Page 1 of 2
legacy gt vs wrx
Posted: January 6th, 2008, 10:28 pm
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
woee,,wah goin on....do yall think the legacy gt could outrun a wrx?stock for stock?? my frend n i argue abt this all the time so i thought i'd ask uall...wat yall think?? imo i think the legacy should win...
Posted: January 6th, 2008, 10:40 pm
by STi-N
power:weight wrx
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 11:49 am
by 15devils
i ran a wrx,don't know if he was stock,but i was,and i wet him..03/04 legacy
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 1:13 pm
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
cool cool...
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 1:19 pm
by scooby
15devils wrote:i ran a wrx,don't know if he was stock,but i was,and i wet him..03/04 legacy
me to
a sti blow meh out bad though
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 1:49 pm
by 15devils
^^ yeah yeah...i know my role round dem sti's
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 3:28 pm
by equipped2ripp
interesting... keep it comin'!
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 8:05 pm
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
wats the difference between the legacy's engine and the wrx??is the wrx jus detuned a bit?? cuz the legacy puts out 250hp n the 2rx 225 or 230???
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 8:06 pm
by STi-N
hmm.. well i guess the legacy could cut a stock wrx a$$
but then again 15devils not exactly stock
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 8:32 pm
by ImprezaDriver
the power is definitely more raw in a wrx..the legacy seems more refined although it's faster...
stock for stock, yes a legacy will win
Posted: January 7th, 2008, 10:17 pm
by equipped2ripp
The Legacy GT would lay it down on the Impreza WRX, but not on the Impreza STi...
Posted: January 8th, 2008, 8:00 am
by Alpha_2nr
15devils wrote:
i ran a wrx,don't know if he was stock,but i was,and i wet him..03/04 legacy
Eh heh? That was not the situation on saturday 15 devils

Seriously though, I'd put a Legacy GT and a stock 5MT WRX at about the same.
1/4 mile E.T.s put them around both the same times.
Remember although the GT has more hp, the GT is also auto, which has more drivetrain losses than the 5MT....and the Legacy is also significantly heavier......pwr/wgt here.
The Legacy GT would lay it down on the Impreza WRX, but not on the Impreza STi...
Never had a problem with any Legacy GT with my WRX. Stock GT....easy kills. They have good top end, but lack the acceleration due to weight. If they're tuned.....it gets harder, as their twin
scroll turbo gives them an edge in turbo spool.
There is one GT I'd stay very far from.....south car. Rumoured to be a stock STI killer......

Posted: January 8th, 2008, 9:05 am
by 15devils
^^^ oh gosh knight1,I can't come round you,yuh show meh that saturday

...but I know of the south sti killer !! and its not a rumor....
but again,I ran a black wrx before my "step up" .....note this was using the sport shifting,if i had it on normal tranny mode,I woulda get buss.guess he got some bad gas ?

Posted: January 8th, 2008, 9:24 am
by Alpha_2nr
oh gosh knight1,I can't come round you,yuh show meh that saturday ...but I know of the south sti killer !! and its not a rumor....
Yeah right. You know you putting out more hp than me
but I know of the south sti killer !! and its not a rumor....
Well you should know the car too

It is damn fast.
but again,I ran a black wrx before my "step up" .....note this was using the sport shifting,if i had it on normal tranny mode,I woulda get buss.guess he got some bad gas ?
Nah boi.....on pump gas, an untuned WRX might have some pressure if his car was knocking and what not. Depends. Or maybe he just was granny shifting.
Posted: January 8th, 2008, 10:45 am
by STI LEO
the wrx on stock boost 14.3 with just an exhaust
i saw 2 legacys hit 13.6 and 13.9 with the same mod, but one was man\the other
was auto. i dont know the boost the legacys were running.
Posted: January 8th, 2008, 10:55 am
by Alpha_2nr
^^IIRC that 13.6 Legacy was running a Boost Controller...so that can't count. Maybe the ACT Clutch would have helped his launch also.
A stock WRX with just an exhaust system AND
high flow cat hit 13.9/14.0 thereabouts. Times were decreased to 13.7 with proper fuel and
ECU recalibration (with stock boost still maintained). You can check the verification of this number on Prodrive's website, on their description of their packages.
I've never timed my car at it's new power levels to determine ETA over stock....so Wooosah

Posted: January 8th, 2008, 11:10 am
by GONEEE TRUUUU.....
good info guys...
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 9:20 am
by scooby
i remember the first time i raise my boost in the legacy
i stuck behind a STI like glue
pm me for details
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 11:04 am
by Alpha_2nr
^^Sounds interesting....or the STi really wasn't pushing.
Had a Legacy GT try to run up on me a few days ago......i kept it in fourth and maintained my distance from the moron w/o even pushing the car to full throttle.
Good thing......the poor fellow even did the driveby-on-the-shoulder...when every other sane person was slowing down for traffic.......just so he could pass and show off his amazing power

Posted: January 17th, 2008, 12:15 pm
by 15devils
^^^ ah boy,you just keep adding the kills to your list eh ?

was it a new shape legacy by chance ?
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 3:08 pm
by HORESTER
How much mods will it take to get a 2000 STi Forester up to the GT speed.
Would running at 18-20 lbs on forged internals do the trick?
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 3:13 pm
by Alpha_2nr
^^^ ah boy,you just keep adding the kills to your list eh ? was it a new shape legacy by chance ?
Yep. Sedan version to yours PCC. I doubt it was tuned.
And yes I still maintain that 15devils will beat me on the 1320.

Posted: January 17th, 2008, 7:19 pm
by 15devils
^^^LOL .....but for real...I think at the end of the day,it always comes down to power to weight........but what about a touge battle..initial d style

!!!!!
Posted: January 17th, 2008, 7:21 pm
by Alpha_2nr
But yuh car ain't stock 15devils
Yuh picking on we small TS here man

Posted: January 18th, 2008, 9:47 am
by tr1ad
hmmmm
Posted: January 18th, 2008, 11:02 am
by JWT
wrx once tuned will kill a legacy
but wrx can never hold on a to a legacy on launch if the person knows how to launch the legacy
Posted: January 18th, 2008, 11:46 am
by 15devils
^^^^hmmmm...I have join the darkside to learn that launch technique...I agree..a tune WRX is a different scene.....sorry dey knight1..ah didn't know your TS was RWD

Posted: January 18th, 2008, 5:57 pm
by equipped2ripp
JWT, RUM Tuned?

Posted: January 18th, 2008, 9:35 pm
by Alpha_2nr
hmmmm...I have join the darkside to learn that launch technique...I agree..a tune WRX is a different scene.....sorry dey knight1..ah didn't know your TS was RWD
Ayyyeeeeeee....I say that scoop on yuh bonnet was fuh show only
but wrx can never hold on a to a legacy on launch if the person knows how to launch the legacy
Ur outta ur mind. Launching from an auto? Plz.....a prper 5K rpm launch on a 5MT..while pretty wild....well...Legavy what?

Posted: January 19th, 2008, 6:57 pm
by evokilla
Knight1,SDM WRX

Tuned,so you probably fast as a JDM TS now