DAVE, I do not want to import tyres, unless you organising.
Opinions please!
Re: Help me choose my next set of tyres
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 12:31 pm
by Rudman
Bridgstone Potenza RE01 or RE11.......Talk done!.....
But looking at your short list, take out the Kumho Ecsta SPT and the Dunlop Direzza DZ101 one time.....waste of time IMO.
Insert Kumho Ecsta XS and the Dunlop Direzza DZ101 Z (or star spec) and yuh have ah respectable looking short list. Your budget will then decide where yuh going.
BTW, make sure the tyre you select is equal to or greater than 140 TW, otherwise class bump for you. I think one of the Toyos you listed there is 100TW.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 12:47 pm
by crazybalhead
Nah Rudi, all ah them is hard road tyres. The Z or Star spec not available locally. RE01 is the best tyre I have ever used, but can't get that here either.
The XS not available.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 12:52 pm
by Rudman
Then you shiet outta luck!.........call Dave one time!.....
The Toyo Tripple eights (R888) is avaliable from Milage Mack, but that one is 100TW for sure.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 1:06 pm
by crazybalhead
Cyah drive that to wuk every day meng.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 1:58 pm
by MISHI
What is the speed/ weight rating on them though?
"H" is a no no
"W" on is acceptable
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 3:19 pm
by crazybalhead
Mishi R888's are not suitable for everyday driving, the compound is very soft, and may be iffy in rain. A couple people have them on their cars all the time, but not as a daily driver.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 3:54 pm
by ek4ever
crazybalhead wrote:Nah Rudi, all ah them is hard road tyres. The Z or Star spec not available locally. RE01 is the best tyre I have ever used, but can't get that here either.
The XS not available.
I don't know why the Bridgestone agents here don't bring Potenzas. I met one of them at a Bridgestone shop some time back and tell him all the trouble trying to get Potenzas in TT. I told him when my set finish I'll have to go to another brand cause I not putting Turanzas on my car.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 4:09 pm
by crazybalhead
Tell me about it yes.
The semi shitty tyres listed are what is available locally.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 5:57 pm
by MISHI
crazybalhead wrote:Mishi R888's are not suitable for everyday driving, the compound is very soft, and may be iffy in rain. A couple people have them on their cars all the time, but not as a daily driver.
I meant for your tyre list actually...
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 6:47 pm
by Parvin
What's the problem with the Dunlop Direzza DZ101 ???
I was thinking about getting them in 215/45/17 for the same daily driving.
I could really use ulyuh info
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 8:54 pm
by obeiron
Did you consider goodyear eagle f1's? Using those now with no issues.
Price is in the 6000 range for 17's. Hopefully ACL will have 18's as well.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 10:20 pm
by crazybalhead
Wouldn't mind the goodyears, but ACL only has Kumhos in 18".
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 11:19 pm
by crazybalhead
Anybody running R888's in a true street application?
Like 15k Km's a year average.
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 11:38 pm
by W2J
^ 15k you say I do < 1500km last year to now
Posted: August 20th, 2010, 11:43 pm
by crazybalhead
Steups, CAR MAKE TO DRIVE!!
G gimme a quote on the Dunlop Direzza star specs nah. 245-40-18.
And yes, I put almost exactly 15k on the car for the year. Same with the VII.
Posted: August 22nd, 2010, 11:47 am
by crazybalhead
Looking more and more like the invo's for it yes. Decent compromise tyre for a DD with solodex.
Posted: August 22nd, 2010, 1:03 pm
by W2J
I will check tommorow and let you know bro
Posted: August 22nd, 2010, 1:58 pm
by Dave
there are no locally available options that can give good street and track manners
btw, call tyre clinic and ask about the sumitomo htr z3, very respectable tyre
they had indicated they can acquire if needed
Posted: August 22nd, 2010, 11:01 pm
by GEAR_HEAD
have u though abt michelin pilot sport ps2? its around $2500 each but i think they had a 25% off sale....so 4 would be $7500....works very well...i use it on the car for non-solodex driving when i not lazy to change the r888's.
crazybalhead wrote:It's 2600 for ONE AFTER DISCOUNT.
Ok, i got my 235-45-17 for 1875 each last year with the 25% off discount...
Posted: August 23rd, 2010, 4:07 pm
by crazybalhead
Hoss, the man tell me 3300 for one!!!! and then, he go give meh for 2600. LOL.
Posted: August 23rd, 2010, 4:50 pm
by Parvin
So wait na, Dunlop Direzzas so bad that paper is pelted out at approximately 1900 PER tyre ?
Posted: August 24th, 2010, 7:12 am
by crazybalhead
Parvin wrote:So wait na, Dunlop Direzzas so bad that paper is pelted out at approximately 1900 PER tyre ?
I used them for a year, they were OK on the road, but not good, and terrible at Solodex. Real toose.
Posted: August 24th, 2010, 10:33 am
by Nebulous_14
Call Federal in San Fernando on Cipero Street 657-8041 for Bridgestone tyres
Posted: August 24th, 2010, 1:07 pm
by crazybalhead
Steups. They only have ONE size in 15 inch, and it is not a potenza of any sort.
Posted: August 26th, 2010, 3:38 pm
by EVA Unit-01
^^drat it!
crazybalhead wrote:
Parvin wrote:So wait na, Dunlop Direzzas so bad that paper is pelted out at approximately 1900 PER tyre ?
I used them for a year, they were OK on the road, but not good, and terrible at Solodex. Real toose.
u lie!!! i plannin 2 run Dex dis wkend wit my set! wdmc?!!? *steups*
Posted: August 31st, 2010, 2:07 pm
by De Dragon
How many people recommending tyres here have actually used them? I bought 2 Dunlop Direzzas 245/45/R17 95W last week and will buy 2 more this week and will let all know how they are. Mind you my use is strictly DD!