Page 1 of 3

legacy guys with exhausts, help

Posted: September 5th, 2009, 11:11 am
by copper_shot
so i'm considering installing two 3" HKS super drager barrels in my legacy

i already got a CATLESS 3" INVIDIA Downpipe installed

i want to leave the stock resonator, after that i would put a 3" or 2.5" pipe replacing the stock Y all the way back to the 2 barrels

my question is how noisy would this be?
would i hear it loud on idle?
or only at high RPMs?

i know alot of you have aftermarket barrels installed so let me knoww
if i can meet somebody to hear it as well?

Posted: September 5th, 2009, 4:00 pm
by Redman
When next you in south??

Later

Posted: September 5th, 2009, 4:55 pm
by b18b_turbo
Dragger barrels are very loud you know...

the guys who have aftermarket have Fujitsobo Legalis which is very quiet. The rest have locally fabricated and Genomes.

The best thing to do is use JASMA approved barrels. That is Fujitsobo and Zerosports. The is also the "quiet" Greddy SP2 barrel....

Posted: September 5th, 2009, 5:51 pm
by Ragnarok
Ah have a pair of HKS silent power to install wanna know how that will sound....

Posted: September 6th, 2009, 9:50 am
by Redman
b18b_turbo wrote:Dragger barrels are very loud you know...

the guys who have aftermarket have Fujitsobo Legalis which is very quiet. The rest have locally fabricated and Genomes.

The best thing to do is use JASMA approved barrels. That is Fujitsobo and Zerosports. The is also the "quiet" Greddy SP2 barrel....

How these affect performance??
The J Force set up is pretty loud IMHO but I could live with it.
Im also looking at my options

LAter

Posted: September 6th, 2009, 10:52 am
by Civic 2nr
copper the prob is if you are trying to get the most gains from your exhaust you should replace the stock resonator & pipe as well. at the end of the day you are trying to replace the restrictive parts in your exhaust and by repacing all the other parts and leaving the stock resonator kinna defeating the purpose as this can cause a "bottle neck" situation in your car. so IMHO you should look into a full catback option :wink:

And redman if farley's exhaust is too loud he can always put in another resonator for you and that really quiets it down alot.

Posted: September 6th, 2009, 11:18 am
by Redman
Thanks Civic.

Later

Posted: September 6th, 2009, 7:39 pm
by copper_shot
i know i would have a bottle neck at the resonator

but aftermarket barrels still gonna be more flow than the stock

i think i'll try it, hear how it sounds

then decide if i wanna replace the stock resonator, i'm really trying to avoid any loud annoying noise.

Posted: September 7th, 2009, 12:01 pm
by Flex030
Redman wrote:How these affect performance??
The J Force set up is pretty loud IMHO but I could live with it.
Im also looking at my options

LAter

How many resonators did you put on?

O Sh;t I just saw civic_2nr post I have on two btw and it sounds good enough for me.

Posted: September 7th, 2009, 4:15 pm
by VexXx Dogg
How much for the farley catback installed?

Posted: September 7th, 2009, 4:41 pm
by copper_shot
i still waitin to see pics of this "farley" exhausts

Posted: September 7th, 2009, 6:01 pm
by Redman
copper_shot wrote:i still waitin to see pics of this "farley" exhausts

You sir are a true hater :D :twisted: :D
Was watching the budget

LAter

Posted: September 7th, 2009, 6:04 pm
by Flex030
Damn!!!!!!! Sweet, really nice for a custom made system... :wink:

Posted: September 7th, 2009, 6:28 pm
by Redman
Ok Thats it
Hope this helps

Later

Posted: September 7th, 2009, 7:40 pm
by copper_shot
EXCELLENT!

thanks alot

now PM me the costing :D

and what brand are those barrels?

Posted: September 7th, 2009, 8:09 pm
by Alpha_2nr
^^Most likely, the barrels are custom made by Farley himself (believe it or not he does those as well). He's just an awesome dude at fabrication........wait till you see the stuff he does with CF :shock: :shock:

Posted: September 8th, 2009, 12:47 am
by Bacon
Sweet........

Posted: September 8th, 2009, 12:08 pm
by VexXx Dogg
Redman wrote:
copper_shot wrote:i still waitin to see pics of this "farley" exhausts

You sir are a true hater :D :twisted: :D
Was watching the budget

LAter

sweet jesus

the look of that alone making me doubt taht i could afford it.

Posted: September 8th, 2009, 12:47 pm
by tr1ad
redman u went by jforce too?

Posted: September 8th, 2009, 4:49 pm
by Redman
Yes sir
I might add another resonator to tone down the volume a little.
I will be tuning on the dyno soon so will let you know the results

Later

Posted: September 8th, 2009, 5:05 pm
by Bacon
So what's next.........

Lightweight crank pulley
Injectors
Fuel pump
Turbo
Internals
:?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

Posted: September 9th, 2009, 2:42 pm
by Redman
Not sure yet CB if I need anything more-have to start putting ting aside for the child.Due in Nov.

Im adding a resonator to cut the noise.But I still looking at the FMIC and Crank pulley but again Im pretty happy once I tune.

so It would really be a cost benefit issue. SO probably the crank pulley would be a easy add on

Any comments??

Later

Posted: September 9th, 2009, 3:01 pm
by Bacon
Well Congrats Redman

Jus doh have as many chirren as Flex though :|........dah man financing half the Legacy's in the country :mrgreen:

I got my car with the Pulley so I cah comment on the b4 and after........But from what I heard it really does make a difference......

Posted: September 9th, 2009, 5:57 pm
by Flex030
Canadian Bacon wrote:Jus doh have as many chirren as Flex though :|........dah man financing half the Legacy's in the country :mrgreen:

hahahahhaah!!!!! Considering the age of some of them children I must be way over 70yrs old.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

I need the financing not them... :D

BTW!!! Congrats in advance Redman.... :wink:

Posted: October 8th, 2009, 11:43 am
by VexXx Dogg
so can someone with a Jforce spec exhaust on an LGT post up a video clip of how it sounds? :mrgreen:

Posted: October 8th, 2009, 11:55 am
by Bacon
At least 2 of them will be at Movie Towne Saturday...................

Posted: October 16th, 2009, 12:43 am
by BZ
Farley is a Exhaust Master Blaster! Excellent workmanship! He did my downpipe as well, and I installed a 3" XO2 catback......TOTALLY different car :D

Posted: October 16th, 2009, 3:45 pm
by Flex030
Good going BZ congrats.....Farley all the way.... :twisted:

Posted: October 16th, 2009, 4:05 pm
by jadakiss
Flex030, u think it wud be better to do the entire turbo back by farley or go aftermarket catback and let farley do the downpipe alone?

Posted: October 16th, 2009, 4:18 pm
by Bacon