LEGACY GROUP TRINIDAD; THE PLACE WHERE WE MEET ;-)

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

marcus8860

Re: LEGACY GROUP TRINIDAD; THE PLACE WHERE WE MEET ;-)

Postby marcus8860 » March 16th, 2015, 2:52 pm

Ways :( so do you know what the actual problem is ?

legacyspecb

Postby legacyspecb » March 16th, 2015, 11:24 pm

turbonator wrote:Fun is joke. After some pain we finally dropped the transmission yesterday. The bad news is the flex plate seems to be in good condition. But since I already ordered the new one I will go ahead and change it when it arrives. The other bad news is that one of the revolution sensors was broken during the removal process. Does anyone know where I might get a used one to replace it? The sensor is the one that the red arrow is pointing to.

Well good news and bad news... lol

bad news is it happens alot...i've seen alot of mech's break the sensor when trying to drop that very heavy ass BL 5 tranny..so don't feel to bad. I doubt u wud get this used unless u find someone with a shot tranny. I doubt those dealers in the bamboo would part with the sensor alone.

Good news is that its easy to get this part new tho :) Str8 from the motherland.

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » April 5th, 2015, 1:49 pm

thats the front speed sensor.
U can get them foreign used BTW.

i actually have one for testing purposes. 3 pin sensor. same as the two at the back.

and how the mech break it? slackness.

Postby DVSTT » April 5th, 2015, 8:08 pm

Any of you all running hella supertone?

passing180

Postby passing180 » April 7th, 2015, 4:57 pm

Yea.. Im running the Hella

I took off the front metal covering to paint it over and messed up the gasket.. Horns sound like crap now

Postby DVSTT » April 7th, 2015, 5:08 pm

passing180 wrote:Yea.. Im running the Hella

I took off the front metal covering to paint it over and messed up the gasket.. Horns sound like crap now

I guess I'll leave mine the colour they come then. Did you hook up the relay or you just plugged it in straight to the old wiring?

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 16th, 2015, 3:30 am

Actually I took down the transmission at home so the broken sensor is my fault :cry:. Yesterday I got the car back up.and running but I'm still hearing the 'noise'. I was thinking that I could probably log the car to see if it is 'knock' from the engine or something else :?

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 17th, 2015, 8:12 pm

Well I did an oil analysis on the oil but it didn't show any excessive amount of metals so it seems that the rod bearings are still intact. I also checked the knock sensor which seems ok. Right now I'm totally lost as to what could be causing this. Any of the resident legacy/subie experts have any ideas? The noise sounds similar to rod knock.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 18th, 2015, 2:02 am

This is a clip of the sound I'm hearing.

[url]Bl5 legacy knock: https://youtu.be/676VEabUmjc[/url]

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 18th, 2015, 2:03 am

You can hear the knock/rattle just as I step on the gas and the rpm starts to increase.

passing180

Postby passing180 » April 19th, 2015, 1:01 am

DVSTT wrote:
passing180 wrote:Yea.. Im running the Hella

I guess I'll leave mine the colour they come then. Did you hook up the relay or you just plugged it in straight to the old wiring?

I hooked it up straight.

It was loud as ****

passing180

Postby passing180 » April 19th, 2015, 1:09 am

turbonator wrote:Actually I took down the transmission at home so the broken sensor is my fault :cry:. Yesterday I got the car back up.and running but I'm still hearing the 'noise'. I was thinking that I could probably log the car to see if it is 'knock' from the engine or something else :?

A little off topic.. What scanner/tool you use to log your car ?

I have tried so many scanners/usb to obd cables and software and cant get any live data on my BL5 Legacy GT

Dareem

Postby Dareem » April 21st, 2015, 8:53 pm

saw a white legacy turbo tonight on the highway. has a big sticker across its rear glass. i think its reg is pcj. saw it do a mad drive and also some flames coming out exhaust. looked beast. i frighten to push my legacy that hard yes.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 23rd, 2015, 9:33 am

turbonator wrote:You can hear the knock/rattle just as I step on the gas and the rpm starts to increase.

Ive had this on an old forester but that engine died before fixing. Anyway i bought a legacy about 2 months ago with very bad compression and had SO MANY things to fix its not funny, but i do all my own work so its not an issue.
I have this same problem. Last night i put in some new gauges and driving today in traffic my oil pressure alarm on the gauge went off. saw it dipped to 10psi then after some more driving it would even hit 5psi in gear at idle. in neutral it would be about 8psi. way too low. my guess is low oil pressure is causing the knock on rev. Going to check the oil pump backing plate screws as these loosen very easily and install a killer B oil pickup. Will keep you updated

air wick

Postby air wick » April 23rd, 2015, 10:56 am

Did you install a mechanical or electronic gauge? What was the initial oil pressures?

