Redline Heavy Shockproof in Mivec GB

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

super_cadet

Redline Heavy Shockproof in Mivec GB

Postby super_cadet » April 19th, 2010, 7:52 am

I put this gearbox oil in and im startin to get alil grating when putting in my gears no matter how easy i put them in.Is this oil ok for a mivec GB

Any recommendations on GB oil?

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » April 19th, 2010, 7:52 am

Been runnin it for a week..If it damaging my box lemmie kno so i can get it out immediately

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 19th, 2010, 10:04 am

What was the viscosity rating?

and was it GL-4 type?

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » April 19th, 2010, 10:17 am

Redline Heavy ShockProof was the Name on the Bottle, Nuh sure of the details

Film thickness greater than an SAE 75W250, yet low fluid friction like 75W90

For heavily-loaded racing differentials and transmissions, problem gearboxes

Many performance racing applications like Sprint/Midget/Dirt Late Model Differentials, Detroit Lockers and spools, NHRA Top Fuel and Funny Car rear ends

Not recommended for most synchro applications due to the product's extreme slipperiness

Oh sheit...lol..Hope i aint damage the box bad yet..Any Recommendation on Gearbox oil to replace it with TODAY

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 19th, 2010, 7:51 pm

Sorry saw this now.

AMSOIL 75w 90 oil GL-4 is a good oil. I use it in all my gearbox cars. Also bel ray has a Gl-4 gear oil as well which is brilliant, but dunno who or where sells either. Take a lil search in the car parts forum you may find a dealer.

TechArt

Postby TechArt » April 19th, 2010, 8:32 pm

I use Mobil 1 75W90 n change n flush every 2 years, Amsoil is the real deal but I bought stock in 2008 soo i gotta wait. :evil:

W2J

Postby W2J » April 19th, 2010, 9:28 pm

I stock Amsoil GL4

Alpha_2nr

Re: Redline Heavy Shockproof in Mivec GB

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 3rd, 2010, 10:46 pm

Sorry saw this now.

AMSOIL 75w 90 oil GL-4 is a good oil. I use it in all my gearbox cars. Also bel ray has a Gl-4 gear oil as well which is brilliant, but dunno who or where sells either. Take a lil search in the car parts forum you may find a dealer.

Co-sign.....I'm using(and have used in other cars) the AMSOIL GL4 MTG and it works gr8.

You can also consider Redline MT-90 - that is also a 75W90 GL4 IIRC. Available @ Car boutique for under 80 TTD per qt if I'm not mistaken.

W2J

Postby W2J » June 4th, 2010, 12:05 am

Mits box uses brass synchros anything but GL4 will eat them

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » June 4th, 2010, 9:11 am

Think i can get a synchros kit for it?

W2J

Postby W2J » June 4th, 2010, 10:20 am

^ I suggest you drain and use AMSOIL MTG GL4 first and yes I can order the synchros for you

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » June 17th, 2010, 9:47 pm

super_cadet wrote:I put this gearbox oil in and im startin to get alil grating when putting in my gears no matter how easy i put them in.Is this oil ok for a mivec GB

Any recommendations on GB oil?

Redline MT-90 GL4 will work excellent...Always in stock :mrgreen:

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » June 30th, 2010, 8:53 pm

W2J wrote:^ I suggest you drain and use AMSOIL MTG GL4 first and yes I can order the synchros for you

Could you pm. me on details on a syncro kit,like price and what is included.The gears alil rough now and i wanna see how feasible a GB rebuild would be.It's the F5M22-XR LSD GearBox.Thanks man

W2J

Postby W2J » June 30th, 2010, 10:29 pm

sure np, give me the full chassis code of you car I would be able to tell you if they made in on a friday @ xyz time and when last it was serviced where in Japan :twisted:

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » July 1st, 2010, 10:50 am

W2J wrote:sure np, give me the full chassis code of you car I would be able to tell you if they made in on a friday @ xyz time and when last it was serviced where in Japan :twisted:

Hahaha..It's a Conversion, but thanks for the reinforced confidence..hehehe..RIGHT MAN FOR THE JOB!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”