THINKING BOUT TOURBOING MY CK LANCER

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

robert_james

THINKING BOUT TOURBOING MY CK LANCER

Postby robert_james » May 26th, 2011, 8:28 am

I HAVE A 1500 TWIN CAM ENGINE WAT DO I NEED?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: THINKING BOUT TOURBOING MY CK LANCER

Postby MISHI » May 26th, 2011, 10:19 am

Definately a tURbo; not sure a TOURbo will fit...

AaaaaaaannnnyyyyyyWaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy....

You'll need:

tURbo
manifold(fabrication most likely)
oil/ water lines to turbo
boost/ oil press/ wideband air fuel gauges
intercooler
intercooler hoses (fabrication needed)
fuel pressure regulator
bigger injectors
bigger fuel pump
some form of engine management (piggyback on the ecu or standalone)

On a side note once you going faster you'll need:

bigger exhaust.
bigger brakes
better suspension

And even so you'll only be able to "safely" run 6-7 psi. HOW LONG the engine lasts is another story.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 26th, 2011, 12:22 pm

If you really serious about this, P.M. user "blazing". He turbocharged a 4G15 DOHC already.

robert_james

Postby robert_james » May 26th, 2011, 3:10 pm

ok kool but is this engine a good engine to turbocharge? an approximately how much will this cost?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 26th, 2011, 6:10 pm

Honestly it may just be more cost effective to get an engine already built for this purpose... it will last longer, has higher output than just turbocharging an aspirated engine (other than going all out internals etc) and the long term cost might be cheaper.

And there will be a time you may want to go faster and that little "turn up boost" would be your downfall...

robert_james

Postby robert_james » May 27th, 2011, 8:05 am

hmmmmm lol ok kool.... so a 4g93 will b gr8 den.... would dat line up in my ck? with out major conversion?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 27th, 2011, 10:03 am

I think the hardest thing you have to do if using a gearbox is to make an adapter plate to fit the slave cylinder to clear the turbo, but other than that, exhaust and wiring, it's basically "plug and play"

robert_james

Postby robert_james » May 28th, 2011, 11:38 am

hmmmmm ok what you think will be the best engine 2 put in or my best solution 2 make this ride make me sheit myself? (so to speak)

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 28th, 2011, 2:17 pm

now really if you want it to make you do that, just put some doughnut wheels all around, put some air in the brake lines and drive north coast road...

BUT

if you want a good running car with a nice performance engine, an 1800 turbo on a FWD platform is a great setup.

I have this in a CB lancer and I thoroughly enjoy it.

robert_james

Postby robert_james » May 29th, 2011, 8:01 am

ok kool....... im kinda fellin mivec... wah u tink bout dah?
an waz ur views on tiptronic vs manual?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 29th, 2011, 9:37 am

Turbo= manual.

MIVEC is nice but not close to turbo power... 175 vs 210 bhp.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”