Page 1 of 2

Which EVO is the best? Poll Added

Posted: March 10th, 2011, 6:37 pm
by ZeroOne
SO seeing that the EVO will no longer be in production after 2013, an infamous question arises for those of us who want to purchase the best (stock) EVO.

Which EVO is the "cream of the crop"?

I like the X

Edit: Poll added

Re: Which EVO is the best?

Posted: March 10th, 2011, 7:37 pm
by MISHI
Best of all evos cam in "3"s

Evo 3 was the most popular production car in the series made for a time (most BHP of the early models, NICE aero kit etc)

Evo 6 was widely regarded as the best handling evo and best accelerating, though not the best looking to some...

Evo 9 Is one of the most desired models with the addition of the MIVEC 4g63T and all sorts of tweaks etc

Picking from the three of them I will say that the evo 6 is realisticallty the best. Nimble and a proven performer in the rally circuit. And Stock for Stock will run circles around ALL other models power to weight and handling.

Posted: March 10th, 2011, 8:01 pm
by Zh@ne
^^ second that thought

Posted: March 10th, 2011, 8:46 pm
by 4carspeedin
Agreed...TME is icing on the cake.

Posted: March 10th, 2011, 11:14 pm
by De Dragon
E6 Extreme or Zero Fighter

Posted: March 10th, 2011, 11:26 pm
by southside crew
having the 3 of them is the dream!!!. . I own a III & CD5A Gsr ( now evo 1 conversion) but I would LOVE to own an EVO IX..

Posted: March 11th, 2011, 12:28 am
by MaelstroM
The Evo X is the ultimate.
Ppl dont realise that these cars are not drag machines. The X would defeat any other model on the track.
BMI did a lot of tests with the X. Check it out.

Posted: March 11th, 2011, 12:48 am
by obeiron
whichever one you can afford :mrgreen:

My pick will be the ix mr or ix mr rs!

Posted: March 11th, 2011, 3:50 am
by De Dragon
southside crew wrote:having the 3 of them is the dream!!!. . I own a III & CD5A Gsr ( now evo 1 conversion) but I would LOVE to own an EVO IX..

Yeah my Lotto winning garage would be:
E3
E6 Xtreme
E9

Posted: March 11th, 2011, 12:04 pm
by Dave
the 3,6 and 9 have the benefit of being fully tweaked after the original models made their debut
I personally am not a fan of mivec nor 6sp

Posted: March 11th, 2011, 12:25 pm
by janfar
evo 1 :| the original evo...

Posted: March 11th, 2011, 2:57 pm
by crazybalhead
Whichever one I jivin. :lol:

Posted: March 11th, 2011, 3:09 pm
by GEAR_HEAD
^^^ Agreed - EVO VIII MR! :D

Posted: March 11th, 2011, 10:13 pm
by fras
GEAR_HEAD wrote:^^^ Agreed - White EVO VIII MR! :D

8-)

Posted: March 12th, 2011, 7:54 am
by thatguy3832
EVO VIII MR or the FQ400 and sit waiting for the competition to stop running like headless chickens

Posted: March 12th, 2011, 5:35 pm
by mitsuboi
MISHI wrote:Best of all evos cam in "3"s

Evo 3 was the most popular production car in the series made for a time (most BHP of the early models, NICE aero kit etc)

Evo 6 was widely regarded as the best handling evo and best accelerating, though not the best looking to some...

Evo 9 Is one of the most desired models with the addition of the MIVEC 4g63T and all sorts of tweaks etc

Picking from the three of them I will say that the evo 6 is realisticallty the best. Nimble and a proven performer in the rally circuit. And Stock for Stock will run circles around ALL other models power to weight and handling.

tuner hadda do like facebook and get a like button up in here

Posted: March 13th, 2011, 10:02 am
by EVA Unit-01
obeiron wrote:My pick will be the ix mr or ix mr rs!

what is that? never heard of it...

i think each person needs a car that suits your driving style, whether you're gonna use it as a daily driver or a track monster

for me, i like the E8 but i'd prefer the tweaks that the E9 has (though E8 front ftw!). i'd take the MR over an FQ, given the FQ's tendency for greater turbo lag and the fact that it NEEDS high octane gasoline (which ain't coming outta no pump locally)

but even though the E9 MR is the dream, the manual transmission would be HELL in traffic every day up and down the highway... so, practically speaking, i'd like to try for the EvoX MR: better handling on corners, more focused for daily driving, easier to drive (for a first-time turbo owner), etc...

here's hoping the money comes before the Evo's gone! :cry:

Zero, get a poll going up in this b1tch!

Posted: March 13th, 2011, 6:02 pm
by obeiron
EVA Unit-01 wrote:

It's the RS version of the 9MR. Basic interior but no AYC. Should be a great base car if you're planning a lot of mods.

By the way, the FQ's come in both MR (E8 MR, E9 MR, X MR?) and non MR versions (7,8,9, 10). The only MR with considerable turbo lag was the 8MR FQ400. Also, the stock clutch is not bad in traffic.

Re: Which EVO is the best? Poll Added

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 12:24 am
by Conrad
6.5 FTW

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 7:50 am
by Sanctifier
MISHI wrote:...I will say that the evo 6... Stock for Stock will run circles around ALL other models power to weight and handling.
Yup, Evo 6 ftw!... This question has been asked and answered many times.

Link--> The Evo Files - Evo VI Meets Evo IX & Finding Evo X.

