Page 1 of 3
difference bet legacy gt and spec b
Posted: April 19th, 2007, 5:12 pm
by killersuzuki
Hey, what's the difference in specs? Curious, because I really like these cars, and I'm looking into buying one.
Posted: April 22nd, 2007, 8:22 pm
by sweeks
Good quest here. Feedback will be appreciated.
Posted: April 22nd, 2007, 9:35 pm
by equipped2ripp
Posted: April 23rd, 2007, 7:44 am
by Zandolie
^
JDM not US Spec.
I know there are three variants; RSK B4 (pre face lift), GT Turbo and Spec B.
One site displayed HP ratings out the factory with the Spec B producing 280HP and the GT Turbo 260HP.
Crism has a few on their website...have a look.
Posted: April 24th, 2007, 2:42 pm
by acesinghit
Well.......let me answer your question wrt our local market.
There is the Legacy 2.0R; GT and Spec. B
The 2.0R is a normal DOHC 16V 4cylinder producing around 164HP and the GT is the same engine with a turbo producing 245HP. The Spec. B I saw was a 3.0L DOHC 24V 6-cylinder producing the same HP has the turbo. There is also a 4-cylinder spec. B with a 2.5 Turbo with upwards of 260HP. N/A versions have 16" rims with GT's riding on 17's and spec.B's on 18's.
Posted: April 25th, 2007, 2:06 pm
by Spirit R
The spec b comes with 18inch wheels, stiffer suspension and shorter gerar ratios for quicker acceleration
Posted: April 30th, 2007, 8:30 pm
by killersuzuki
Thanks for the info people!
Posted: June 29th, 2008, 9:36 pm
by b18b_turbo
x2floor gave USDM specs
difference is just that the Spec-B comes with a bilstein shocks
as for engine, they both come with EJ20 Twin Scroll Turbo
Thats a WRX STI engine with different turbo. (280 M/T, 260 A/T)
Dont let anybody fool you about brembos and drilled rotors, 320 hp, most came with the 18 inch wheels, but not all. Mines came with a door panel saying "B4" i dont know if the GT comes with that....
Posted: June 30th, 2008, 11:15 am
by copper_shot
b18b_turbo wrote:x2floor gave USDM specs
difference is just that the Spec-B comes with a bilstein shocks
as for engine, they both come with EJ20 Twin Scroll Turbo
Dont let anybody fool you about brembos and drilled rotors, 320 hp, most came with the 18 inch wheels, but not all. Mines came with a door panel saying "B4" i dont know if the GT comes with that....
yea my GT came with that B4 door panel
Posted: June 30th, 2008, 1:27 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Is the engine an EJ20
7? Check the first 5 letters of your engine code (cert copy or metal vin plate in your engine)........that'll confirm whether it's an STi "derived" engine or not.
But the 280hp for the MT (more like 276 to be exact) is correct.
yea my GT came with that B4 door panel
That's like optional trim. A RORO dealer in Chag had a Legacy N/A with those "B4" badged silver door sills.

Posted: July 14th, 2008, 9:07 pm
by blackNshine
x2floor,nice spec
Posted: July 22nd, 2008, 5:17 pm
by bushwakka
spec B = Bilstein suspension (very good!)
Posted: July 26th, 2008, 12:37 pm
by prakash
bilstein is the bomb
Posted: July 29th, 2008, 6:35 am
by Ragnarok
They say the B is for Bilstein,put the aero front bumper with built in fogs is the surest way to recognize one. They also come with 18 inch rims....
Posted: August 1st, 2008, 10:42 pm
by Reddo!
Hey guys...what about the engine oil...I would like to use Royal purple??? Hollar and let me know...what you all are using. Or what oil should I use?
Posted: August 21st, 2008, 3:13 pm
by acesinghit
^^^i staying far from royal purple........it damages engines in the long run and you can loose compression ratio as a result. not even RESTORE can solve this problem so I chose AMSOIL

Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 4:58 pm
by RoadWarrior
^^^ Royal Purple is a well respected oil, have you had a bad experience with it ? I've been using it for about 3 years now & less oil disappearing than with Mobil 1...and the engine is older...above 160,000 kms.
Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 8:29 pm
by copper_shot
x2floor wrote:^^^i staying far from royal purple........it damages engines in the long run and you can loose compression ratio as a result. not even RESTORE can solve this problem so I chose AMSOIL

