Views on Subaru TS Conversion

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

riderz

Postby riderz » June 6th, 2007, 10:22 pm

oh yeah, I will be the first to say when I am wrong. I forgot how LAME the export models can be. Sorry to have overlooked that, kuddos to you my boi. Why research when we have talented gurus like you to post such information.

JDM alll the way. To those export owners buy a real car.

Postby tr1ad » June 6th, 2007, 11:04 pm

but ent Knight1 have a SDM?

so which one is the real deal?

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 6:51 am

now y u hav to go there. I jus restless. SDM however do lack in the power department. They take well to a proper tune but not worth the hassle.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 7th, 2007, 7:09 am

Your tuner has spoken tr1ad, my car is a waste and isn't worth the hassle!!!

:roll: :roll:

Both SDM's and JDM's are the real deal. The JDM NB was only made for a few years at 250 bhp, before they started to cut back on power, even in the Japanese market. The SDM 02-04 is pretty much the international standard for WRX's on the market since that time.

In fact, as any talented tuner will tell you (check like our local AUTRONIC EMS tuner for example), the GDA export is easier to tune, has more flexibility with boost due to a slightly lower compression, and also, mods are easier to find in the US market than for the JDM models ( in terms of some mods, like PPG gearsets, and other internals).

Also, the export has a superior brake setup. :wink:

Tr1ad, it'd be better to direct your questions on the WRX/GDA to a REAL local, EXPERIENCED tuner (as I harked to above), who does both Ecu remaps, and EMS like Autronic, Motec, Power FC etc. No such persons exist on this or other local websites AFAIK. I can put you on to him if you desire.

As he rightly pointed out, (along with a well established[/b] tuner from barbados), the export model (as I stated above) is quite easy to tune, despite the lack of AVCS. The tunability of the car is easy cuz...well, it runs well on 95 RON with no pinging. :lol: :roll: :lol: :roll:

Postby tr1ad » June 7th, 2007, 9:02 am

so the power comparison between a SDM WRX an a JDM WRX differs by how much?

so your car tuned fuh d local gas......

massy love to hear any subaru that tuned for local gas

wrxdevil

Postby wrxdevil » June 7th, 2007, 9:25 am

CIVIL WAR GOES ON.....
jdm and sdm......i love them both........cause most of the parts the same....
now who want t do the conversion.....i have parts.....

STi-N

Postby STi-N » June 7th, 2007, 10:39 am

everyone should jus convert to TS.. TS is d baddest ride..

Postby tr1ad » June 7th, 2007, 10:49 am

ent!!!

dais y i get one

but a fwd tho :(

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 7th, 2007, 4:59 pm

everyone should jus convert to TS.. TS is d baddest ride..

jed daiz d real thing. I want a TS Wagon. :oops:

Tr1ad, you have a 1.5i? Are those difficult to get parts for?

so the power comparison between a SDM WRX an a JDM WRX differs by how much?

SDM/UK/US = 227 bhp

JDM = 250

JDM also has AVCS, higher rev limit, and a version 7 Subaru engine (Ej207). It's a great engine, in high demand in the us..cuz it's JDM only (and yuh know those fellas want everything JDM LOL). Exports carry the EJ205, without the AVCS, as I said, doing 227 bhp stock. That however, can be increased fairly easily.

wrxdevil

Postby wrxdevil » June 7th, 2007, 5:44 pm

^ some good info there knight!!!!

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 6:01 pm

Knight1 wrote:

Your tuner has spoken tr1ad, my car is a waste and isn't worth the hassle!!!

:roll: :roll:

Both SDM's and JDM's are the real deal. The JDM NB was only made for a few years at 250 bhp, before they started to cut back on power, even in the Japanese market. The SDM 02-04 is pretty much the international standard for WRX's on the market since that time.

In fact, as any talented tuner will tell you (check like our local AUTRONIC EMS tuner for example), the GDA export is easier to tune, has more flexibility with boost due to a slightly lower compression, and also, mods are easier to find in the US market than for the JDM models ( in terms of some mods, like PPG gearsets, and other internals).

Also, the export has a superior brake setup. :wink:

Tr1ad, it'd be better to direct your questions on the WRX/GDA to a REAL local, EXPERIENCED tuner (as I harked to above), who does both Ecu remaps, and EMS like Autronic, Motec, Power FC etc. No such persons exist on this or other local websites AFAIK. I can put you on to him if you desire.

As he rightly pointed out, (along with a well established[/b] tuner from barbados), the export model (as I stated above) is quite easy to tune, despite the lack of AVCS. The tunability of the car is easy cuz...well, it runs well on 95 RON with no pinging. :lol: :roll: :lol: :roll:

Boi you eh change nah.....you definitely dont have a sense of humor.

