legacy guys with exhausts, help

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

copper_shot

legacy guys with exhausts, help

Postby copper_shot » September 5th, 2009, 11:11 am

so i'm considering installing two 3" HKS super drager barrels in my legacy

i already got a CATLESS 3" INVIDIA Downpipe installed

i want to leave the stock resonator, after that i would put a 3" or 2.5" pipe replacing the stock Y all the way back to the 2 barrels

my question is how noisy would this be?
would i hear it loud on idle?
or only at high RPMs?

i know alot of you have aftermarket barrels installed so let me knoww
if i can meet somebody to hear it as well?

Postby Redman » September 5th, 2009, 4:00 pm

When next you in south??

Later

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » September 5th, 2009, 4:55 pm

Dragger barrels are very loud you know...

the guys who have aftermarket have Fujitsobo Legalis which is very quiet. The rest have locally fabricated and Genomes.

The best thing to do is use JASMA approved barrels. That is Fujitsobo and Zerosports. The is also the "quiet" Greddy SP2 barrel....

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » September 5th, 2009, 5:51 pm

Ah have a pair of HKS silent power to install wanna know how that will sound....

Postby Redman » September 6th, 2009, 9:50 am

b18b_turbo wrote:Dragger barrels are very loud you know...

the guys who have aftermarket have Fujitsobo Legalis which is very quiet. The rest have locally fabricated and Genomes.

The best thing to do is use JASMA approved barrels. That is Fujitsobo and Zerosports. The is also the "quiet" Greddy SP2 barrel....

How these affect performance??
The J Force set up is pretty loud IMHO but I could live with it.
Im also looking at my options

LAter

Civic 2nr

Postby Civic 2nr » September 6th, 2009, 10:52 am

copper the prob is if you are trying to get the most gains from your exhaust you should replace the stock resonator & pipe as well. at the end of the day you are trying to replace the restrictive parts in your exhaust and by repacing all the other parts and leaving the stock resonator kinna defeating the purpose as this can cause a "bottle neck" situation in your car. so IMHO you should look into a full catback option :wink:

And redman if farley's exhaust is too loud he can always put in another resonator for you and that really quiets it down alot.

Postby Redman » September 6th, 2009, 11:18 am

Thanks Civic.

Later

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 6th, 2009, 7:39 pm

i know i would have a bottle neck at the resonator

but aftermarket barrels still gonna be more flow than the stock

i think i'll try it, hear how it sounds

then decide if i wanna replace the stock resonator, i'm really trying to avoid any loud annoying noise.

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » September 7th, 2009, 12:01 pm

Redman wrote:How these affect performance??
The J Force set up is pretty loud IMHO but I could live with it.
Im also looking at my options

LAter

How many resonators did you put on?

O Sh;t I just saw civic_2nr post I have on two btw and it sounds good enough for me.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 7th, 2009, 4:15 pm

How much for the farley catback installed?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 7th, 2009, 4:41 pm

i still waitin to see pics of this "farley" exhausts

Postby Redman » September 7th, 2009, 6:01 pm

copper_shot wrote:i still waitin to see pics of this "farley" exhausts

You sir are a true hater :D :twisted: :D
Was watching the budget

LAter
Last edited by Redman on September 7th, 2009, 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » September 7th, 2009, 6:04 pm

Damn!!!!!!! Sweet, really nice for a custom made system... :wink:

Postby Redman » September 7th, 2009, 6:28 pm

Ok Thats it
Hope this helps

Later

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 7th, 2009, 7:40 pm

EXCELLENT!

thanks alot

now PM me the costing :D

and what brand are those barrels?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 7th, 2009, 8:09 pm

^^Most likely, the barrels are custom made by Farley himself (believe it or not he does those as well). He's just an awesome dude at fabrication........wait till you see the stuff he does with CF :shock: :shock:

Bacon

Postby Bacon » September 8th, 2009, 12:47 am

Sweet........

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 8th, 2009, 12:08 pm

Redman wrote:
copper_shot wrote:i still waitin to see pics of this "farley" exhausts

You sir are a true hater :D :twisted: :D
Was watching the budget

LAter

sweet jesus

the look of that alone making me doubt taht i could afford it.

Postby tr1ad » September 8th, 2009, 12:47 pm

redman u went by jforce too?

Postby Redman » September 8th, 2009, 4:49 pm

Yes sir
I might add another resonator to tone down the volume a little.
I will be tuning on the dyno soon so will let you know the results

Later

Bacon

Postby Bacon » September 8th, 2009, 5:05 pm

So what's next.........

Lightweight crank pulley
Injectors
Fuel pump
Turbo
Internals
:?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

Postby Redman » September 9th, 2009, 2:42 pm

Not sure yet CB if I need anything more-have to start putting ting aside for the child.Due in Nov.

Im adding a resonator to cut the noise.But I still looking at the FMIC and Crank pulley but again Im pretty happy once I tune.

so It would really be a cost benefit issue. SO probably the crank pulley would be a easy add on

Any comments??

Later

Bacon

Postby Bacon » September 9th, 2009, 3:01 pm

Well Congrats Redman

Jus doh have as many chirren as Flex though :|........dah man financing half the Legacy's in the country :mrgreen:

I got my car with the Pulley so I cah comment on the b4 and after........But from what I heard it really does make a difference......

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » September 9th, 2009, 5:57 pm

Canadian Bacon wrote:Jus doh have as many chirren as Flex though :|........dah man financing half the Legacy's in the country :mrgreen:

hahahahhaah!!!!! Considering the age of some of them children I must be way over 70yrs old.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

I need the financing not them... :D

BTW!!! Congrats in advance Redman.... :wink:

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2009, 11:43 am

so can someone with a Jforce spec exhaust on an LGT post up a video clip of how it sounds? :mrgreen:

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 8th, 2009, 11:55 am

At least 2 of them will be at Movie Towne Saturday...................

BZ

Postby BZ » October 16th, 2009, 12:43 am

Farley is a Exhaust Master Blaster! Excellent workmanship! He did my downpipe as well, and I installed a 3" XO2 catback......TOTALLY different car :D

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » October 16th, 2009, 3:45 pm

Good going BZ congrats.....Farley all the way.... :twisted:

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » October 16th, 2009, 4:05 pm

Flex030, u think it wud be better to do the entire turbo back by farley or go aftermarket catback and let farley do the downpipe alone?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 16th, 2009, 4:18 pm

Return to “SUBARU”