Those oil pressures real low...

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 23rd, 2015, 11:24 am

Both original and replacement were electronic gauges but the original only had a limited range and was difficult to read.
The needle usually sat just below the halfmark between the 0psi and 25psi marks, at idle.
Legacy people what are your oil pressures at idle on a fully warmed up engine?

Lance

Postby Lance » April 23rd, 2015, 11:36 am

What is your Idle RPM?

you shouldn't really compare oil pressure based on whether the car is on idle or not. A lot of cars idle at slightly different RPMs and Oil pressure is very sensitive to any fluctuation at idle. A 100RPM difference could move the pressure from 10psi to 20psi.

Cars with aftermarket tunes and intakes are also notorious for reporting high oil pressures at Idle. Little do they know its just their tuner being lazy. Usually the tuners do not wish to re-scale the MAF accurately to deal with shitty idles after intake installs so they just raise the Idle RPM to artificially smooth out the response. Then you have the owners coming and beating up their chest "Dawg my Idle Oil pressure is 35psi"

In any event, check and see if your idle is normal as this can affect your oil pressure. Keep in mind that Subaru recommends that 10psi per 1000RPM is within tolerance (as per the service manual).

Check the simple things first.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 23rd, 2015, 12:30 pm

idle is 800rpm verified via romraider. I increased the idle by 100rpm just to check and oil pressures only increased about 3psi. cruising, wot and cold start pressures are all good, albeit on the lower side of fsm. sounds like a stuck bypass, loose oil pump plate or cracked oil pickup to me.

I replaced the block when i got the car and the previous owner claimed the water & oil pump were fairly new so i have an oil pump to swap in. will do that on the wkend.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 23rd, 2015, 12:42 pm

Seems like your process of elimination is spot on. The mechanical possibilities you mentioned seems like logical places to start.

Let us know what it turns out to be.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 23rd, 2015, 5:46 pm

Passing180 - I am trying to use a tactrix 2.0 cable with the rom raider logger to log the car.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 23rd, 2015, 5:48 pm

KiD - I don't have an oil pressure gauge in the car. The car is basically bone stock. Yesterday I got a chance to put the car on a ramp and it seems the sound is comming from between the engine and the transmission by the torque converter housing. Also the engine oil is fairly new, its Amsoil 20w -50 with around 2000km on it.

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » April 25th, 2015, 7:17 am

turbonator wrote:You can hear the knock/rattle just as I step on the gas and the rpm starts to increase.

sounds like low oil pressure buddy. what does the oil press gauge say?

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 25th, 2015, 8:07 am

The car doesn't have an oil pressure gauge.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 25th, 2015, 4:13 pm

Havent got around to doing it yet, have to swap a forester head & block for my padna and a lancer engine to replace for my sis. I did however learn that all dual avcs engines have the 12mm oil pump. i can remember that before i swapped my block, i didnt hear the knock even though that motor had very bad compression and constant blue smoke pouring out the exhaust. I used the oil pump that came on the f/u block which is most likely a smaller pump. Def will check that out.

yardee2386

Postby yardee2386 » April 29th, 2015, 4:33 pm

new to subaru legacy and i bought 2004 local legacy and it needs a head and block so is the foreign used ones work on the local model i believe its a sohc

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 29th, 2015, 4:44 pm

green pbu?

yardee2386

Postby yardee2386 » April 29th, 2015, 5:32 pm

KiD wrote:green pbu?

lol yea u kno it man..trying to source and eng for it

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » May 18th, 2015, 6:44 pm

Update on low oil pressure: so I've been driving around since, and the past few days oil pressure has dropped to dangerously low levels hitting 6,4 and even 2 psi for fractions of a second while slowing to a stop. Parked up the car this afternoon and pulled the oil pan. Both bolts on oil pickup were loose and the o ring on it was completely shredded, with hints of silicone around it as if a repair was attempted. I replaced it with my killer b pickup but haven't mounted the pan back on yet. Will update with pressures when I do but I believe I've found my low oil pressure problem
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1431989050.636080.jpg

Postby Ted_v2 » May 18th, 2015, 7:15 pm

Dang son. You just saved yourself plenty engine woes

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » May 18th, 2015, 7:28 pm

I also found a pre turbo exhaust leak. Time for more spool :D
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1431991705.143650.jpg

Return to “SUBARU”