Guide to buying an STi - details inside (draft)

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 25th, 2009, 10:22 am

Does an STI come tiptronic?

Only the 2008 STi A-line (this is the new hatch version) comes tiptronic. The "std"2008 STi comes 6MT of course.

None have ever been automatic/tiptronic before that.

Postby 16 cycles » August 25th, 2009, 11:51 am

Knight1 wrote:
Does an STI come tiptronic?

Only the 2008 STi A-line (this is the new hatch version) comes tiptronic. The "std"2008 STi comes 6MT of course.

None have ever been automatic/tiptronic before that.

1st page updates.

thanks for clarifying Kinght1 and thanks for the question crazy_ztune

ztune

Postby ztune » August 25th, 2009, 1:59 pm

^^ sure, I was lookin at tiptronic version and the owner said it's an STI. Upon using google and reading here, I now realize it has to be a WRX, good car though. I'll use tips posted here to confirm its model.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 25th, 2009, 3:18 pm

sure, I was lookin at tiptronic version and the owner said it's an STI. Upon using google and reading here, I now realize it has to be a WRX, good car though. I'll use tips posted here to confirm its model.

Most likely a WRX with an STi conversion. I know of a couple.

Use the facts that 16cycles posted on pg 1 (such as chassis number etc) to determine what model the car really started out as (GDA, GDB etc).

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 25th, 2009, 8:23 pm

16 cycles wrote:WRX guys – feel free to make a guide as well and attach if you’d like

This is a good idea....thinking I might start one. New thread? Will you have any input (don't wanna be the only guy posting :lol: )

Postby De Dragon » August 26th, 2009, 2:58 am

Why on earth would you want a tiptronic STi? :? :? :?

ztune

Postby ztune » August 26th, 2009, 4:54 am

^^ I never said I wanted one, but the auto would come in handy if any female member of my family would want to drive the car.

Postby 16 cycles » August 26th, 2009, 10:38 am

Knight1 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:WRX guys – feel free to make a guide as well and attach if you’d like

This is a good idea....thinking I might start one. New thread? Will you have any input (don't wanna be the only guy posting :lol: )

Knight1 yeah bro - you can start a new thread and i'll link it from here and vice-vera.

No worries if you the only one posting , lol, you got my support and help if anything needs checking out. Will help wider community probably more than this one. Hit me a pm if need be....

Peoples - please keep thread technical - thanks all

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » August 26th, 2009, 12:12 pm

This looks good guys Legacy, Sti, Wrx, Forester, TS (Subaru family :D )

We could all pitch in and make add ons in individual threads.... :wink:

Knight doh worry about being the only one posting it does not matter; the info is what’s important.

Maybe some ppl just like to keep info to themselves but if the entire world thought like that we would not have learned anything... :wink:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 26th, 2009, 2:43 pm

^^ :lol: thanks I guess. I'll take a crack at it over the next few days.

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » August 26th, 2009, 2:46 pm

Knight1 wrote:
U would be surprised how may ppl think that the only difference between the TS and the Sti is the Sticker on the trunk

Edited for accuracy :lol:

edited quite accurately as a matter of fact

Postby De Dragon » August 28th, 2009, 4:27 pm

crazy_ztune wrote:^^ I never said I wanted one, but the auto would come in handy if any female member of my family would want to drive the car.

:? :? :?
So, she cyah learn stick?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 9th, 2009, 10:57 am

Skyline_babe wrote:
Knight1 wrote:
U would be surprised how may ppl think that the only difference between the TS and the Sti is the Sticker on the trunk

thats pretty Scary! :lol: confusing a mere 97 Horse power replica look alike for a 300HP high performance brutal machine!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 9th, 2009, 5:58 pm

Quotation fail ^^^

Yuh added yuh comments to mine :lol: :lol:

evo-STi-k wrote:
Skyline_babe wrote:
Knight1 wrote:

thats pretty Scary! :lol: confusing a mere 97 Horse power replica look alike for a 300HP high performance brutal machine!

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » September 10th, 2009, 10:38 am

The people have a right to know the truth. Who are the sheeps and who are the goats :mrgreen:

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » September 10th, 2009, 10:39 am

The people have a right to know the truth. Who are the sheeps and who are the goats :mrgreen:

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » September 22nd, 2009, 6:22 pm

Bumping useful threads and washing out the useless one.... :x

Monster 101

Re: Guide to buying an STi - details inside (draft)

Postby Monster 101 » November 23rd, 2012, 7:36 pm

great thread........

i would like to know what color springs come with the sti....?

pink or black?

i know the shocks are pink?

thanks...

Postby 16 cycles » December 1st, 2012, 5:33 pm

from my recollection - and i could be wrong here.....the pinks are optional springs.....i've seen sti's with black and some with pink.....

should pay attention to year of manufacture and whether its the inverted strut design / if the model year compatible with your 'knuckle' - think the 04 sti-s have a thicker bracket at the end than the 02 etc...

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » December 23rd, 2012, 12:30 am

this is great !! i have one problem though...im looking around to buy a foreign used 06-07 sti and i cant seem to find a dealer anywhere can someone help please !!!!
please doh beat up about my name lol i very much wanted a subie years ago wen i made this acc ^__^

Postby honda hoe » January 7th, 2013, 3:49 pm

^ there's a black unregistered 06 sti for sale in longdenville for 180k

Postby 16 cycles » January 16th, 2020, 10:01 am

bump - seeing a few STis for sale that have updated body panels but are older models - hope this helps...

Return to “SUBARU”