GDI galant alternator problems!

Posted: March 30th, 2010, 12:15 pm
by iceman_international
hi tuners.. i hav a little problem.. my alternator not charging fully or charging too low 2 support d battery.. jus gettin a little trouble allocating an alternator.. its for d 4g93<gdi galant>.. if u know who's going 2 hav d alternator in stock or could repair it properly?? plz reply.. thanks for ur co-operation! :)

Posted: March 30th, 2010, 5:43 pm
by turbo_beast369
get a mechanic to take it out and carry it by an electrician and have it checked....brushes may need changing....

Posted: March 31st, 2010, 8:18 am
by rollingstock
Last i checked Hyperfas (663-2314) had a few, my advice still buy one, it's a pain to change the alternator in the gdi galant, you'll have to take out the right side axle off the tranny together with the control arms to get the alternator out through a small space uner the car, best you buy one and swap it one time, if the old one can be repaired, fix it and keep it as a spare, last quoted price was around $500 for one, DM is $7000

Posted: April 1st, 2010, 8:15 am
by Rah
Yea you should be able to find a used alternator, generally around 500 to 800 dollars. Some ppl also have the brushes replaced. The new alternators as rollingstock stated are quite expensive but i can get the parts for them new, regulator, rectifier, bearings etc, still expensive but cheaper than the whole alternator.

seaching for alternator!

Posted: June 15th, 2012, 9:11 pm
by secret_service
rollingstock wrote:it's a pain to change the alternator in the gdi galant, you'll have to take out the right side axle off the tranny together with the control arms to get the alternator out through a small space uner the car,

I know this is a old post but what crap this guy saying here...the GDI galant has a 4 cyl motor not a V6

An my goodness in my V6 even with Twin Turbos all that crap don't have to be done to remove the alternator. Biggest thing to remove is the right side front tyre.

Re: seaching for alternator!

Posted: June 15th, 2012, 9:57 pm
by rollingstock
secret_service wrote:
rollingstock wrote:it's a pain to change the alternator in the gdi galant, you'll have to take out the right side axle off the tranny together with the control arms to get the alternator out through a small space uner the car,

I know this is a old post but what crap this guy saying here...the GDI galant has a 4 cyl motor not a V6

An my goodness in my V6 even with Twin Turbos all that crap don't have to be done to remove the alternator. Biggest thing to remove is the right side front tyre.

Ass hole ever took one out?
It cannot come out on top unless you take off the intake manifold and then on top that there's a metal shield that the manifold bolts onto that is bolted on to the block. It easier to to take off the wheel loosen the control arms and pull the axle off the wheel hub.

But let me guess who know it can pass by your extensive mechanical experience?

seaching for alternator!

Posted: June 15th, 2012, 11:25 pm
by secret_service
lol yes I took one out a few times....myself

Even had the bad luck to have to do it when I converted to V6TT......myself

Ask anybody how hard it is to remove the VR4 alternator. You will see its near impossible.

Re: seaching for alternator!

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 12:11 am
by rollingstock
I just completed a 6a13tt swap in a EA7A 4wd, did everything myself from welding, installation to electrical.

so bowing to your superior expertise pray tell what is the easier way of removing the alt from a gdi galant? I eh too smart nah yuh might save me some time.

seaching for alternator!

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 12:37 am
by secret_service
Welcome to the DIY club

My car started life as a 2WD GDI and i imported the full front clip an rear suspension myself. I also did the conversion to VR4 myself with help from my friends, everything including the electricals was done by me even went and got software and data cables to reprogram the ECUs to free the beast myself.
Also set up the front and rear sub frame myself. No welding needed everything just bolted up. lol

See people this guy is a perfect example of why this country so blasted backwards..... The insults from this guy will never cease. He has been programmed by his society to act this idiotic.

Is either u want to learn or continue in your ignorance so call me a liar.
So simple drop the attitude or don't bother to reply at all cause with your attitude as is right now I will never tell you how to remove an alternator for the VRG or the VR4 when your turn comes an it will.

Continue in your ignorance is bliss way of life ok.

Re: GDI galant alternator problems!

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 12:47 pm
by rollingstock
cacahole answer the question since you have so much more experience.

What is the easier way of removing a vrg alternator?

Stop beating around the bush and answer the question!

Or is it because you have a 6a now and saw your mech remove it you are of the impression that a measly 4g93 alt will be easier to remove?

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 3:13 pm
by secret_service
lol you is a true fool.

No wonder your conversion does miss fire under take off....

I have no mech to do any work for me I did and continue to do all the work myself. Even repaired my alternator myself. An I still have a GDI 4G galant lol yes got 2 cars.

An I have no time to waste teaching u anything

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 3:21 pm
by rollingstock
^ :lol: actually sorted that out easily, just needed some time, lil tcs wiring gremlin.

Listen this isn't the place for a penis measuring contest. You bumped an old thread stating i am speaking "crap".

If you have a better way of getting it out state, not just to prove me wrong but for the benefit of other users reading this thread, or would you rather that the 'crap' i posted be allowed to go on undenied to the detriment of other users who may follow my advice?

