WTK: EVO 9 Wagon - do i need to get it tuned? PICS POSTED

Posted: May 10th, 2012, 8:33 am
by don-dada
I brought in a Evo 9 wagon from japan, wanted some advice, do i need to get it 'tuned' ? I am planning to keep it stock for the while, so is it necessary? also if i have to get it tuned, who do u all recommend?

And around what is the average cost to get it tuned? thanks

Re: WTK: EVO 9 Wagon - do i need to get it tuned?

Posted: May 10th, 2012, 5:21 pm
by crazybalhead
Some will say yes, some will say no. I've been driving evo's for seven years now, two of them. No tune.

A tune will give more power, but I don't think any real harm will be done without.

And now the harbingers of doom will tell you about horrible engine knock with no tune...

Posted: May 11th, 2012, 8:28 am
by Dave
^^^lol preach it
the first real gain from tuning is savings in gas as Evos run VERY rich from factory
From leaning, and being bogged with so much extra gas, you also gain some decent power

Posted: May 11th, 2012, 11:15 am
by crazybalhead
BTW, Pics of waggan??? :)

Posted: May 11th, 2012, 12:19 pm
by honda hoe
crazybalhead wrote:Some will say yes, some will say no. I've been driving evo's for seven years now, two of them. No tune...

but a tune isn't necessary if u never drive over 80 :lol:

Posted: May 12th, 2012, 10:01 pm
by don-dada
this was right before i got it licensed, thanks for the input fellas appreciate it, who do u recommend to tune doh? thanks ... name and number would be helpful

Re: WTK: EVO 9 Wagon - do i need to get it tuned? PICS POSTE

Posted: May 14th, 2012, 8:36 am
by honda hoe
sweet

Posted: May 15th, 2012, 8:52 am
by crazybalhead
Three people come to mind:

W2J
Saltydog
Dry.
Silvermike might do eet for freeeeeee!!! :lol: :lol:

Posted: May 15th, 2012, 10:28 pm
by BrotherHood
One sweeeeet wagon there bruh.

Posted: May 16th, 2012, 10:43 am
by don-dada
thanks , who do you all recommend to get it tuned by? name and number please ... thanks

Posted: May 16th, 2012, 11:58 pm
by TURBOT
ent i talk to you already???

stefan

Posted: May 17th, 2012, 8:14 pm
by Silvermike
crazybalhead wrote:Three people come to mind:

W2J
Saltydog
Dry.
Silvermike might do eet for freeeeeee!!! :lol: :lol:

To answer the question at hand,

No, you dont need to do anything. However, stock evos tend to knock on local gas, some more than others. I've seen as much as 12-15 counts on stock boost, stock tune. Above 10 can be considered dangerous over the medium-long term, above 20 is dangerous in the short term. That being said, ive also seen stock evos with no more than 5-6 counts. It really depends on the particular car.

What I would recommend is having the car logged, seeing how the car is running and then moving forward from there. If safety is ure goal and not ultimate power, that can be done in one session.

Posted: May 17th, 2012, 8:19 pm
by Silvermike
crazybalhead wrote:Some will say yes, some will say no. I've been driving evo's for seven years now, two of them. No tune.

A tune will give more power, but I don't think any real harm will be done without.

And now the harbingers of doom will tell you about horrible engine knock with no tune...

Yes, and you've been very lucky. And you also drive very calmly.

It never hurts to check how the car is running... I offered to do it for you for free as a friend.

Posted: May 17th, 2012, 11:53 pm
by don-dada
aye thanks again again everyone ... silvermike thanks brudda ... can you pm me ur contact info? thanks

Posted: May 18th, 2012, 10:45 am
by crazybalhead
Silvermike wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Some will say yes, some will say no. I've been driving evo's for seven years now, two of them. No tune.

It never hurts to check how the car is running... I offered to do it for you for free as a friend.

Indeed...One of these days yes...I does real stick.

Posted: May 19th, 2012, 8:42 am
by Porn Star
crazybalhead wrote:
Silvermike wrote:

Indeed...One of these days yes...I does real stick.

Careful eh randy.
After Mike tell yuh dat I hear him mumbling "muahahahaha, after freeness is..........."

Posted: May 23rd, 2012, 8:06 pm
by nervewrecker
This looks a lot like the one I saw today in Port of Spain.
PCU ****, driving westbound by city gate and a few car lengths behind a police on a bike. Car looks sweet, sounds sweet and defiantly moving. I love it.

Posted: May 26th, 2012, 8:46 pm
by ZeroOne
Why you bought the wagon and not the normal sedan?

Its fast and still an evo but im not the wagon type.

Posted: May 27th, 2012, 10:54 pm
by 2 Towers Distribution
if am not mistaken did you pass true marabella today with this :)

Posted: May 31st, 2012, 11:39 pm
by don-dada
yea neverwrecked thats me ...

zero one ... i love a wagon... had the cedia wagon before with ridiculous music it in ...

kilazz, nah pardnah wasnt in marabella on sunday ... hard luck dere

Posted: June 10th, 2012, 7:01 am
by Jimbo
See it on McDonald/gattacre. Very interesting

Posted: June 15th, 2012, 1:23 pm
by Razkal
i absolutely love these evo wagons. great GREAT buy OP...good luck with everything 8)

Posted: July 12th, 2012, 8:31 am
by don-dada
is there any specific turbo or cat-back exhaust that is recommended?

Posted: July 12th, 2012, 8:45 am
by Silvermike
anything 3"

ETS is good

Posted: August 9th, 2012, 7:28 pm
by don-dada
just for curiousity the ralliart version evo .... the springs are they better than aftermarket drop springs? or what suggested? what brand

Posted: August 11th, 2012, 3:10 pm
by Silvermike
swift spec R springs are great.