WTK: EVO 9 Wagon - do i need to get it tuned? PICS POSTED

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

don-dada

WTK: EVO 9 Wagon - do i need to get it tuned? PICS POSTED

Postby don-dada » May 10th, 2012, 8:33 am

I brought in a Evo 9 wagon from japan, wanted some advice, do i need to get it 'tuned' ? I am planning to keep it stock for the while, so is it necessary? also if i have to get it tuned, who do u all recommend?

And around what is the average cost to get it tuned? thanks
Last edited by don-dada on May 13th, 2012, 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: WTK: EVO 9 Wagon - do i need to get it tuned?

Postby crazybalhead » May 10th, 2012, 5:21 pm

Some will say yes, some will say no. I've been driving evo's for seven years now, two of them. No tune.

A tune will give more power, but I don't think any real harm will be done without.

And now the harbingers of doom will tell you about horrible engine knock with no tune...

Postby Dave » May 11th, 2012, 8:28 am

^^^lol preach it
the first real gain from tuning is savings in gas as Evos run VERY rich from factory
From leaning, and being bogged with so much extra gas, you also gain some decent power

Postby crazybalhead » May 11th, 2012, 11:15 am

BTW, Pics of waggan??? :)

Postby honda hoe » May 11th, 2012, 12:19 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Some will say yes, some will say no. I've been driving evo's for seven years now, two of them. No tune...

but a tune isn't necessary if u never drive over 80 :lol:

don-dada

Postby don-dada » May 12th, 2012, 10:01 pm

this was right before i got it licensed, thanks for the input fellas appreciate it, who do u recommend to tune doh? thanks ... name and number would be helpful

Re: WTK: EVO 9 Wagon - do i need to get it tuned? PICS POSTE

Postby honda hoe » May 14th, 2012, 8:36 am

sweet

Postby crazybalhead » May 15th, 2012, 8:52 am

Three people come to mind:

W2J
Saltydog
Dry.
Silvermike might do eet for freeeeeee!!! :lol: :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » May 15th, 2012, 10:28 pm

One sweeeeet wagon there bruh.

don-dada

Postby don-dada » May 16th, 2012, 10:43 am

thanks , who do you all recommend to get it tuned by? name and number please ... thanks

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » May 16th, 2012, 11:58 pm

ent i talk to you already???

stefan

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » May 17th, 2012, 8:14 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Three people come to mind:

W2J
Saltydog
Dry.
Silvermike might do eet for freeeeeee!!! :lol: :lol:

To answer the question at hand,

No, you dont need to do anything. However, stock evos tend to knock on local gas, some more than others. I've seen as much as 12-15 counts on stock boost, stock tune. Above 10 can be considered dangerous over the medium-long term, above 20 is dangerous in the short term. That being said, ive also seen stock evos with no more than 5-6 counts. It really depends on the particular car.

What I would recommend is having the car logged, seeing how the car is running and then moving forward from there. If safety is ure goal and not ultimate power, that can be done in one session.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » May 17th, 2012, 8:19 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Some will say yes, some will say no. I've been driving evo's for seven years now, two of them. No tune.

A tune will give more power, but I don't think any real harm will be done without.

And now the harbingers of doom will tell you about horrible engine knock with no tune...

Yes, and you've been very lucky. And you also drive very calmly.

It never hurts to check how the car is running... I offered to do it for you for free as a friend.

don-dada

Postby don-dada » May 17th, 2012, 11:53 pm

aye thanks again again everyone ... silvermike thanks brudda ... can you pm me ur contact info? thanks

Postby crazybalhead » May 18th, 2012, 10:45 am

Silvermike wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Some will say yes, some will say no. I've been driving evo's for seven years now, two of them. No tune.

It never hurts to check how the car is running... I offered to do it for you for free as a friend.

Indeed...One of these days yes...I does real stick.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 19th, 2012, 8:42 am

crazybalhead wrote:
Silvermike wrote:

Indeed...One of these days yes...I does real stick.

Careful eh randy.
After Mike tell yuh dat I hear him mumbling "muahahahaha, after freeness is..........."

Postby nervewrecker » May 23rd, 2012, 8:06 pm

This looks a lot like the one I saw today in Port of Spain.
PCU ****, driving westbound by city gate and a few car lengths behind a police on a bike. Car looks sweet, sounds sweet and defiantly moving. I love it.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 26th, 2012, 8:46 pm

Why you bought the wagon and not the normal sedan?

Its fast and still an evo but im not the wagon type.

2 Towers Distribution

Postby 2 Towers Distribution » May 27th, 2012, 10:54 pm

if am not mistaken did you pass true marabella today with this :)

don-dada

Postby don-dada » May 31st, 2012, 11:39 pm

yea neverwrecked thats me ...

zero one ... i love a wagon... had the cedia wagon before with ridiculous music it in ...

kilazz, nah pardnah wasnt in marabella on sunday ... hard luck dere

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 10th, 2012, 7:01 am

See it on McDonald/gattacre. Very interesting

Postby Razkal » June 15th, 2012, 1:23 pm

i absolutely love these evo wagons. great GREAT buy OP...good luck with everything 8)

don-dada

Postby don-dada » July 12th, 2012, 8:31 am

is there any specific turbo or cat-back exhaust that is recommended?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 12th, 2012, 8:45 am

anything 3"

ETS is good

don-dada

Postby don-dada » August 9th, 2012, 7:28 pm

just for curiousity the ralliart version evo .... the springs are they better than aftermarket drop springs? or what suggested? what brand

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » August 11th, 2012, 3:10 pm

swift spec R springs are great.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”