Because so far you type a lot, and extol your great knowledge on the topic yet no cohesive detailed reply as to the proper/easier procedure.

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 3:32 pm
by secret_service
Anybody could PM me for the info. I will never share it for you to learn anything. Go fight up with your gremlins

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 4:14 pm
by rollingstock
^ Just proves that you're an ass and doesn't know what the phoq you're talking about.

So do everyone a favor and stfu please.

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 4:47 pm
by rollingstock
Sorry for the crappy quality pics, only my phone was handy at the time.
And yes the engine very dirty, presently doing some work on it.

The pics aren't that clear but the alternator cannot come out from on top unless the intake manifold is removed and then there is the problem of the metal bracket. The area between the engine and firewall is too small.

So what is your easier way of removal, cut the firewall and pass it into the vehicle on the driver area?

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 5:08 pm
by secret_service
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1339880862.462562.jpg

Came out easy for me.

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 5:22 pm
by rollingstock
^ Which chassis ea1a? Which of the gdi?

Looks 4gxxish (not doubting you) but i worked on a lot and NONE came out on top, none. Is this one e-throttle with the throttle body angling up from the manifold?

Posted: June 16th, 2012, 5:42 pm
by Ted_v2
umm rather than pming the both of you guys ,how much did the vr-g to vr4 swap over cost?

i have an idea of how to do it but never went around pricing the parts

Posted: June 17th, 2012, 1:30 am
by rollingstock
I paid 12k for a complete front cut, bought it from someone with some financial problems.

Last quoted price i got for complete engine with everything for conversion was 17k.

Mechanic will charge approx 4-5k and about the same for a competent electrician.
You may get a cheaper price but you get what you pay for, hence the reason i did it myself, original mech was skinning his c0ck on the work.

Posted: June 17th, 2012, 1:48 am
by Ted_v2
^^ nice i was thinking about something like this

hardest part is how to run it fwd :S

Posted: June 17th, 2012, 6:55 am
by xtech
That would not be hard to do.

Even though a lot of people doing it with MIVEC box. I won't if I had to cause to many clutches wont grip well an is level wheel spin if you get it to work right. Plus when the V6 is allowed to rev to freely under load might end up spinning bearings.

Gearbox from any FTO/Galant 4G93/94/V6 or Lancer 4G93/V6 or even the smaller 4G93T AWD should work better with upgraded clutch if going AWD, yeah you would still get wheel spin but it will keep the revs in check while putting the power down. With any manual set up you will have to move the front turbo waste gate actuator. A Minor mod

If you want autobox its a straight swap from any of the same cars as above an no mods other than using the torque converter from the VR4 an the brains that came with the particular tranny an a big tranny cooler.

If you lucky u would find a 5 speed 2WD tranny from a FTO

Posted: June 17th, 2012, 8:30 am
by Ted_v2
what about modding the 4wd tranny? isnt that possible like the rb26box?

plug two holes and take out some parts?

Posted: June 17th, 2012, 12:57 pm
by rollingstock
^ What yuh talking bout? Gutting out the transfer case?

Honestly i would go with a 4wd conversion just to be able to control the power.

"If you lucky u would find a 5 speed 2WD tranny from a FTO"

know how hard that is to find.

Posted: June 17th, 2012, 4:34 pm
by Ted_v2
rollingstock wrote:^ What yuh talking bout? Gutting out the transfer case?

Honestly i would go with a 4wd conversion just to be able to control the power.

"If you lucky u would find a 5 speed 2WD tranny from a FTO"

know how hard that is to find.

yeah taking out the parts that send power to the rear section and leaving the front

Posted: June 17th, 2012, 7:45 pm
by rollingstock
^ Just for fwd? The 4wd tranny/gb will be bigger than a fwd so why go through the headache of installing that if you're not gonna use it?

How about some NA power, seen a CK with a 6A10NA locally, real sleeper, car looked normal, no big fmic to indicate it was anything but stock but car moved like a beyotch, and even that suffered some serious torque steer so imagine a TT.

Posted: June 17th, 2012, 8:37 pm
by Ted_v2
rollingstock wrote:^ Just for fwd? The 4wd tranny/gb will be bigger than a fwd so why go through the headache of installing that if you're not gonna use it?

How about some NA power, seen a CK with a 6A10NA locally, real sleeper, car looked normal, no big fmic to indicate it was anything but stock but car moved like a beyotch, and even that suffered some serious torque steer so imagine a TT.

i was thinking about it from the pics and it looked Nice, something i might of attempted but too much stuff to figure out.

a sr20De with lots of mods Or a stock sr20det will find itself below the hood of my lancer by next 2 years, or a more modern engine depending on the market at that time.Already planning out some stuff as to how its gonna play out,Already did a engine swap this year to fuel injected which would keep me powered for the while.im gonna fix coilovers and get rear disk brakes,get some seats and some gauges and wait till i ready to do the conversion

Posted: June 18th, 2012, 7:06 am
by rollingstock
^ SR? serious a SR :?

Come nah man already gave you a good idea, say it with me 6A10