Firstly, all those platforms you talk about there are local tuners who can tune all of them and have the experience more than the barbados tuner you speak about. Now you may know stuff about the subaru transmissions, stuff you googled but now you going into my realm.

8.0:1 means anything to you. Thats the compression for JDM WRx and STi. Some of the USDM go to 8.5:1, so does the SDM and ADMs. The Higher compression adds some low down tq for the gearing rations found with these other cars.

The JDM however will deliver more top end Tq as they can accomodate better exhaust profiles for turbo spool with the aid of the AVCS. You want to knock local tuners.

There are more and more local tuners coming out of the woodworks on both the EVO and Subaru ECUs. The opensourse revolution is growing. Your barbados tuner for instance is still learning and unforuntate for him takes a lot of licks on the international communities for his wild unfounding theories that people shoot down as fast as he posts them.

So far I have seen three of his tuned cars parked up with unsatisfied owners. So to each his own.

BTW what have you tuned lately. Not wanting to knock your WRX, nothing wrong with it really, you have not put out the power that a stock WRX JDM will put out. Your former tuner from barbados as well used the same words I said before.

Lets not make a big fight about this, thats for little girls. If you want to knock the local tuning market (you know people who tune for a living) do so with fact not fiction. There are very good tuners in TT who keep the customer best interest in mind, people who would ensure the customer's car is in the best condition to be tuned, people who would not just take your money and then tell you check this one or that one to fix that boost problem or engine code.

Wrxdevil recently sold engine parts to people who received your barbados tune eh.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 7th, 2007, 6:13 pm

If you want to knock the local tuning market (you know people who tune for a living) do so with fact not fiction.

Wrxdevil recently sold engine parts to people who received your barbados tune eh.

Not knocking anyone on the local market. My car is being tuned by a "local". I don't run a "barbados tune" anymore FYI. And no it's not opensource (HINT HINT I need to install an MAP).

:twisted:
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on June 7th, 2007, 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 6:17 pm

Oh an BTW before this get out of hand. Knight1 is probably trying to suggest that TT tuners such as myself dont know what we doing. He right yess.

People, tuners and mechanics should always have your best interest in mind. Before anything is done on your car it should be service. The tuner should take time to inspect the car he is about to tune otherwise bad things could happen.

Tools, a tuner without tools and instruments is like a surgeon without a blade.

Lastly, a tuner should be able to explain all that he did to your car, for you to understand. He should point out problems he encountered and the solutions rendered.

These are the makings of a good customer/tuner relationship.

I have seen tuners take cars in any state, try to tune and send the cars and owners to other tuners and mechanics; still taking money from the client.

I am glad to see knight1 confidence in the local market. Sorry to see that he refuses to tell the truth on information I am sure he is privy to on other issues.

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 6:19 pm

Knight1 wrote:
If you want to knock the local tuning market (you know people who tune for a living) do so with fact not fiction.

Not knocking anyone on the local market. My car is being tuned by a "local". I don't run a "barbados tune" anymore FYI.

:twisted:

I know, you gone live.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 7th, 2007, 6:21 pm

^^Misinformation spreads wildly :wink:

Your barbados tuner for instance is still learning and unforuntate for him takes a lot of licks on the international communities for his wild unfounding theories that people shoot down as fast as he posts them.

As I recall, this same B'bdos tuner whom you're attacking was teaching YOU about Opensource when you were still running a piggyback.
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on June 7th, 2007, 6:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 6:28 pm

I agree it does, and the truth never finds an audience. People dont like me when I speak as though I must be conformed to lie. I prefer to let people know the real deal than hide true information in shadows.

There are a few good tuners in Trinidad, I speak specifically in Subaru here.

Jason Laing, Mark (cant remember his last name from cunupia), Gary Williams and a couple of others whom I can remember now. All with resumes and results, with customer base that can speak on their behalf. These guys dont have a ill work or dissappointed customer. Why I recommend them is because the think of the customer before self.

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 6:32 pm

Anyway I am on my last day of vacation, and I still have to go back to TOKYO so I cyar carry on with this now. Laters

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 6:38 pm

Knight1 wrote:^^Misinformation spreads wildly :wink:

Your barbados tuner for instance is still learning and unforuntate for him takes a lot of licks on the international communities for his wild unfounding theories that people shoot down as fast as he posts them.

As I recall, this same B'bdos tuner whom you're attacking was teaching YOU about Opensource when you were still running a piggyback.

