Thinkin of buy an Impreza Ts 1.6

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

VIP2Nr

Thinkin of buy an Impreza Ts 1.6

Postby VIP2Nr » June 15th, 2007, 2:21 pm

yeah scooby tuners, what can you guys say about this car?

Is it a good buy?
Any of you own one?
Any issues with these cars?

It's the latets model impreza btw.

air wick

Postby air wick » June 15th, 2007, 2:25 pm

yes a good buy

i own one the 2004 model

No issues with it, cept that the automatic is a lil bit lazy when compared to the manaul
this was proven on the h'way

the suspension is good, cornering is good. it's a little lazy at take off cause of the AWD but overall it's a gr8 everyday car...

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » June 15th, 2007, 2:27 pm

personally i like the shape of the new design (from the firm)
the only drawback is it isn;t the fastest in it's class or as featured pack as a lancer,civic,mazda 3 etc

however you do get awd that is a plus from a safety perspective

madness19

Postby madness19 » June 15th, 2007, 5:00 pm

very nice
good buy

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » June 15th, 2007, 9:10 pm

not jackin ur thread but i no of a certain wingroad wid a slightly modified qg15 dat sorted out a few ts on d highway...

so, for a subaru it not very fast... :|

Postby tr1ad » June 15th, 2007, 9:32 pm

well to hijack it further

u try that wagon against a wrx or sti?

why not?

cause the ts is the base model

whoo hoo u beat a ts

but other than that it's good for a everyday car

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » June 16th, 2007, 2:58 pm

Thanks for the info 2nrs. that's sad that it couldn't be a bit faster!

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » June 16th, 2007, 4:35 pm

i guess if you wanted it to be faster you could try a turbo kit, but that runs you about 15,000TT and just about 8psi of boost u'll be able to run, there is the awd and the fwd, which one are you looking to get? because it is a very good economical car...the awd version i would suggest seeing as we have hit rainy season....

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » June 16th, 2007, 6:23 pm

VIP2Nr wrote:Thanks for the info 2nrs. that's sad that it couldn't be a bit faster!

get the 5spd. the automatic loses 25% of it's power at the crank. the manual loses about 10% less

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » June 16th, 2007, 6:55 pm

can`t the automatic car be tuned to be faster?

pistons wrx ecu injectors intake exhaust etc?

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » June 16th, 2007, 7:44 pm

i doubt the auto would be faster,but i think your revs would be limited in terms of how you want to launch the car and how hard you want to push it between gears,auto tranny that nearly impossible unless you pushing between neutral and drive but err, that would kill your transmission and be totally stupid...
i know that if you turbo charge the TS AWD you can get 150HP at crank and the gear box has no probs, but am not sure about the auto...maybe someone tried it on the tranny, anyone has the experience feel free to input...

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » June 16th, 2007, 9:01 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:can`t the automatic car be tuned to be faster?

pistons wrx ecu injectors intake exhaust etc?

torque converter

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 16th, 2007, 9:04 pm

wrx ecu

Carries a map for a turbo car.....won't make much sense unless ur turboing the EJ16...but then at 8 psi boost...it doesn't make economic sense IMHO.

riderz

Postby riderz » June 16th, 2007, 10:24 pm

Knight1 wrote:
wrx ecu

Carries a map for a turbo car.....won't make much sense unless your turboing the EJ16...but then at 8 psi boost...it doesn't make economic sense IMHO.

Sorry to say the wrx ecu may not work on the TS. The wiring harness and pinouts are different. The WRX also controls AVCS if its JDM ECU. If you get the SDM or JDM ECU you have to remember that the ign maps would be set to a lower compression 8:1.

You can use the power FC to tune the TS after a turbo project. I saw a FOz in Japan running the emanage ultimate as a daily driver. The car had a gt30 I think. Daily driven. Now this info was good to know as the TS and Foz pre 00 carry the same JECS ecu, so you have piggy back options as well.

I would recommend for this project you go the way of greddy, check with W2J. Make sure and use a Knock Lite.

