KYB GR2/Excel -G
Posted: March 25th, 2010, 7:05 pm
by Wolf
I keep reading ppl saying that the GR-2 shocks work better than the Excel-G with the drop springs.
Aren't these two shocks the same?
After researching that is the conclusion I have come to. To my understanding depending on the market it is in the same shock will be called by a different name and be a different colour. (black as opposed to the silver of the gr-2)
http://www.kyb.com/products/shocks/gr2.php
watch the video then comment if you like.
Posted: March 25th, 2010, 9:22 pm
by ~Vēġó~
They are the same..........KYB stated that in one of their FAQ's
Posted: March 26th, 2010, 7:23 am
by Rudman
I thought they were the same, until I brought in the GR2's from W2J and compared it with the local black Excel G's for my CK4 lancer.
The front shock is completely different. The GR2 is actually 14mm shorter than the black Excel G.
Posted: March 26th, 2010, 8:23 am
by nes123
^^ W2J was tellin me about you...but I asked other powersellers for 2nd opinions and some saying they are the same in lenght...cuz I was considering de GR2 for the CS3...so I not sure wat to do nah.....he said ya also had on some TEINS I thinks....if so how is it riding ?
Posted: March 26th, 2010, 8:37 am
by Dave
different model yrs has different heights
b14's was an example but the spring height made up the difference where the shock spring plate was lower or higher
Posted: March 26th, 2010, 8:41 am
by JUS4SHO
yeah they are the same rudman DM never had the correct front shock for your car because of the lighter weight of the gearbox the manual shock was different to the auto , and auto was the only one available
Posted: March 26th, 2010, 8:51 am
by nes123
so is bess ah stick to mih excel g with the 1 inch TEINS I suppose.....

...makes no sense buy more expensive GR2's and the spring rate will kill the shock over time..correct?
Posted: March 26th, 2010, 7:24 pm
by Wolf
I actually got the shorter KYB excel-g last year by fiaz for meh ck after some hunting.
everywhere i went after i took out the shock had one but it was always slightly longer than mine. took two days to get the correct front shocks rear shocks were the same and easy to get.
never asked the mechanic why the longer one wouldn't work just took his word at the time.
Posted: March 26th, 2010, 7:36 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Rudman wrote:I thought they were the same, until I brought in the GR2's from W2J and compared it with the local black Excel G's for my CK4 lancer.
The front shock is completely different. The GR2 is actually 14mm shorter than the black Excel G.
x2. I'm not too sure if the GR-2's are the same as the Excel G's for all applications. If it's any help, the GR-2's come in a silver body

Also, from the email communication I had with the US KYB folks, they stated that for "most" applications (including mine in that case), the GR-2's "stiffness" is more or less equivalent to a setting "2" on the corresponding 8-way AGX shock.
so is bess ah stick to mih excel g with the 1 inch TEINS I suppose..... Sad ...makes no sense buy more expensive GR2's and the spring rate will kill the shock over time..correct?
Over time. But supposedly, the GR-2's hold out a little longer under drop springs ranging from 1.0 to 1.2" as opposed to stock. It's one of the reasons I ended up going with GR-2's on my car also....but I scrapped the idea of the GF210's I was planning to buy.

Posted: March 27th, 2010, 12:10 am
by W2J
nes123 wrote:^^ W2J was tellin me about you...but I asked other powersellers for 2nd opinions and some saying they are the same in lenght...cuz I was considering de GR2 for the CS3...so I not sure wat to do nah.....he said ya also had on some TEINS I thinks....if so how is it riding ?
it's not Teins he is running H&R, and GR2's are not the same as the excel G that is sold in Trinidad, the shock is 1" shorter and is stiffer than the excel G.
Posted: March 27th, 2010, 12:30 am
by nes123
W2J wrote:nes123 wrote:^^ W2J was tellin me about you...but I asked other powersellers for 2nd opinions and some saying they are the same in lenght...cuz I was considering de GR2 for the CS3...so I not sure wat to do nah.....he said ya also had on some TEINS I thinks....if so how is it riding ?
it's not Teins he is running H&R, and GR2's are not the same as the excel G that is sold in Trinidad, the shock is 1" shorter and is stiffer than the excel G.
haven't ruled it out yet..waitin till the excel G's die out first..then ah will decide what ah doing for sure..already had it on 2 yrs not before the TEINS..so maybe by OCT this yr if it eh dead first I will check ya ...1 bad experience too many ordering parts online which suppose to be correct....