MY WERD!!! She Breathing Right NOW!!

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Re: PANG!! - Rebuild.....

Postby Monk BANzai » May 15th, 2011, 1:36 pm

Yeah Edward.....he's done a few here and they are strong builds and tunes....in fact one legacy (thats OH MY GAWD QUICK!!) has been tuned 18 months now and still running hard...supposed to talk to him this week coming.....

fscker pricey though....

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » May 16th, 2011, 9:02 am

Remote tuning?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 16th, 2011, 12:00 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Yeah Edward.....he's done a few here and they are strong builds and tunes....in fact one legacy (thats OH MY GAWD QUICK!!) has been tuned 18 months now and still running hard...supposed to talk to him this week coming.....

fscker pricey though....

Pricey? Well I don't know about now...but 4 years ago his prices were mighty good. :shock:

I think I was part of the first batch of owners whose cars (mainly bugeyes at the time) he had done locally. Some of those cars ended up going different directions (e.g. Ecutek), others stayed.

Remote tuning is fine. Not perfect, but companies like iSpeed/Crawford offer similar services thru the EcuTek licensed software.

That said, make sure the tuning is as YOU like it for your car (e.g. max power, or maybe a conservative tune, whatever). 8-)

Postby Monk BANzai » May 16th, 2011, 11:26 pm

i tuning for Torque...not HP.....but we'll see..i still have to break in this new concoction for 1,000 km (out of boost) on a stock map before i do anything anyways....

Postby Monk BANzai » May 19th, 2011, 12:57 pm

we were getting a hard start but got that sorted....

Vyshall!! wheh meh power steering Pump jed?....

and NO its not Prosport Guages.....geez!....

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 19th, 2011, 3:55 pm

what was causing the hard start?
Check Damian if you need a new PS pump or if Vyshall falls thru.
What injectors yuh running?
*takes breath*
yuh installing the VF37 one time?

great to know progress is made.

Postby Monk BANzai » May 23rd, 2011, 2:00 am

^^^ a loose connector to one of the pully sensors.

As for first driving impressions......i think this is how a Legacy should be moving. Remember my previous beef with the car being lazy and even with the Turbo "sidegrade" the lag that i got? I think the motor from the get-go was on its way out....i havent been in boost alot since i got the car back friday as im doing this first 1000km to "Break in" the engine..... but i tonight i had no choice but to mash out to avoid a kant running into the back of me and the car spun VERY quickly to 1Bar.

Even out of boost the Sti block is different...(grins)....i like the combo thus far....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 23rd, 2011, 7:44 am

^^Well it sounds like since the engine is properly built now (as opposed to the old one being on it's way out) you should be getting a better feel of what the car can do with that turbo setup.

Did you check ADAH for the PS pump? Even if he doesn't have it, he may be the guy to get it for you.....

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 23rd, 2011, 7:48 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^^ a loose connector to one of the pully sensors.

As for first driving impressions......i think this is how a Legacy should be moving. Remember my previous beef with the car being lazy and even with the Turbo "sidegrade" the lag that i got? I think the motor from the get-go was on its way out....i havent been in boost alot since i got the car back friday as im doing this first 1000km to "Break in" the engine..... but i tonight i had no choice but to mash out to avoid a kant running into the back of me and the car spun VERY quickly to 1Bar.

Even out of boost the Sti block is different...(grins)....i like the combo thus far....

excellent 8-) 8-)

Postby Monk BANzai » May 31st, 2011, 12:27 am

Update. Did the 1000km oil change today...(to get rid of any sediment that wudve gotten loose since the rebuild).....switched to AMSoil. Was using Eneos before. But the AMsoil didnt turn color at all. You cudve reused the oil! ....I have to ad an oil additive tomorrow ....BUT!! I had a scare on Friday night... car suddenly started to misfire out of boost and move very sluggish. plus a CEL came on and the "cruise" control light started blinking incessantly.......Immediately yunno im thinking.. "naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah man!!!!"....took the car by a colleague Sat morning and we spent most of th morning going through a host of stuff...including indicating misdiagnosed oil leak that i thought had sprung due to me not changing the engine seals on the STi block.

We ended up by Full Traction Auto (good fellas) and they did a scan and it alleviated my worst fear..that the internals were damaged. It was a case of either the plugs from the STi failing, or the coil packs needed attending to.... Specifically in Cylinder #3. Ended up getting some Denso Iridium plugs (7's) from Dave in Cunupia.

when I pulled the plugs on Sunday (a job i will not be doing again..ah go pay to do that we...) you can see how wet the old NGK's were. The difference is chalk and cheese. The Denso's are almost double the price of the NGK's but wowow.....great response.

After the oil change I did my first all out run. To those that know the road by ACL in O'meara to go to Larry Gomes Stadium, from a dig, i was doing 165kph by the entrance to Larry Gomes...boost averaged around 18lbs (constant) but it spiked at one time to 20lbs. Its was cool today in Arima so the temperature helped as well.

I think now we can do a proper tune with this setup and see how the hybrid turbo responds to it.

I'd recommend anyone that owns the Legas to get the water temp and oil pressure gauges. Its only then you realize what is really going on in the engine. The stock temp needle goes to 2/3 the way and stops...but on the gauge the temp fluctuates depending on driving style and conditions.

Question on cams though. Why do most Subie owners depend on their turbo setup to make the power when you can also use cams (COSTWORTH 268's or 276's for street use)?

Re: MY WERD!!! She Breathing Right NOW!!

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 3rd, 2011, 9:50 am

Maybe its the price. How much are those cams?
is cosworth yuh call dey yunno! I cant even spell that, far less afford it.
at what point during mods are cams really necessary?
I think a STI setup is meant to breathe really well, stock STI heads/blocks running 400+ whp.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 28th, 2011, 7:27 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Question on cams though. Why do most Subie owners depend on their turbo setup to make the power when you can also use cams (COSTWORTH 268's or 276's for street use)?

You need the cams to match the turbo. Bigger cams tend to make power higher up in rpms. The problem boils down to turbo efficiency at those rpms.

btw with regard to switching to amsoil oil after the first 1000km, i think that is a little premature... I ran dino oil till about 3000kms then switched to the good stuff.
Though within that 3000kms I changed oil 3 times. But everyone has there own way of breaking it in...

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 29th, 2011, 8:38 am

The stock AVCS cams can do a lot especially on the leggy as it has dual AVCS - I dont see cams being necessary unless the oem ones are FUBARED.
The tune is what makes the difference - I'm not sure of the AVCS control limitations of open source or ecutek - the vipec makes it all good for me.

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » July 29th, 2011, 12:42 pm

Intake limited to 40degrees advance.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 29th, 2011, 2:15 pm

Ragnarok wrote:Intake limited to 40degrees advance.

single avcs is 40 intake an fixed exhaust.
dual avcs is 30 intake and 40 exhaust.

VexXx Dogg wrote:The stock AVCS cams can do a lot especially on the leggy as it has dual AVCS - I dont see cams being necessary unless the oem ones are FUBARED.
The tune is what makes the difference - I'm not sure of the AVCS control limitations of open source or ecutek - the vipec makes it all good for me.

factory cams can only do so much. Again it comes down to turbo size and where it makes power. Big turbo setups (which is relative) may make power way beyond the limit of stock cams.

Dont wanna have your cams peaking by 4500 rpm and you turbo peaking past 7000 or vice versa.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 2nd, 2011, 11:53 am

^^ hmm....

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 2nd, 2011, 2:53 pm

good point jnqaz, I hear ya.
I guess it all boils down to intended purpose.

Return to “SUBARU”