Singapore guys have been doing this for some time now with high octane fuel. You can subsitute that with water meth injection to raise the octane.

Good luck. There is a Turbo in the TS thread on TSOC

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » June 20th, 2007, 1:53 pm

if you want turbo, ....wait wait.... how much for ts these days? up to $120 i hear TS with bumpers and scoops and all the trinkey dees cost.
a foreign wrx car is,if i'm not mistaken, just around the block from that price. If you want a little speed...(not a little speed, a lot) just WAIT a little and save to buy that subaru, i have 1 and i say it's great.

Postby wagonrunner » June 20th, 2007, 1:59 pm

tr1ad wrote:well to hijack it further,
u try that wagon against a wrx or sti?
why not?

cause the ts is the base model, whoo hoo u beat a ts
but other than that it's good for a everyday car

what yuh think a Wingroad AD is? :lol:
it lost a cripple fight, big deal. :lol:

omegajedi

Postby omegajedi » June 20th, 2007, 3:47 pm

Doh mean to butt in.........but padna with all that good advice you getting about turboing up and thing, we all know the TS "to slow" is look like ah subie but it's not.

So why would you want to pay so much for a look alike and have ah 323 pass you on the highway? and when is time to buy parts you paying the same WRX and STI price..........think about it.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » June 20th, 2007, 6:16 pm

subaru forester ftw!

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » June 20th, 2007, 9:57 pm

VIP2Nr

buy your scooby...

I started with a 1.6TS test drive to maracas... I was hooked, the AWD handling is excellent.

No other AWD auto in its price range

No front wheel N/A or rear wheel drive auto could hold U unless they crazy IMAO.

Then I upgraded to a Fozz :)

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » June 21st, 2007, 7:29 am

future shop llc wrote:VIP2Nr

buy your scooby...

I started with a 1.6TS test drive to maracas... I was hooked, the AWD handling is excellent.

No other AWD auto in its price range

No front wheel N/A or rear wheel drive auto could hold U unless they crazy IMAO.

Then I upgraded to a Fozz :)

VIP2Nr:
I finally went to check out the car, man i wasn't really interested in this car, but after learning more about it, i really want it! Still considering some other options though. but i can say that it's worth the price, even though it's not that fast. I mean,How slow can it be? i still have to test drive it though.

Thanks for the info 2Nrs... Fozz???

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » June 21st, 2007, 10:40 am

how fast do you intend on driving..it's a nice comfortable car IMH
looks good and hold the roads well

i am sure you want it for an everyday car

Rx

Postby Rx » June 21st, 2007, 12:03 pm

buy a forester instead :)

Postby tr1ad » June 21st, 2007, 12:43 pm

man don't let rx an dem fozz owners tie you up

if u like d sedan go for it dude

STi-N

Postby STi-N » June 21st, 2007, 3:45 pm

i think the forester is a better car.. :lol:

Postby tr1ad » June 21st, 2007, 4:29 pm

nah vin_ud,

yuh mad or wha

:pokes:

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » June 21st, 2007, 5:23 pm

performance wise...YES, economically, err NO, depends what the man want to use it for...

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » June 21st, 2007, 10:16 pm

well...it's more reasonable if you have a lot of stuff to take around.
the forester has plenty of room for your inflatable dolls

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » June 21st, 2007, 10:17 pm

greyfox2501 wrote:performance wise...YES, economically, err NO, depends what the man want to use it for...

2.5 litre foresters get 28mpg....not bad for a small suv.

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » June 21st, 2007, 11:36 pm

but when you want to press... :shock: gas burning like water :shock:

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » June 22nd, 2007, 6:42 am

the Foresters nice but thats outta my budget, i'm looking for something for everyday driving, good handling, sporty.

I could jus add a CAI, i heard there's someone in the bamboo doing ECU upgrades so i might be able to squeeze out a few hp there. i heard one of you 2nrs said something about a torque converter.
I saw that there's a set of extractors for sale on the classified section, that should be good for some hp not sure how much.

Thanks for the info 2nrs, must say that this subura forum is on fire!
:arrow:

Return to “SUBARU”