i agree
a friend had a bad experience with his forrester
i use MOBIL 1 and change religously at 5000km
and don't forget to change the transmission, transfer case and diff oil
Posted: September 18th, 2008, 3:56 pm
by b18b_turbo
The USDM Spec-B's do not come with an aero front bumper.
Shouldn't there be some part of the chassis code that defines a GT from a Spec-B?
If not, they are the same car with different shocks! Don't you say?
You can take an EK4 SiR Hatch and give it all the EK9 trimmings, suspension, engine, headlamps and everything else but at the end of the say, its the chassis code that shows you what's what.
Posted: September 19th, 2008, 5:13 am
by Alpha_2nr
^^^i staying far from royal purple........it damages engines in the long run and you can loose compression ratio as a result. not even RESTORE can solve this problem so I chose AMSOIL
You read the AMSOIL site about the wear test comparison, didn't you?
Posted: September 20th, 2008, 9:06 am
by acesinghit
^^^i was hoping u in particular wouldn't post that.
Posted: October 16th, 2008, 9:39 am
by Watless
Hey fella try redline motor oil an if interested i got d oil and also strut bars (F&R)
and Im soon to carry other tune up parts for it.
Yeah I got one too
What's the difference with a specB
Posted: January 18th, 2009, 9:56 pm
by HGAwon40
I agree with Spirit R. I think he's got the right answer.
Bilstein Struts, shorter gear ratios & 18" rims. The front bumper is also aero and looks a bit more agresive.
You can corner at amazingly high speeds with this suspension.
Posted: January 19th, 2009, 10:27 am
by Flex030
copper_shot wrote:x2floor wrote:^^^i staying far from royal purple........it damages engines in the long run and you can loose compression ratio as a result. not even RESTORE can solve this problem so I chose AMSOIL

i agree
a friend had a bad experience with his forrester
i use MOBIL 1 and change religously at 5000km
and don't forget to change the transmission, transfer case and diff oil
You know ppl go blabbering there mouth about what oil good and what oil bad it comes down to what works for you. Once the oil meets the manufactures requirements it's all up too which of these brands you like; Mobil 1, Amsoil, Royal Purple, Redline etc……
So stop making claims that I’m sure there is no evidence to prove that the oil did it. Whenever someone gets an engine problem; I’m sorry for the brand of oil in it at the time because they will blame it on the oil. Buy the required grade of oil for any car either N/A or Turbo it does not matter the brand which ever works for you and change it on time.
The question should be what is the required grade oil and API requirements etc…. for my car?
Then you find out what brands meet the requirements and make your choice.
P.S
This is not a post war or did I mean to mash anybody corn I’m just tired of the comments and claims that can be misleading at times.
Posted: January 19th, 2009, 12:55 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Bilstein Struts
Again I say, some GT's came with them. [b]15devils[/b[ who posted in this thread....his GT had bilsteins.
Also, I took a look at an '06 PCK GT....new from the firm.....also on Bilsteins.
So stop making claims that I’m sure there is no evidence to prove that the oil did it. Whenever someone gets an engine problem; I’m sorry for the brand of oil in it at the time because they will blame it on the oil. Buy the required grade of oil for any car either N/A or Turbo it does not matter the brand which ever works for you and change it on time.
Well put sir.
Posted: February 27th, 2009, 6:20 am
by Sanctifier
Bilstein shocks...
Unusual forum for me...

... The 2004 (non-Spec B) automatic 2.0 GT Turbo Wagon also has Bilsteins,
big front rotors (with 2-pot floating calipers), 17" alloys and alloy trailing arms.

Posted: February 27th, 2009, 7:33 am
by Alpha_2nr
^^Exactamiento.
So to all those who feel the "
Bilstein Suspension" is the reason why the car's called a "Spec B"......it ain't.
WHat....the STi SPec C have "
Crazy stiff Suspension or something?" (it does BTW). Steups.
The Spec B and SPec C denominations are just just...denominations to show a variant which is more "sports"/"track" oriented than the mainstream model. The Spec B is a sportier Legacy......different gear ratios, rims, front valence. But the std GT can get same bilstein suspension. The SPec C is a stripped down, lightened STi, with upgraded turbo, mapping, and heads.....some features which you could get in the STi as an RA package in older generations.

Posted: March 4th, 2009, 12:45 am
by swift gti funatic
question tho... does N&M (neal and massy) bring in the legacy gt wagons?
last time i checked i only saw n/a versions... can anyone verify this?
Posted: March 4th, 2009, 1:00 am
by b18b_turbo
I kno its a bit off topic but....
i bought a GTech Pro yesterday....
Ran my legacy with bilsteins with the weight set at 3200 lbs
Got 14.01 secs, 267 hp A/T
Posted: March 4th, 2009, 10:21 am
by 15devils
^^^wow...14.01....thats impressive. I ran @ camden and my best time was 15.03,all I did was a ecutek reflash,the car was basically stock.May I ask what mods you have ?
oh...I ran with the ac on too