CB3 Lancer engine swap...
Posted: February 24th, 2014, 2:09 pm
by hindian
Fellas, I looking for a direct swap into a CB3 model lancer. The car came with the 4g91 carb motor and tranny but the tranny gave out and I cant find a replacement. The cost to repair the original tranny coming up to something like 6k which not making sense to me to spend as the engine giving problems as well. So i'm exploring my options to resovle the situation. Preferably non turbo and economical as it will be lady driven so no excessive fyaz will be geed. I was looking for the Libero engine and tranny as it is a direct swap but them things scarce and I dont have time to run around to look too much. Much appreciated thanks.
Re: CB3 Lancer engine swap...
Posted: March 9th, 2014, 9:25 pm
by hindian
Anybody? I'm looking around but not finding anything, I'm looking for either the libero engine and tranny carbed or the fuel injected version or any engine and tranny combo that will fit into this car. Thanks....
Posted: March 9th, 2014, 10:02 pm
by de_dougla_smurf
Im not the expert but a bolt for bolt for that car may be difficult to source.
Im very sure that with a little work, the 4G15 from a CK can work well. Parts and maintenance would be easier too.
Walk through the bamboo a day and see what options are there
Posted: March 10th, 2014, 8:02 am
by hindian
This is what i'm realizing as i am looking around, the engine and tranny combo hard to find...unless i'm looking in the wrong places...i'll look into the ck conversion Smurf thanks for the idea man...
Posted: March 10th, 2014, 5:34 pm
by de_dougla_smurf
No scene, saw it done already in a Mirage Lancer and it fit and performs pretty well, hence the suggestion.
Good luck.
Posted: March 11th, 2014, 4:29 pm
by Ignorant Ignis
4g91........
Posted: March 17th, 2014, 7:56 am
by hindian
Thanks fellas, i got through. I got a 4g93 complete conversion out of a Libero front cut in the bamboo complete with instrument panel,axels and shifters.
Posted: June 8th, 2014, 11:24 am
by vicnuman
Hey hindian what u do with the old engine
Posted: June 9th, 2014, 10:52 am
by marcus the 1
hey how much did it cost you man
thinking about changing the engine and tranny in my libero and in need of a bumper as well
Posted: June 9th, 2014, 11:44 am
by hindian
vicnuman wrote:Hey hindian what u do with the old engine
It was sold for parts already
marcus the 1 wrote:hey how much did it cost you man
thinking about changing the engine and tranny in my libero and in need of a bumper as well
in total, it cost me 15k to do the whole conversion with labour and electrical work and a whole lot of other parts like instrument panels, radiator etc. Some might say thats a high price to pay for an old car but it was worth it IMO cuz she does fly now lol...i know i'm not ever going to recover that cost if i ever decide to sell, thats why i'm not selling

Posted: September 4th, 2014, 12:01 pm
by anthonemorris
could have used a 4g92 sohc or dohc as the swap motor (believe its bolt for bolt)
Posted: October 22nd, 2014, 3:29 pm
by SweeP
hindian u say u sell the engine already but what about the transmission, u still have that???
Posted: October 22nd, 2014, 4:12 pm
by kjaglal76v2
u was drunk wen u spend dah 15k or u lying
Posted: October 22nd, 2014, 8:42 pm
by hindian
kjaglal76v2 wrote:u was drunk wen u spend dah 15k or u lying
Breds, i probably was drunk but at least i eh waiting for no maxi and i not selling mih car so it was i worthwhile investment for me, i've done almost 50,000 kms with it since the conversion and no problems. And why would i lie about something like the price i paid for the conversion?