Sanctifier wrote:What they were driving is the standard Evo 6 GSR (with AYC) with 2.6 turns lock-to-lock...
Imagine what they would say if they were driving a "real" Evo 6 Tommi RS...
Tommi RS steering (at 2.1 turns 'lock-to-lock') is even sharper than the US Evo 9 MR.

And handling??? E6 RS has a lower centre of gravity than Evo 7-9 and is 2" lower overall.
More than 300 lb lighter and better optimised spring-shock rates than an Evo 6 GSR...

Here's E9 vs. E6...Link--> Evo 9 vs Evo 6 Track Test!
Sanctifier wrote:Evo 6 GSR = About 1/2-second faster per lap... with less roll, "tighter" handling and better brakes...
... in an older, less powerful (E6=300 bhp vs FQ320=326 bhp) car???... 'Nuff said! 8)

This gives an idea about Evo X as a daily driver and how it stacks up against earlier models...
Link--> Evolution X MR Road Test - AutoSpeed.

My $0.02¢

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 5:00 pm
by Mudboy
crazybalhead wrote:Whichever one I jivin. :lol:

a cedia?

bess evo is the evo 1

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 6:05 pm
by Sanctifier
Mudboy wrote:...bess evo is the evo 1
E1-E3s are geat cars... but IMHO are also serious "rustbuckets" and need constant body prep and maintenance.
Age, rust and slightly lower "stock" (OEM) performance and development levels made me choose the E6 RS2 instead.

BTW if the "Special Edition" models are included, then you can't find ANY Factory Evo that can beat the '450'...
Sanctifier wrote:Evolution 6 GSR/RS/RS II/TME....... = 276 bhp.......................... 275 lb/ft.
Evolution 9 Mivec...................... = 286 bhp.......................... 289 lb/ft.
Evolution 6 RS Sprint.................. = 330 bhp.......................... 323 lb/ft.
Evolution 6 RSX........................ = 330 bhp.......................... n.a.
Evolution 6 Zero Fighter.............. = 340 bhp.......................... 302 lb/ft.
Evolution 6 eXtreme.................. = 350 bhp.......................... 378 lb/ft.
Evolution 8 FQ 400................... = 405 bhp.......................... 355 lb/ft.
Evolution 6 eXtreme RS450.......... = 450 bhp (379 WHP).............. n.a..... BUT 383 lb/ft WTQ

Link--> Evolution 6 eXtreme RS450... "King of the Hill!"

My $0.02¢

Posted: March 16th, 2011, 11:15 pm
by thatguy3832
Evolution 8 FQ 360................... = 366 bhp.......................... 363 lb/ft.

Posted: March 17th, 2011, 12:09 am
by Sanctifier
^ ^ ^ AFAIK, the top Evo 8 models were the FQ-340 and FQ-400.
Link--> Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution - Wiki.
thatguy3832 wrote:Evolution 8 FQ 360................... = 366 bhp.......................... 363 lb/ft.
That was the spec for the 2006 Evo 9 FQ 360, with the Mivec 4G63.
Link--> 2006 Evo IX FQ 360.

Makes no difference anyway, Evo 6 RS 450 was still "king of the hill" of all the factory models.

My $0.02¢

Posted: March 17th, 2011, 8:33 am
by thatguy3832
Sorry my bad
Mitsubishi Evolution Specs: EVO 8 FQ-340/EVO VIII FQ-340
Engine: 1997cc
Power: 345PS @ 6200rpm
Torque: 320lbs/ft @ 4985rpm
Weight: 1400kg
Top Speed: 157mph
0-60 mph: 4.3 seconds

Posted: March 17th, 2011, 9:02 am
by W2J
any evo that has been W2J'd you good to go

Posted: March 17th, 2011, 10:57 am
by crazybalhead
EVA Unit-01 wrote:

i think each person needs a car that suits your driving style, whether you're gonna use it as a daily driver or a track monster

for me, i like the E8 but i'd prefer the tweaks that the E9 has (though E8 front ftw!). i'd take the MR over an FQ, given the FQ's tendency for greater turbo lag and the fact that it NEEDS high octane gasoline (which ain't coming outta no pump locally)

but even though the E9 MR is the dream, the manual transmission would be HELL in traffic every day up and down the highway... so, practically speaking, i'd like to try for the EvoX MR: better handling on corners, more focused for daily driving, easier to drive (for a first-time turbo owner), etc...

here's hoping the money comes before the Evo's gone! :cry:

Zero, get a poll going up in this b1tch!

Only if you's a big poo c. 8-) 8-)

Posted: March 18th, 2011, 7:49 am
by EVA Unit-01
^^^bwdm...?!! :cry:
nah, i aint up for going up and down the highway everyday in traffic with a manual... & i cya afford 2 start tunin & racin yet, so i'm lookin 4 a comfortable "grand tourer" with some umph!

Posted: March 19th, 2011, 4:00 pm
by Sanctifier
EVA Unit-01 wrote:...i aint up for going up and down the highway everyday in traffic with a manual...
It's not as bad as you make it sound. Gridlocked traffic = 1st or 2nd gear...
For everything else... there's MasterCard... or maybe open one of these for fun...

EVA Unit-01 wrote:... so i'm lookin 4 a comfortable "grand tourer" with some umph!
Then buy a Subaru Legacy GT Image... No B/S that's what my wife drives. :lol:

Posted: March 22nd, 2011, 8:12 pm
by EVA Unit-01
^^^i real sorry!!! :cry: bess yuh di cuss mih!!! :cry: got to play with turbo diesel pickup the other day, now manual doesn't seem so bad...