And you are quite correct. That was a year ago. I was tuning before that and needed to learn the platform. He attempted to tune my car for about a month and then I took over. After that through my own research I started tuning myself. So far I have more than 22 Subarus out of my garage with happy customers. Two of which came to me after they were tuned by the BB tuner. I never said the guy cannot tune, I just feel if the customer car aint wokking dont touch it, fix it first, dont run for the money. Additionally I have tuned Powerfc and greddy. Playing around with Hydra EMS recently, easy enough IMO.

Since last we ever spoke I have tuned more cars and fix countless others. Not customer but friends. Its not the money for me. I just like it, and these cars are fast. Some of them just want safety other want fuel economy. But my general rule is only tune a properly working vehicle. Look at a couple of your SC members, they came to my garage after your tuning weekend, with major issues.

I have nothing with the mans ability, just his methods. BTW I was not attacking him, just stating another fact. His post in Enginuity and NASIOC are sometimes meet with contraversy and I must admit some of his theories do not have the sufficent data to substantiate them. I deal in absolutes, proper research is necessary. One should not experiment your ideas on another persons investment and this is where unsuspecting Trinis run to pay money because you referred them to him. When something goes wrong, who do they have to go to. WRXDEVIL for parts. When things like that happen I feel responsibile because if I recall we referred the BB tuner to you.

JWT

Postby JWT » June 7th, 2007, 10:42 pm

i am not siding with nay of you all crack heads in here

i drove both the WRX SDM and WRX JDM my final answer is JDM had more power.

also i have been very much informed STI contains fewer parameters in their ECU than the SDM which explains the lower HP rating of the SDM

also i would never allow anyone to do a conversion from TS to WRX or STI just buy the blasted car and finish.
too much nitty gritty to change

also i am against people who own WRX or TS and did conversions and call them selves STI because they are NOT check your chassis GDA not GDB(sti)

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 10:47 pm

lol waam yuh fraid a ts beat yuh.....doe worry paddna we have yuh back

JWT

Postby JWT » June 7th, 2007, 10:50 pm

riderz wrote:lol waam yuh fraid a ts beat yuh.....doe worry paddna we have yuh back

i eh fraid no TS WRX or STI except leo's car and it must be stock ehh :lol: :lol:

but i do not race pallies 8-)

beside dirk in japan iwill ask him to check a evo for meh

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 11:09 pm

saw two for 2,120,000yen evo 9s

riderz

Postby riderz » June 7th, 2007, 11:10 pm

I also saw the 2008 impreza, looks better in person but the STI 2.5 Forester is the bomb. That rules

evokilla

Postby evokilla » June 8th, 2007, 11:58 pm

OHH LARDDDD
ONE MAN (RIDAZ SUCKIN UP TO JASON LANG FROM ECUTEK AFTA MESSIN HIM UP ON THE SCOOBY SITE)
D NEX ONE FEEL HE HAV AH SPEC C STI WITH HE BIG HEAD AND BIG MOUTH

JWT.. U NEED TO SHUT UP.. U EVEN DO ANY MODIFICATIONS TO THAT CAR URSELF?

Postby tr1ad » June 9th, 2007, 12:57 am

he eh need to

car come with that

now go play in traffic

unless u wanna test real speed

evokilla

Postby evokilla » June 9th, 2007, 10:27 am

CAR COME WITH DAH? WHICH MEANS HE KNOW NOTHING ABT THESE CARS AND NEED TO STOP ACTING LIKE HE A BIG THING
HE KNOWS NOTHING ABT SUBARU..

SPEC C? HE DOH EVEN KNO WAT A SPEC C LOOKS LIKE

Postby tr1ad » June 9th, 2007, 8:27 pm

clearly penis envy

but doh buss a fuse nah pallie

riderz

Postby riderz » June 10th, 2007, 5:11 pm

evokilla wrote:OHH LARDDDD
ONE MAN (RIDAZ SUCKIN UP TO JASON LANG FROM ECUTEK AFTA MESSIN HIM UP ON THE SCOOBY SITE)
D NEX ONE FEEL HE HAV AH SPEC C STI WITH HE BIG HEAD AND BIG MOUTH

Firstly, I dont suck up to anyone. I never called names of people so KMA.

Secondly, I never said Jason Laing could not tune. So if I come here and recommend him is because he can and does so with results. If you know something different say so for everybody please.

Have a blessed day

west_minist

Postby west_minist » June 10th, 2007, 7:13 pm

To be honest here with you Dirk, not interested this hit and run stuff, but I would like you to post all of my post on Enginuity and Nasioc.

