Legacy Idle speed?
Posted: November 16th, 2008, 1:05 pm
by b18b_turbo
WHen you just start the car from the temp being the lowest....wha is your idle speed like?
Posted: November 17th, 2008, 6:02 am
by EYEandEYE
b18b_turbo,well my idle speed is about jus over 1000rpm. wonder if thats normal. is it? how does ECONOMY work for you guys?
Posted: November 17th, 2008, 9:41 am
by Ragnarok
1500rpm
Posted: November 17th, 2008, 3:50 pm
by b18b_turbo
if i start from cold, i get about 1500 to 2000. it seems quite high.....but i dont know if it is some mechanism to heat up the engine block?
eyeandeye, economy works very well. significant decrease in fuel consumption once you drive VERY passively and ensure that the 'eco' light stays on all the time.
Posted: November 17th, 2008, 3:54 pm
by VexXx Dogg
where to find eco button?
got my LGT 2 days ago
Posted: November 17th, 2008, 5:21 pm
by Ragnarok
Near the shifter..
Posted: November 17th, 2008, 8:01 pm
by copper_shot
b18b_turbo wrote:if i start from cold, i get about 1500 to 2000. it seems quite high.....but i dont know if it is some mechanism to heat up the engine block?
eyeandeye, economy works very well. significant decrease in fuel consumption once you drive VERY passively and ensure that the 'eco' light stays on all the time.
most cars have it...
on mornings and when cold it would raise to 1500 rpm to warm up and then slowly drop down and the temperature rises
Posted: November 17th, 2008, 10:03 pm
by EYEandEYE
b18b_turbo,copper_shot,where could I get a diagnostic done?
Posted: November 18th, 2008, 9:55 am
by b18b_turbo
EYEandEYE, i did one at master serv recently, they were quite good.
Posted: November 18th, 2008, 10:01 am
by b18b_turbo
VexXx Dogg wrote:where to find eco button?
got my LGT 2 days ago
its a BIG button next to the shifter....
Posted: November 18th, 2008, 11:57 am
by nismoid
on manual cars its near your left knee on the dash
Posted: November 18th, 2008, 2:06 pm
by b18b_turbo
eco mode on manaual?
i thought that you coulda be able to do that with your shifting....
interesting...
Posted: November 23rd, 2008, 3:59 am
by scooby
which master serv ir u dont mind me askin
Posted: November 23rd, 2008, 3:37 pm
by b18b_turbo
scooby wrote:which master serv ir u dont mind me askin
by morvart ("more-vaa") junction.....
morvart? that how u spell it? lol
Posted: November 23rd, 2008, 11:22 pm
by copper_shot
morvant
Posted: December 18th, 2008, 10:30 pm
by VexXx Dogg
checked the 04 service manual.
Idle speed supposed to be @ 650 rpm.
that is after the motor reaches operating temp, not on initial startup.
Posted: December 18th, 2008, 10:41 pm
by b18b_turbo
initial startup is what asked. but thanks
Posted: January 24th, 2009, 5:49 am
by jdeen
My idle on the STI is about 1500 when cold then drops to 500-600 when warmed up

Posted: January 24th, 2009, 7:29 pm
by b18b_turbo
we not talking about 2.5L USDM here Mr. J Deen....

Posted: February 10th, 2009, 2:47 pm
by shinakuma
On most Subaru ecu there iz a water temp vs rpm map and when cold u should b @ 1500-2000rpm. When water temp goes to 60 deg the idle drops to 650-700rpm. I can read ur ecu and change the idle rpm map and i also like 2 bring in d fans a little earlier especially for d heavy foot drivers. Call 681-1817 for more info.
Posted: February 12th, 2009, 2:30 pm
by Jhonny
900rpm is my speeed