impreza 1.6 ts turbo kit ??

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

rud3939

Postby rud3939 » December 10th, 2006, 10:42 am

So what u all saying there is no way to hot up that 1.6 engine.

by the way need advice on best engine oil for ts 1.6 eng and gear box oil and how to change that gear box oil my Mechanic does not know how also need to get park lignt bulbs who can i go to
Any suggestions fell free to contact me rudy3166@yahoo.com

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 21st, 2006, 12:28 am

There are alot of things you can do for the 1.6 TS engine.

Check www.scoobytnt.com for details (see the Powertrain section). This site also has a links to pages from the Impreza Service Manual......(Service and M'tce section).

You can look at:

Intake from COBB tuning, K&N, or Injen.

2.25" catback exhaust (either from COBB tuning, or you can try to get a stock WRX catback exhaust - check 15devils...he has mine).

Custom Equal Length exhaust headers.

Lightened Flywheel and Clutch from either ACT or Fidanza (helps get more power to the road).

If you want to go the extra mile (and cash), you can also look at some cam upgrades, which are available for the TS, from COBB tuning. They have stage 1 and 2 cams, along with COBB AP maps to re-tune your ECU for the new cam upgrades....

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » December 21st, 2006, 1:12 am

so wait..i eh know if anybody ask.but this is a simple yes or no question..so cant u jus put a STi engine in ah TS and done??/

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 21st, 2006, 11:24 am

so wait..i eh know if anybody ask.but this is a simple yes or no question..so cant u jus put a STi engine in ah TS and done??/

It's not that simple, although many people think it is.

Alot needs to be changed....e.g....the fuelling system is different for one. Harness is different.

Additionally, the gearbox/auto tranny would need to be swapped to WRX or STi spec...which means the drive axles and rear diff assebly would need to be changed too.....and by changing the rear diff/axle assembly, brakes would need to be changed, and suspension by extension.

So the costs would keep piling up.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » December 21st, 2006, 12:09 pm

oh okay cool so it wud cost alot..shox i say ah TS is like ah B14 and the WRX was like the Primera :lol: uh jus take out the Sr and drop it in ah b14 and bolt up if u know what i meant...or like the evo 3 and the libero jus drop and bolt..i didn;t know its all of that...

but ent if u go in the bamboo and buy ah complete WRX engine u get the harness and ting like that and axels and ting..so wont it be like still simple in a way? once u get it complete like axels,diff,harness, ECU,engine, gearbox and all u hadda do is go and get the STi Brembo brakes? or i making it sound 2 easy dey??

so derefore also..if uh know uz ah man like speed, it wud be sense cost wise 2 jus buy ah WRX instead of ah TS and making it fast??

and waz the normal price for ah turbo imprezza and WRX?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 21st, 2006, 12:37 pm

but ent if u go in the bamboo and buy ah complete WRX engine u get the harness and ting like that and axels and ting..so wont it be like still simple in a way? once u get it complete like axels,diff,harness, ECU,engine, gearbox and all u hadda do is go and get the STi Brembo brakes? or i making it sound 2 easy dey??

Won't that cost money???

and waz the normal price for ah turbo imprezza and WRX?

Impreza TS = 80-90K
Impreza WRX = 165-185K
IMpreza WRX STi = 190K-220K

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » March 24th, 2007, 2:41 pm

What about TS to WRX conversion.....that should be cheaper.

riderz

Postby riderz » March 27th, 2007, 1:18 pm

It would be cheaper than buying an WRXi but even if you swap everything you still would not have a WRX. There are many issues from the gas tank and harness swap to the suspension. All and all once you make the conversion dont expect the kinda performance that a Stock JDM WRX would put out.

anielkhan

Postby anielkhan » March 27th, 2007, 5:30 pm

Jason d way u talking better u stick with the nissan and mitsu brand name of cars ........ Or save ya money and is a good bit a money u talking about and buy a WRX or a STI

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » August 9th, 2008, 11:52 am

Intake from COBB tuning, K&N, or Injen.

2.25" catback exhaust (either from COBB tuning, or you can try to get a stock WRX catback exhaust - check 15devils...he has mine).

Custom Equal Length exhaust headers.

Lightened Flywheel and Clutch from either ACT or Fidanza (helps get more power to the road).

how much these basic mods will cost?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 9th, 2008, 6:15 pm

^^Mods from GOOD brands cost a little more than your average cheapo Ractive part in the shop down the road.

A K&N Intake = check W2J or ADAH303 ...probably around 1600 or maybe a lil more.

Headers = depends on who you go by to get them done.

Catback exhaust = again, depends on which shop you go by to get it done......unless you buy a used WRX exhaust.

I think the Lightened flywheel should be edited from that post as I double checked.....didn't come across one for the SDM TS. The lightened crank pulley is another option - >1000 TTD.

They'll improve power.....but don't expect a massive 30 hp gain. The suby ecu (as with most cars these days) isn't as responsive to drop in mods as with older cars.

I'd say 10 hp most....but what do I know. I'll let other "subaru experts" chime in with their dynos.

riderz

Postby riderz » August 9th, 2008, 7:05 pm

Well we started doing the before and after dyno runs on the TS and STi.

So far this is what we saw....
Lightweight crank pulley TS = 4hp 4tq gain from 3000-4000rpm STi = 10hp = 10tq 3500 - 4500

CAI about TS = 5 to 10hp from 3000 - 5000rpm. STI bout 5hp from 3000 - 4500rpm

More mods to be tested soon.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » August 10th, 2008, 6:56 am

turboing a TS is nonsense.....

why bother?

there r 1.6 engines doing over 160 bhp n/a....

a turbo 1.6 doing 160 is a real shame.....

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » September 1st, 2008, 11:47 pm

but is it possible to juss hook up the turbo kit to the Ts ??...i wa know cuz i wa put in one juss 4 d air blow off sound.....is it ??

scoobyboy

Postby scoobyboy » September 22nd, 2008, 7:23 pm

check www.scoobytnt.com those guys there have all the answers.

riderz

Postby riderz » September 23rd, 2008, 9:01 am

Ok so I have seen a new project that can yeild even more than 160whp without putting in a turbo. Lol. So I am changing my position on this Stay NA.

JJustCool

Postby JJustCool » October 2nd, 2009, 11:03 am

deleted
Last edited by JJustCool on November 6th, 2009, 1:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » October 6th, 2009, 9:40 pm

Postby honda hoe » October 13th, 2009, 8:16 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 28th, 2009, 1:38 pm

why not just keep the ts for a few years until u can buy a car with a good standard setup before you start tuning ull end up with a better car in the long run. too many fellas building death traps tbh.

Postby honda hoe » October 28th, 2009, 1:47 pm

jm3 wrote:why not just keep the ts for a few years until u can buy a good car

wda :lol: :lol:

Return to “SUBARU”