

Looking at installing an FMIC.
Initial reason is epic heatsoak to the TMIC and intake charge temps are too high as is, unable to tune safely over 200AWHP.
Regarding the issue of cooling, I already upgraded the thermostat, installed a larger mishimoto radiator, chemflushed the block, installed silicone hoses blah blah, kept scooby coolant/distilled water ratio at 50/50. Cooling capacity is now reasonable enough to proceed.

So the options for reasonably priced FMIC's are small. Please extend the list if you can

In no particular order:
X02 aka Godspeed kit for about 400 USD. http://motors.shop.ebay.com/__?_from=R40&_trksid=m39&_nkw=godspeed+bl9
This kit is the cheapest and you lose the fogs and have to trim the bumper and the bumper beam. Reviews are average.

RacerX FMIC - 700 USD http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/racer-x-itsme-fmic-05-09-lgts-and-08-wrx-stock-ready-139560.html?p=2983710
This kit allows retention of factory fogs, bumper beam, piping looks decent with rolled ends etc.

Perrin FMIC - 1200 USD http://www.perrinperformance.com/products/show/189/Front-Mount-Legacy-GT?category=39&model=10
This kit also loses factory fogs, but offers a modded bumper beam and is perrin quality. Interpret that as you will.

AVO FMIC - 1300 USD http://www.avoturboworld.com/avoshop/product_info.php?cPath=2_8_45&products_id=93&osCsid=g2q8vl8sg7u77psq8ehep8mid1
This Kit keeps the fogs and bumper beam (?). AVO quality though. mmmmm

Hackjob - ??? USD -http://www.mishimoto.com/mishimoto-universal-front-mount-intercooler-s-line.html
Grab a universal core from someone like mishomoto and local fab the piping (eeeeeek). Least desirable, most running around, most downtime?

which would you prefer and why?

Leaning towards the RacerX kit.
Last edited by VexXx Dogg on December 15th, 2010, 8:04 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Legacy FMIC

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 5th, 2010, 11:15 am

no FMIC love?

Really leaning towards the kit off legactgt.com

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » August 7th, 2010, 11:21 pm

^^boss perrin or avo..

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 9th, 2010, 2:37 pm

so how much you could get them for...landed?

ole whore

Postby ole whore » August 10th, 2010, 9:14 am

hey...the xo2 is what i did and i did the install myself,
and for me to do it ,it has to be easy,
the bumper had to be trimmed, and my kit was upgraded to
a 12" tall intercooler, so i had to trim the grill also.
it you get the 9" intercooler, you don't need to trim the grill.
stock air box cannot work.
if you need to see, give me a call .

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 10th, 2010, 3:15 pm

ole whore wrote:hey...the xo2 is what i did and i did the install myself,
and for me to do it ,it has to be easy,
the bumper had to be trimmed, and my kit was upgraded to
a 12" tall intercooler, so i had to trim the grill also.
it you get the 9" intercooler, you don't need to trim the grill.
stock air box cannot work.
if you need to see, give me a call .

I saw your car already, 292? It looks like a gawddamn demon. :twisted: :twisted:
How much did this kit cost you landed?

Did you dyno before/after?

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » August 11th, 2010, 1:05 am

Blitz intercooler SE edition BP/BL

PM if interested.This item is presently in Japan....

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 11th, 2010, 8:26 am

I doubt that falling within budget but I'll bite.
PM sent.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 24th, 2010, 8:57 am

oh sheit, will update the links - i forgot to put em in url tags so the text got truncated..aargh

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 12th, 2010, 9:45 pm

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2010, 10:59 am

legacy_specB wrote:Hoss ummmm none of those links working.........at least i not getting the entire link............

links now updated

xtech

Postby xtech » September 14th, 2010, 9:38 pm

Anybody ever use the RS Legacy air/water chargecooler ?

This guy used it on a WRX-----> http://www.freewebs.com/wrxic/airwater.htm

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2010, 6:26 pm

Got one.
300 shipped to skybox, another 300 usd to land, duties, vat et al.

My logic: 3800 landed for this kit was awesome. Even if the core is absolute crap, I can still toss in a brand name universal core for about 2 - 3K eg Mishimoto and I'll still come out loads cheaper than the perrin or other options.