You need to stop w/ this childish way of yours and all of this crap. You think people are study and if there believe you and do not do research, I feel for them.

I thank you very much for your hospitality and I do not know why you take this stance, but it is ok, because as we know, we are suppose to be moving on, but then again, it would be to your advantage.

Let me set the record straight for those from Barbados, which you seem to put out misinformation.

WRXDevil sells engine for swaps. THe majority of change since Barbados are swaps. I do not tune cars in Barbados, since 95% of models are 95-00.

We have more non turbo's, that it is frightening. if we kill engines that just got put up to race the night to beat someone, so what. WRXDevil will enjoy like.

Let me say this. We had Subaru from 1980. You not got a subaru. I knew Subaru's from 1993. And if I do not know, I would w/ my Ex-Prodrive Engineer or the Subaru GOd here in BB. We have many people. So we do not have people rising up like you to mislead.

Ask Tams about Martez :) You are just rediculous.

I post on forums for information and data sharing. That is what it is for. What do you do, except to take and not give back.

Anyone can access any forum and search for my name "west_minist" and see the lies that you put forward about.

For months I have heard that you have been attacking me. I said nothing. Why, I want to hear it and see it for myself. So you finally showed your face.

All those that come in touch with can tell anyone about my personally, except those your have infected.

Any person reading this topic, if there have time to waste is this childish behaviour you continue to show, always talking about Alvin, but you are no different.

I notify potential customers to service the car before I come. If I come and the car is not service and is believe in good working condition since the last 3 months tune, I will tune.

After all, the tune suppose to work good as it soon need maintenence.

I do not run up and down the run and call that a tune.

My tunes are tested on Highways and mountain runs, because when I don't, if tune works good there, it will hold. I do follows ups free after the first tune.

I am not the one that said you do it free and still charge. We have a new term here.

Just for the records, since I will call names.

Tariq, car was tuned, but the customer decat and had boost spikes over 21psi. The car was stage 1 tuned to either 19-20psi

Rudy car was a race car and came to me a sunder for a gas tune. People, a gas tune is a tune that remove timing ot add a little fuel for better response and less pining. it was not stage 1 or stage 2 tuned.

THe first thing I notice on the car was that the AVCS was not reading. On Sunday, after driving the car, it started to read and I told the customer he needs to check this out, because it could be block lines or a oil pressure problem. Again, the car was gas tuned. Not boost.

One leaving, a noise was heard and the customer noted that he heard it before, but this was the loudest. So we advice to get it check out.

Again, this car use to race from my understanding and we are not sure if this was results over time. The customer, who became our friend left the car to be check out.

Let me say this now to you.

I have never lost and engine.
ALL customer are customer tuned. Not base maps and slight fixes and release.
I have been tuning for almost 3 years now and I stop experimenting, and if I did, this is what put business before others. You see this around the world, especially in the tuning business.

Yes, one day I will lost an engine. It is part of the business, but I do not go out there and run aggressive timing on stock full. Let me say this again, ALL of my Cars are custom tuned.

If I do not tune in TT, I tune in Canada, USA, Cyprus or Australia.

You know why I do not look for alot of customers, because my Network Engineering job takes up too much of my time and all of my customers can tell you that I am a very devoted person and try to please them.

This is one of the reasons that I am taking a break from Tuning, for everyone knows this.

Either was, you are free to post.

I will not be looking back at this post and you can ridicule me now. Get your passie to join in.

I will not waste any more this will your child and stupid accusations.

I always believe in quality and not mass production.

All the best to you and your Wife. You have been nice, for what ever reason you had.

Again everyone, all the best and good luck.

I am done.

P.S People would always trust me. You know why, you have tainted your name.

You you are good, stop staying it. Let others tell you that man.

Just to let you know, many of us was in opensource, going through the roms, pulling maps put. Can the you do this? I guest you can now. I was doing this since 2005-2006 :)

When you do not have support for a car, what do you do, you wait for Enginuity. I do not. You know why, because my only learning goes into action and start a rom definition support. I forgot you love PM. That is why we do not see you on the international forums.

Either way, I cannot waste time w/ you. You need to go and do your army work. Let EcuTek and others grow in this business. We have met our accomplishments.

Again, good bye and all the best in your many many business.
Last edited by west_minist on June 10th, 2007, 7:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

west_minist

Postby west_minist » June 10th, 2007, 7:15 pm

One more, I do not rip of people with prices for stuff you sell.

Enjoy, you free to post and can Ban me from scoobytnt.com

It is a pity that you are part of that.

Return to “SUBARU”