Handbrake Light Problem

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Parvin

Handbrake Light Problem

Postby Parvin » October 31st, 2010, 7:58 pm

Sorry for the second thread but I wanted to get specific problems sorted out.

I recently changed the battery terminals on the vehicle ( ck4 4g92 local ) and then noticed that the handbrake light on the instrument panel remains on even though the handbrake is released.

I checked the little switch that it presses when released because i was told it may be sticking, but even when presses with my finger, the light still remains on.

Furthermore, the light turns off after a while of driving.

Any possible causes for the problem and solutions as well ???

I made sure to correctly re-install the wires on the terminals as they were. I am not running any music or additional equipment what so ever, vehicle is stock.

Re: Handbrake Light Problem

Postby wagonrunner » October 31st, 2010, 8:00 pm

are the brake bulbs working the way they should when park-lights are turned on / brakes are mashed?
is the brake fluid reservoir at the correct level?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 31st, 2010, 8:13 pm

wagonrunner wrote:are the brake bulbs working the way they should when park-lights are turned on / brakes are mashed?

When checked, everything was in order. That's why i am confused :?

Postby wagonrunner » October 31st, 2010, 8:16 pm

does the switch in that car, turn on, or turn off the dash light?
try bridging the switch, not just pressing it. see if it could be that.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 31st, 2010, 8:24 pm

wagonrunner wrote:does the switch in that car, turn on, or turn off the dash light?
try bridging the switch, not just pressing it. see if it could be that.

Pressing it doesn't cause the light to go off, neither does bridging it. My method to test was push a piece of wire down the jack and ground it off on a bolt close by.

Was that wrong ??

Postby wagonrunner » October 31st, 2010, 9:28 pm

maybe.
should be more than one contact on the jack. bridge them with the same wire.

don't look for "short to ground"

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » October 31st, 2010, 10:11 pm

had this problem a few months ago in a local 4g92 ck4, turned out the brake fluid was a little low...

Postby wagonrunner » October 31st, 2010, 10:21 pm

GEAR_HEAD wrote:had this problem a few months ago in a local 4g92 ck4, turned out the brake fluid was a little low...

been there too. but....
Parvin wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:are the brake bulbs working the way they should when park-lights are turned on / brakes are mashed?

When checked, everything was in order. That's why i am confused :?

silver racer

Postby silver racer » October 31st, 2010, 11:33 pm

this happened on my ck4 as well (last yr though), I was driving and i hit a hole. The handbrake light came on immediately after. I just pop the hood and opened the reservoir to inspect the rubber and after i closed it back the light came off. Never happened again.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 1st, 2010, 10:36 am

thanks fellas.

i looked over everything again and just open and close back the reservoir cover. problem fix.

thanks again for the help

silver racer

Postby silver racer » November 1st, 2010, 7:44 pm

no problem homie 8-)

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 1st, 2010, 7:46 pm

Help meh here too na

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=340658

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 18th, 2010, 7:07 pm

Ok guys.

it starting to happen again and again. Sometimes it remaining on and then sometimes it might blink and cut off while driving.

What next ?

blazing

Postby blazing » November 20th, 2010, 1:57 am

take off the brake cover and push the rubber back into the cap....

Return to “MITSUBISHI”