legacy guys with exhausts, help

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Re: legacy guys with exhausts, help

Postby SR » December 3rd, 2010, 11:14 am

i good wit my exhaust.....a lil too loud for whoever sitting in the backseat but
i doh sit in the back seat

BZ

Postby BZ » December 11th, 2010, 12:17 am

I'm looking for a nice pair of HKS silent high power exhaust barrels USED as I cant afford it new, OR a set that sounds close and flows as much. I don't like the tone of my XO2 barrels, it's ok, but not as refined as I would like.

Any advice? Any sellers?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 11th, 2010, 6:07 am

^^It's not only the barrels that help with tone, but the midpipe and resonator as well. Going from a resonated, to a non-resonated, and back on my car made a huge difference in "tone".

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 11th, 2010, 5:11 pm

yep, I used a cherrybomb glasspack to quiet down the exhaust a bit and it toned it quite nicely for me.
Low twinscroll rumble sounds nice.

BZ

Postby BZ » December 12th, 2010, 10:51 am

Thanks Alpha_2nr, makes sense. So Vexx...........the cherry bomb glass pack is more of a high flow resonator then? I Googled it, but cant confirm really. I feel we hadda link, i want to learn a bit more on it, as tone is more of my current issue, rather than volume. Current volume level of the exhaust is tolerable, if I could get it down, then GREAT!, but the big loser for me in my exhaust is the tone. The Flow is Perfect!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 12th, 2010, 5:50 pm

Most resonators don't add that much to restriction, since they are basically "Helmholtz" resonators (use wave interference as well for sound reduction, rather than just packing).

In terms of brand name exhausts...keep in mind exhaust piping diameter seems to add to volume as well (again, based on my experiments with two different catbacks).

So a 3" will tend to be a bit louder than, say, a 2.5" on the identical barrel IMHO.

W.r.t. tone, the eq length headers in those cars doesn't make for a very flattering exhaust tone IMHO - it's just how Legacy's sound IMHO.

BZ

Postby BZ » December 13th, 2010, 9:51 pm

^^ agreed on the tone on the leggys. What I can say is that the richer deeper tones sound the best on them. I'm trying to link up with Vexx to hear his contraption, I think i may go with the cherrybomb resonator mid pipe.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 15th, 2010, 8:24 am

yeah I replied to the PM, bear in mind I just noticed the DP/Exhaust flange started leaking/ hissing, so it may not be as accurate as it is supposed to sound. But barely noticable at idle/low RPM

Civic 2nr

Postby Civic 2nr » December 15th, 2010, 10:39 pm

i find my leggy sounds nice, lil rumble low rpm and aggressive high rpm :)

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » December 18th, 2010, 1:26 am

Civic 2nr wrote:i find my leggy sounds nice, lil rumble low rpm and aggressive high rpm :)

Yes it does :twisted:
But what did you tell me it was again?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 6th, 2011, 6:55 pm

anybody ever got an O2 sensor check light after exhaust/downpipe install?

installed a catless downpipe 4 days ago and i only now got a check light for 02 sensor

havent checked the connections yet, i'm assuming its a short somewhere, i can clear the check light but it comes on after driving for a while, so i know its connected.

i just wanna know if anybody had a similar experience, i noticed on other forums people got check light after downpipe install, my last legacy never gave me a check light after downpipe install

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 6th, 2011, 7:02 pm

btw... installed a full 3" HKS exhaust stainless steel, catless, HKS free flow resonator, HKS premium barrels etc

i hate the sound,

very quite on idle and mid range, but on top its sounds like vtech, BLEH

my last legacy sounded so sweet, nice low rumble Greddy ftw...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 7th, 2011, 1:26 pm

i just wanna know if anybody had a similar experience, i noticed on other forums people got check light after downpipe install, my last legacy never gave me a check light after downpipe install

It's kinda random in its occurence.

If you wanna get rid of it, any tuner should be able to adjust the light "trigger" limits if my memory serves. Never did that though. On another car, I used two spark plug antifoulers to act as spacers of sorts, which helped essentially "fool" the rear O2 sensor into not throwing a CEL. Saw that on a US forum...tried it, and it worked flawlessly for me.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 8th, 2011, 4:48 pm

i figured its random...

but then again, my previous legacy i used an original aftermarket downpipe and got no check light

on this new car i modified an STI downpipe, so i figure the sensor position or depth is slightly different?

the readings may be off for the sensor as the pipe is catless and excess fuel etc., because after the downpipe install i started getting fire from the exhuast on gear shifts... so it could be the excess fuel...

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 8th, 2011, 4:56 pm

i'll try the spark plug antifouler

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 9th, 2011, 8:34 am

so yuh made the leap?, lemme know how it turned out!

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 9th, 2011, 8:56 am

^ got me an 07 Legacy Manual 6MT, STI trims all over, dunno if its a "real" sti

but looks exactly like this, brembos too :)

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » March 9th, 2011, 11:00 am

Congrats on the new ride...you got a tuned by STI legacy, nice.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 9th, 2011, 12:27 pm

Niiiiiiiiiice.
I'm doing it the 'hard' way.
Soon doing a MT swap in the LGT, lol.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 9th, 2011, 8:06 pm

^ yea the manual is a whole different car

i was looking at an evo, but after getting this

its like an evo with the luxury interior :)

14speaker mc intosh system (mp3) newer model
dvd screen \ built in hard drive for mp3s\ guages display on screen etc

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » March 10th, 2011, 12:06 am

Lucky bastard...if i had known you were toting that much cash around i'd sell those bilstein for alot more..lol

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 10th, 2011, 8:24 am

^ lol ha..

sold my other car and got this car 2 days after...

i didnt even get time to miss the other car lol

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » March 10th, 2011, 5:15 pm

^^^^ wha kinda WHP the new one puttin down??

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » March 10th, 2011, 8:07 pm

havent dynoed yet..

about the check light for the 02 sensor

it was unplugged, after running some wires for the defis

:?

so check light is gone

Return to “SUBARU”