Just in case anyone else wants to buy one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260661650637&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:MOTORS:1123

core looks fairly decent, piping looks good. shipped without the piece to bolt on to the turbo tho, the seller said he'll send it immediately.

I will follow up post installation and perhaps with a biased dyno plot. I said biased because I will dyno after some other goodies are installed. Not intending to dyno after each part. Installation may be November's end tho - so i'll just admire it for a while.

ole whore

Postby ole whore » October 15th, 2010, 12:44 pm

nice....

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 15th, 2010, 12:56 pm

or hor, much thanks to ole whore for the advice too ;)

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » October 16th, 2010, 10:22 am

Congrats!!! Waiting to see it installed..

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 10th, 2010, 3:50 pm

nearly finished install - meh mechanic is ah borse...

plenty plenty trimming of the bumper required. Apparently the JDM and USDM bumpers are Really gawddamn different.
Had to custom fabricate a new bumper beam
kit needed some slight "massaging" to make it work

no time to dyno yet, holidays done - still wanna upgrade turbo, thats a different thread. Will put up some completed pics soon.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » December 11th, 2010, 9:31 am

^ i think so too...

also.. the bumper reinforcement on the USDM is wider than the JDM, so that was the difference there

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 11th, 2010, 5:13 pm

legacy_specB wrote:Good stuff......the only problem i have with that kit is the fogs cant be kept. Thats the only downside for me.....All the best tho.

Oh also i'm thinking, (i could be wrong) that there may be a slight problem depending on what turbo u upgrade to especially with the last two bends before the turbo. You may need to adjust those bends a bit.......again i could be wrong.....

yep, already identified the pieces I'll need to get a 37 to work - at least from the FMIC side. Should require slight work - nothing too drastic.
I hear ya on the fogs too, but the kit looks amazing. Got a couple pics off my phone, will upload later.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 11th, 2010, 6:49 pm

not planning to build a dyno queen/race car.

want a responsive, drivable powerful grocery getter.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 11th, 2010, 8:03 pm

nah, its a long term project.
for me it is about the journey, not the destination. Kinda hard to explain.
currently AT, hopefully swapping MT during the course of this year.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 11th, 2010, 8:48 pm

I hear ya.
Which twinscroll turbos would you recommed then?

Getting a VF37 for about 3-3.5K. Not much fabbing needed to get this to work on the LGT.

Civic 2nr

Postby Civic 2nr » December 14th, 2010, 10:11 pm

pics...picss.picsss!! lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 15th, 2010, 7:58 am

Low quality pic...took some better ones with the wife's slr, but didnt upload to PC yet.
shows fitment without modified foglamp finishers.
Does not show how much cutting was done (a LOT was required). My mech custom fabbed some solid IC mounts (which did not come with this kit) so the core is very very securely mounted.

copper_shot

Re: Legacy FMIC (finished pic uploaded)

Postby copper_shot » December 15th, 2010, 9:13 am

*like*

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » December 16th, 2010, 11:10 am

Looking good, any noticeable difference in performance?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 16th, 2010, 12:08 pm

wont really know till I tune and dyno
butt dyno indicated no difference in lag as reported by other FMIC owners with 5eat. Boost still comes on strong at 3000RPM up.

I wasnt expecting any gains from this mod alone.
My reason for installing this was to run more boost on the OE turbo / bigger turbo at some point, as my logs indicated that the IAT's were high due to heat soak. After lengthy discussions with my tuner and mechanic, we decided that the best route for me was to install the FMIC to cater for the bigger turbo one time. TMIC are nice, if I was remaining stock I might have probably gone with a big tmic.

Thing is I got big plans :)

Postby Monk BANzai » December 16th, 2010, 12:16 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I hear ya.
Which twinscroll turbos would you recommed then?

Getting a VF37 for about 3-3.5K. Not much fabbing needed to get this to work on the LGT.

can i haz the one you have now?....no seriously?...i just need an original replacement....

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 16th, 2010, 12:25 pm

How soon do you need it?
I wont be getting the replacement installed for the next few weeks or so....still have to buy it!

I thought yuh had a nice 36 package for the (new) Ox?

Postby Monk BANzai » December 16th, 2010, 12:43 pm

check PM...

Return to “SUBARU”