Super or Premium - a timely question

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Lancer3115

Super or Premium - a timely question

Postby Lancer3115 » October 2nd, 2012, 7:06 am

Okay peeps,

I have my CS3 lancer going on 5 years now and i have always used Premium...

Due to recent developments, where apparently if yuh using Premium yuh rich, doh know where they get that from cause my a$$ sure aint no where close to rich.

But seriously, with Premium now $5.75 which is almost twice that of Super i may have no alternative but to switch. My question is, am i being"penny wise and pound foolish"? Would there be any long term effects to the car? What do the Tuner gurus say?

Re: Super or Premium - a timely question

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 3rd, 2012, 7:05 am

What does your owner's manual say?

For my CK Lancer, the owner's manual gives the fuel requirements (RON) for all the different engines. If you go to NP's website, the octane rating for the different grades of gasoline that they market is based on the RON. Just see what your car needs and pick the next highest or equivalent grade gasoline.

Do a search, this topic has been extensively discussed recently in other forums.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 3rd, 2012, 8:47 am

My CS3 had Ron95+ on the Gas Tank Cover. That was enough to convince me that it needed the premium.

bcozier

Postby bcozier » October 3rd, 2012, 11:40 am

I use super in my cs3 without any problems.....for yrs now!!!!

Postby BrotherHood » October 3rd, 2012, 3:20 pm

CS3A local, using super for 2 years strong. No engine problems.

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 3rd, 2012, 9:46 pm

when i had my local cs3 i used super when premium went up and had no issues.
did this for 3 yrs and sold the car .
the other owner did the same and 150000km later he has no issues

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » October 3rd, 2012, 9:48 pm

It's ok to use super in the CS3A 4g18 engine guys....premium only burns faster in mine when I had no other choice but to use it.

Super to the World!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 4th, 2012, 10:22 am

Dizzy28 wrote:My CS3 had Ron95+ on the Gas Tank Cover. That was enough to convince me that it needed the premium.

Something doesnt sound right Dizzy.
I too have the 95+ RON sticker on the lid. But I had an 1800 GDI engine.
Do you have a GDI? Did you convert?

BTW op...theres a discussion going on in CS thread check the last couple pages.

Postby ronsin1 » October 4th, 2012, 1:22 pm

idlemind wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:My CS3 had Ron95+ on the Gas Tank Cover. That was enough to convince me that it needed the premium.

Something doesnt sound right Dizzy.
I too have the 95+ RON sticker on the lid. But I had an 1800 GDI engine.
Do you have a GDI? Did you convert?

BTW op...theres a discussion going on in CS thread check the last couple pages.

It had the same sticker on The Silver CS2 GDI I had and the Black CS3 I still have

Lancer3115

Postby Lancer3115 » October 5th, 2012, 8:37 am

Thanks guys.... And yes my tank lind has 95+ Octane written on the inside.

However due to the high cost of Premium and the few tuners who used it with no problems, i'm switching to super.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 5th, 2012, 8:50 am

This should help...taken this morning

Postby Dave » October 5th, 2012, 8:56 am

wayz, man putting supa in ah eve oh!
amm u not supposed to use yuh phone in de station, yuh wha blow up and have no more buttsecks

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 5th, 2012, 8:57 am

ah have photographic memory..lol

Postby Dave » October 5th, 2012, 9:00 am

lol, the amt of picture u does throw up, i believe u

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 5th, 2012, 9:44 am

Dave wrote:wayz, man putting supa in ah eve oh!
amm u not supposed to use yuh phone in de station, yuh wha blow up and have no more buttsecks

da fuq :lol:

using super in the cs2 over a yr now...no problems thus far.

fras

Postby fras » October 6th, 2012, 1:49 am

Return to “MITSUBISHI”