some help with SF5 engine PLZ..

Posted: October 7th, 2009, 9:16 pm
by southside crew
So the car has an engine From a SF5 Forester/ the car is a *hawk eye* everything was swapped (mechanically) harness and ecu's were switched too.

Problem is the car won't rev over 4K RPM (prob did once or twice but thas it)

electrican saying is the MAF.. but can't get a MAF to try ...

does anyone have any idea if for sure it's an MAF problem or it can be something like vaccum leak..

I am only trying to help someone it's not my car.. anyhelp would be thankful..

Posted: October 8th, 2009, 12:30 pm
by BlackXT
The SF5 MAF is the same as the Almera.

Posted: October 8th, 2009, 12:33 pm
by players
did you run a scan....... if maf bad suppose to get engine check light............run a scan then determine................... what year SF5?

Posted: October 8th, 2009, 2:58 pm
by A172
BlackXT wrote:The SF5 MAF is the same as the Almera.

wow.....talk bout luck :o

Posted: October 8th, 2009, 9:49 pm
by Bacon
Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Doh say that too loud......nex ting the bandit start stealing SF5's to swap parts with their Almera :| :| :|

Posted: October 8th, 2009, 11:28 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Fuel pump problem?

Posted: October 9th, 2009, 11:52 pm
by southside crew
OK.. last nite I drove the car.. when you reset the ECU you can get about 4 full RPM pulls out of the car.. then right after it seems the ECU reading some code and going to a safety mode.. where the vehicle can't rev over 4500 rpm..

if you reset the ecu and drive normal it would work fine until you run it about 4 times rel hard and then same problem..

about the fuel pump.. from day one I told them that.. tomorrow I will find out what happens..